We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Kolymbari
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Very Comfortable Hotel; spacious room and good facilities including large pool, beach (a bit pebbly) and good spa. Large choice of excellant food. Great staff - always cheerful and helpful in the extreme. All made for a superb holiday.

Room Tip: Can only speak for our room which had a sea view and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mail631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2017

Probably the best all inclusive hotel we have experienced. We arrived late evening and our first impressions were good. Very imposing reception area and lounges. A very friendly young man showed us to our room which was on the ground floor overlooking the main pool and poolside bar. The area was floodlit and looked outstanding. The room was large and comfortable with an adjoining bathroom / shower and toilet finished to a high standard. Fresh fruit and food were there for us together with a bottle of wine. The room was located in a single story block and very well sound proofed. The pool was large, clean and safe. Self service Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner is available in The Arsenali Main Restaurant which is large but sometimes very noisy however there is a charming smaller dining area adjacent with outdoor seating overlooking the mountains. The food is of a high standard with plenty of choice to cater for most tastes. All the restaurant staff are friendly and efficient. All inclusive drinks are of good quality and wine is served at lunch and dinner. The hotel facilities are excellent as should be expected with this superb hotel. The rooms are cleaned to a very high standard and the sheets and pillow cases are changed daily together with all toiletries. There are ample sun loungers on an area leading to the pebbled beach. The interior lounges are spacious and comfortable. We were surprised that the dress code for lunch and dinner were not rigorously enforced which was disappointing as certainly in our room dress code instructions were contained therein. I was also surprised that I was served with a glass of red wine in the pool bar that was opaque and had a strange odour, not good from a "professional" barman. I got a replacement but no apology. The area surrounding the resort is "sparse" and with a lot of litter lying about with derelict and poorly maintained buildings reflecting the Greek economy which is tragic. However there is a good bus service linking Kolymbari to Chania every 20 mins. Kolymbari is worth a visit..5 mins on the bus or 35 mins walk to this delightful little fishing village. Don't bother to go to the Fisheries Museum...it is closed. To conclude, Lovely hotel, great food and good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank a2mwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We came back from a blissful week spent at the wonderful Cavo Spada a few weeks ago feeling incredibly relaxed.

We booked through Secret Escapes and at first the reception staff had trouble finding our booking (This has happened before when using Secret Escapes so I don't think the hotel was at all at fault here. After 10 minutes of looking, we were asked to sit on a balcony and given sparkling wine and orange juice, they also offered for us to have some lunch in the buffet while they looked for the booking.

When it was found around 30 minutes after arriving at the hotel we were upgraded to a swim up room and given a bottle of wine and fruit in the room.

The room itself was a really decent size, with fabulous shower (so powerful it might take your skin off) and good sized bath. the mini bar was well stocked and the beds were pretty comfy (although ours were two singles pushed together which did result on one of us sleeping on a crack) By the end of the week i just stuck to my side of the bed and refused to cuddle.

The rooms were cleaned daily to a high standard, we did have a maid bring us an extra towel each afternoon at 5pm for the first few days which confused us a bit but it's always better to have too many!

The food was absolutely wonderful - Can't praise it highly enough, so much choice, all really fresh and so so tasty - three weeks after coming back I still cant fit into my jeans (or face my slimming world group!) The staff in the dining room worked tirelessly and it was the best all inclusive buffet i've ever had.

We also got a free night dining at the Italian restaurant onsite which I would highly recommend, three courses of deliciousness served with really excellent Cretean wine (who knew that was so good?!) The complimentary wine tasting was also held there - If you like a tipple I would recommend this too, really lovely wine and a very knowledgeable host (plus there's cheese - who doesn't like cheese!?)

The bar and staff made a great Mojito (this may have contributed to my expanded waistline) and a really good espresso martini (this might have too)

My fiance experienced his first ever professional massage (this did traumatise him a little, it was a good massage, i just think he was expecting someone more feminine than the body building bloke he was allocated!)

My only niggle (and it is a niggle) is that on the last day of the holiday, on of the steps leading to the pool bar collapsed. As we left the next day I can't tell you how long it took to fix but i'm sure it wasn't long, it just felt a little that handrails wobbled and decking was a bit spongy - all things that i'm sure are rectified between seasons.

It is pretty far away from any sort of attraction - which is great to relax and get away from it all but if you want a base to explore Crete, you might be better off closer to a town. The bus stop was a 5 minute walk from the hotel and it took 45 minutes to get into Chania - I hope your bus is air conditioned!

I've never gone back to a hotel, but I would be happy to revisit Cavo Spada just for the pure indulgence of it all.

Room Tip: 111 has a swim up pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Our experience was the most perfect one ever. We had a beautifull honeymoon there. The staff is perfect! Very nice, helpfull and funny. The food in the hotel was very, very good, for all tastes something. Rooms are beautiful, so is the hotel. Very clean and modern. We are going again for shore.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rogi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Just got round to writing this review from our week in Cavo Spada.
First thing I'd like to mention is about the Hotel. On first arrival we were very impressed with the look of this hotel (always a worry that the photos don't give the true impression). In my honest opinion I believe the photos I've seen don't do it justice. Its a great looking hotel. On getting into reception we were greeted immediately with no waiting at all.
Now this isn't a critique but when we arrived we were asked if we would stay at another hotel for the first night (completely optional and our choice) due to a technical issue with one of the rooms. (hotels always over book to ensure full capacity) We agreed on the basis of a very generous upgrade to the Ultra All Inclusive Package for the remaining 6 nights of our holiday. If this is ever offered to you, I'd advise you accept as it includes many extra benefits (main one being all drink including branded and wine all free). The other hotel (called the Chrispy) we stayed in for that one night is not a patch on Cavo!
Moving onto the rooms, we were checked in the following morning and more than happy with the quality,view and condition of the room. Housekeeping services were very efficient and attentive. The hotel was clean throughout, lots of available sunbeds whatever time of day and we had no issues with old frayed towels!
The pool is huge and barely used and perfect for a chilled out relaxing atmosphere.

The food in the main buffet restaurant was outstanding. Always lots of choice and would cater for anyone. We visited the Italian A La Carte restaurant twice during our stay and it was incredible. Definitely worth a visit if you enjoy fancy food! The Sea Line Tavern was also lovely and less informal, but be aware these both have to be booked.

The drinks...We were lucky with being ultra all inclusive that all branded drinks were free, and we sampled many!
One of the many types of drinks we look forward to trying on holiday are the Cocktails.(everyone loves a cocktail!) But Cavo Spada are missing a trick. They were a real let down. The most popular being a Mojito and they weren't great. Not even any crushed ice. And when staying on a Half Board basis you'd be paying 10 euros for one! Not sure if this method of making a cocktail is catered for a particular type of customer??!
We literally tried them all and they were all just carton juices mixed with spirits. If we were to offer any advice to the hotel this is one area they should truly invest more in.

The local area is small, traditional but really quiet quaint. There are a handful of family run Greek tavernas in walking distance if you fancy a change of scenery.
We hired a car for the day(from the hotel for 74 euros) and drove to Chania which was lovely and Balos Lagoon which was worth the trek! (absolutely stunning lagoon).

This is a fantastic hotel, the fitness facilities are also the best we've seen abroad and the Spa was nice too, although the massage was average.
If they improved their cocktail making we would 100% return. Credit to all of the staff who run Cavo, they make it what it is, which in summary is a fantastic All Inclusive resort.

Other details

35 mins from Airport
Airport experience good
Visit Chania is a must.
Vehicle hire cheap
Get out and about for a least one day (hotel will give you a packed lunch)
tennis courts, sprint track and cycle/run routes available.
free reading material
internet services

Room Tip: Opt for a room away from the main bar if you want an early night the entertainment is quite loud, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank kev458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolymbari
10.1 km away
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
5.5 km away
Asterion Hotel Suites and Spa
67.5 km away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#16 of 175 in Rethymnon
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
2.0 km away
Avra Imperial Hotel
Avra Imperial Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kolymbari
1,279 reviews
8.8 km away
Minoa Palace Resort
Minoa Palace Resort
#1 of 68 in Platanias
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa

Address: Rapaniana, Kolymbari, Platanias, Crete 730 06, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias > Kolymbari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kolymbari
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kolymbari
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kolymbari
Price Range: ₹ 8,329 - ₹ 39,302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa is located 18kms west of the picturesque city of Chania. Its location combines in a unique way the beauty and tranquility of the Cretan Archipelagos with the unsurpassed charm of the famous Old Venetian town which is only a short drive away. Positioned on the west side of the Gulf of Chania, the hotel is built on a long stretch of beach, offering magnificent view of the Gulf of Chania and of Cape Spada. The latter is a spectacular rocky cape after which our hotel was named. The hotel is spread over a 65,000 m2 private property, hence offering ample space for all the guests to enjoy their holidays in one of the 150 rooms that the hotel has to offer. Being part of one of the oldest and most respected hotel companies of Chania, the Giannoulis Hotels & Resorts, Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa is the epitome of our experience in providing holidays of unprecedented quality and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort And Spa
Cavo Spada Luxury Hotel Chania Town
Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa Kolymbari, Crete - Chania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing