We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveller rating
116
146
35
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
146
35
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardpool barsaladhired a carbeautiful sea viewlong stretch of beachgood sized balconyclean roomssmall resortwet roomgreat poollimited choicethe buswestern cretesea frontsmall tvearly hours
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 320 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2016

This is a rare place - a quiet hotel, close to an almost deserted pebble beach, 1km walk along the sea shore to Kolymbari which has some lovely restaurants on the sea front. If you want entertainment and noise this isn't the place for you because its quiet and tranquil - its a wonderful hotel in which to rest and unwind and the staff were really pleasant and helpful. The white buildings are set in well maintained green gardens with specimen plants and oleanders, leading to a large pool area which was very clean. The whole hotel has been recently painted in white; it is not luxurious but is extremely clean and well maintained and had everything we needed except perhaps tea/coffee in the rooms. There was always hot water and we had no problems with the plumbing. There is a nice pool area although the sun loungers are rather tired. We were on a half board basis and found the food both tasty & plentiful. We stayed at the end of season (2 weeks before closing for the winter). During the first week of our stay our meals were served but, although the hotel was full, this turned into a buffet in our last week and sometimes the food could have been warmer. They also needed more waiting staff and it was noticeable that stocks of wines, drinks, ice creams etc were running out - which was unacceptable. A bus service runs close to the hotel but ideally you need to hire a car (locally or at the airport) to really get a feel for the island. There's plenty to see locally:- olive oil bottling plant and winery - both with tastings, lots of boat trips and wonderful beaches, mountain trips and minoan and roman remains/artifacts. Overall a fantastic holiday and great value for money.

Room Tip: No lift - only 2 floors high but if you have mobility problems stipulate that you need a ground floor room.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edwinadockum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel is positioned virtually on the beach , very quiet about 10 mins walk from Kolymbari . If you are looking for entertainment and loud music around the pool ? This hotel is definitely NOT for you ! Also more of a 3* than a 4* . The hotel itself is quite small with approx 50 rooms, the rooms all have a balcony and mainly overlook the gardens they are also not that big and could do with a facelift however the staff are incredibly friendly and can't do enough to help you. We stayed on a half board option and although dinner was buffet style it was fantastic , lots of local Cretan dishes and salads etc cooked to perfection. If you are looking for a quit tranquil retreat to recharge your batteries Chrysanna Beach is perfect .

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank simon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at this hotel after finding a good deal. We chose the half board option. Food started off great but as the week progressed it got worse. It got to the stage that there wasn't even cutlery on our table and we wouldn't be offered a drink with our meal. Food also was Luke warm. Pool area was lovely and very clean. The only bad side to this area was that you got covered in blue paint from the swimming pool. Lovely area to have the hotel, very quiet and peaceful. Great staff very friendly! I would say that this hotel is definitely a 3* but a good one! It would be nice if they provided tea and coffee facilities in your room but sadly they don't so bring your own! If your hoping for a sea view room as advertised it isn't. Your facing the sea but you can't see it! Worth a stay though :)

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Have just returned from 10 days at the Chryssana. The pool area was lovely and the staff were great (although there weren't enough waiters). However the food was only luke warm and not very good quality, They ran out of red wine and beer for several days and even ran out of Tbags! I know it was late season but the hotel was full so really not good enough.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkshirelass57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016

This hotel is the best choice for an amazing holiday in Crete. It offers beautiful and clean rooms, breakfast buffet is rich and offers many local fresh products: fruits, tomatoes, feta and olives; set in a fantastic veranda facing swimming pool and garden. Is locatad along the seaside just a few minutes away from Kolymbari center, it is set in a peaceful and quiet atmosphere. The staff is extremely: helpful, kind and professional, hotel also offers you excursions to Crete's main attractions, we did the one to Heraklion and can kindly recommend it. This hotel offers a 5 stars accomodation for the price of a 3 stars. Before booking we spent days reading reviews about many other hotels in the island, now we can say it was the best choice and we are ready to book it again for next summer.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aggeliki H, Manager at Chryssana Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2017

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for spending your holidays with us at Chryssana Beach Hotel. We are also grateful for your dithyrambic review, which encourages us to continue to provide even more high quality experiences.

The Family of Chryssana, is looking forward to welcome you back soon and offer you another unique stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews