We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveller rating
117
147
36
12
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
147
36
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half board pool bar salad hired a car beautiful sea view via secret escapes long stretch of beach good sized balcony clean rooms small resort wet room great pool limited choice western crete the bus sea front small tv
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 324 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2018

I had this unfortunate experience of having have to spend my first night at a different hotel, for which the hotel put the blame on the online booking system. After arriving in Crete, I received a phone call from the hotel saying that due to a technical problem, they could not arrange a room for me for the first night of my 6-night-long stay. As a result, they booked another room for me at another hotel that is about 2 km away from Chryssana Beach. What they offered me for the inconvenience they caused was one free dinner at the hotel, 15% discount on the drinks, and possibly the worst room (a rather dark room on the ground floor, that is farthest away from the pool). Normally, I would have made a bigger deal out of this situation, but the fact that I intended to spend most of my time outside the hotel made me care less. Nonetheless, I think the hotel management could not handle this situation professionally.

There were also positive aspects (that's the reason why I give 3 stars instead of 1). The personnel is friendly and attentive. The swimming pool is super clean, and the hotel in general offers a quiet and relaxing environment. There is also a pebbly beach nearby, which is similarly quiet.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the ground floor, if you have a fear of bugs and reptiles.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andac A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aggeliki H, Manager at Chryssana Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for sharing your holiday experience at Chryssana Beach Hotel on Trip Advisor.

We would also like to thank you for your nice words for our pool area and for our staff that is giving great efforts to make your accommodation pleasant and relaxing.
Unfortunatelly online systems have failures sometimes and this is something that we cannot predict or prevent. The room that you were accommodated was spacious and had a renovated bathroom, located in a quiet hotel area.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at Chryssana, All the Staff is sending you the best wishes.

Kind regards,
The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

We just got back from a week at the Chryssana beach hotel. We found it exceeded our expectations as so many people had criticised it on reviews. The staff were very friendly, the food was wonderful and everywhere was clean and made to look very charming. If you don't like salad then you might not enjoy the starters as they were mainly different salads but the main meal was always a good choice of meat or fish dishes. Yes it was quiet and the bar staff were busy serving the dinners in the evening so it might appear that the bar wasn't open but if you stayed near the dinning area or by reception you could still order drinks. There is a small village nearby where you could go to shops or tavernas in the evening if you want to, just take a torch for the walk back it isn't all lit that well.We hired a car through the hotel and went to various places and booked a boat trip to Balos Lagoon. The hotel arranged this trip for us with no problems. Balos was nice but you need good footwear as there are rocks to walk over. To be honest we enjoyed Elafonisi beach with it's lagoon more, though it was quite a drive,iIt was actually nice driving through the mountains. Falasarna beach was beautiful too and we enjoyed some time there. We drove to lake Kournas, which was very tranquil and enjoyable going out on a pedola to sit and watch the tutrles come up for air. You can snorkel and see fish too.The bus can take you to Chania which saves driving to a busy area or you can get of at Platannis or one of the other towns along the route which are a bit livelier.
There were little things like the shower splashing the toilet but come on it was a wet room with a drain to take the water away, it did it's job and didn't bother us. People need to stop moaning about this hotel, it is wonderful, just do your homework. If you want a night life either be prepared to go out to the town for it or don't come here. If you want a few drinks after dinner, take a pack of cards and just enjoy the peace and you will love it. The beach opposite is stoney but clean so take beach shoes.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank gwenstevens2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aggeliki H, Manager at Chryssana Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for selecting Chryssana Beach Hotel as your holiday destination and for posting a 5* star review as your holiday destination.
Your nice words encourages us to continue our efforts, offering high quality holiday experiences.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon, we send you our best wishes.

Kind regards,

The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

We spent 2 weeks with our kids there.
We were really disapointed and angry at our arrival because of overbooking politic they didn’t give us our 2 rooms during 2 days (they lie about plumbery problems but it was because the hôtel was full because overbooking !!) in exchange they give to us 1 bad family room in an bad old and smelly pension...

The rooms of the hotel are very small.
The bathroom is a reduction of a bathroom.
You can hear your neighboor having a shower or something else...
The breakfast is not very good and always the same.

They hotel is in a middle of nowhere. You have to rent a car to escape a little bit.

The only attractive things of the hotel is the swimming pool. As you can see on the pictures.
But honnestly it’s too expensive for what it is...

Forget it. As we will do now.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank apersolv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aggeliki H, Manager at Chryssana Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for posting a review for us on Trip Advisor. Your contribution is helping us to improove our services and makes us better.
Our property's concept is relaxation and tranquility. The hotel is suitable for those who wish to escape from the daily routine and find a peacefull place but not far from all the famous attractions of the beautifull area of the western Crete.
Our efforts are concentrating to high quality on food and services and accommodation facilities that are officially very high for a 3* hotel.

However, we really hope to afford another opportunity to welcome you at Chryssana and offer you a unique experience.

Kind regards,
The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Placed in Kolymvary, a beautiful village west to Chania, it has a good swimming pool and is placed nearby the sea and in a beautiful natural environment.
Considering the price paid, our evaluation is negative because of the problems we had with the room and the breakfast. After the shower, you need to clean the toilet that become wet. Once, using the air conditionair, its water flew out over the suitcase. Also, during breakfast we found bread and plumcake stale.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank fedemar2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aggeliki H, Manager at Chryssana Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for posting a review for us on Trip Advisor. Your contribution is helping us to imrove our services.
We regret that you have not enjoyed your stay with us. Bathrooms are under total renovation this year and regarding our breakfast we provide in daily basis fresh bread and cake.

However, we really hope to welcome you back one day and have the opportunity to offer you the vacation standards you wish.

Kind regards,

The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

Excellent Hotel, for a relaxing vacation, the staff extremely friendly and helpful. I must mention that Sophia and Ioanna at the front desk were both stellar, as well as Maria and Nikos by the pool. The whole experience was very nice, with the well known Cretan hospitality.
Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoannaX7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aggeliki H, Manager at Chryssana Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for spending your holidays with us at Chryssana Beach Hotel and for posting a 5* review for us on Trip Advisor.
We are very happy to have your positive feedback regarding our staff that is trying hard and with great endeavor to make your stay comfortable and memorable.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future and offer you another unique travel experience.

Kind regards,
The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews