We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Chryssana Beach Hotel(Kolymbari)(Great Value!)
US$ 119
US$ 74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 128
US$ 124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 264
US$ 184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aphea Village(Kolymbari)(Great Value!)
US$ 84
US$ 82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Euphoria Resort(Kolymbari)
US$ 322
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$ 295
US$ 269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chrispy World(Kolymbari)
US$ 110
US$ 102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Alonia Apartments(Kolymbari)(Great Value!)
US$ 68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 233
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (656)
Filter reviews
657 results
Traveller rating
357
196
69
21
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
196
69
21
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool baritalian restaurantall inclusive hotelmain restaurantdirect access to the poololive oil tastingshared poolrestaurant managerrelaxing environmenthead waitergreat bathroomper daythe busreception staffroom cleaningthe main swimming poolperfect holiday
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 657 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Probably the best all inclusive hotel we have experienced. We arrived late evening and our first impressions were good. Very imposing reception area and lounges. A very friendly young man showed us to our room which was on the ground floor overlooking the main pool and poolside bar. The area was floodlit and looked outstanding. The room was large and comfortable with an adjoining bathroom / shower and toilet finished to a high standard. Fresh fruit and food were there for us together with a bottle of wine. The room was located in a single story block and very well sound proofed. The pool was large, clean and safe. Self service Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner is available in The Arsenali Main Restaurant which is large but sometimes very noisy however there is a charming smaller dining area adjacent with outdoor seating overlooking the mountains. The food is of a high standard with plenty of choice to cater for most tastes. All the restaurant staff are friendly and efficient. All inclusive drinks are of good quality and wine is served at lunch and dinner. The hotel facilities are excellent as should be expected with this superb hotel. The rooms are cleaned to a very high standard and the sheets and pillow cases are changed daily together with all toiletries. There are ample sun loungers on an area leading to the pebbled beach. The interior lounges are spacious and comfortable. We were surprised that the dress code for lunch and dinner were not rigorously enforced which was disappointing as certainly in our room dress code instructions were contained therein. I was also surprised that I was served with a glass of red wine in the pool bar that was opaque and had a strange odour, not good from a "professional" barman. I got a replacement but no apology. The area surrounding the resort is "sparse" and with a lot of litter lying about with derelict and poorly maintained buildings reflecting the Greek economy which is tragic. However there is a good bus service linking Kolymbari to Chania every 20 mins. Kolymbari is worth a visit..5 mins on the bus or 35 mins walk to this delightful little fishing village. Don't bother to go to the Fisheries Museum...it is closed. To conclude, Lovely hotel, great food and good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank a2mwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Dear a2mwy,

Thank you very much for your preference shown in our Resort and for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us.

We are happy to learn that you enjoy your stay and that you are totally satisfied with our available facilities and services.

Regarding your notice about the glass of the wine, please accept our apologies about this issue, but please be so kind to understand that during the service time our staff members doing their best in order to serve all of our guests on time.

Moreover, regarding the dress code at our main restaurant, we would like to inform you that the staff members of our restaurants always inform our guests about the rules; however it is impossible to enforce the dress code rule to all of the approximately 300 guests.

Thank you very much once again for your kind words and we hope that you will give us the chance to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We came back from a blissful week spent at the wonderful Cavo Spada a few weeks ago feeling incredibly relaxed.

We booked through Secret Escapes and at first the reception staff had trouble finding our booking (This has happened before when using Secret Escapes so I don't think the hotel was at all at fault here. After 10 minutes of looking, we were asked to sit on a balcony and given sparkling wine and orange juice, they also offered for us to have some lunch in the buffet while they looked for the booking.

When it was found around 30 minutes after arriving at the hotel we were upgraded to a swim up room and given a bottle of wine and fruit in the room.

The room itself was a really decent size, with fabulous shower (so powerful it might take your skin off) and good sized bath. the mini bar was well stocked and the beds were pretty comfy (although ours were two singles pushed together which did result on one of us sleeping on a crack) By the end of the week i just stuck to my side of the bed and refused to cuddle.

The rooms were cleaned daily to a high standard, we did have a maid bring us an extra towel each afternoon at 5pm for the first few days which confused us a bit but it's always better to have too many!

The food was absolutely wonderful - Can't praise it highly enough, so much choice, all really fresh and so so tasty - three weeks after coming back I still cant fit into my jeans (or face my slimming world group!) The staff in the dining room worked tirelessly and it was the best all inclusive buffet i've ever had.

We also got a free night dining at the Italian restaurant onsite which I would highly recommend, three courses of deliciousness served with really excellent Cretean wine (who knew that was so good?!) The complimentary wine tasting was also held there - If you like a tipple I would recommend this too, really lovely wine and a very knowledgeable host (plus there's cheese - who doesn't like cheese!?)

The bar and staff made a great Mojito (this may have contributed to my expanded waistline) and a really good espresso martini (this might have too)

My fiance experienced his first ever professional massage (this did traumatise him a little, it was a good massage, i just think he was expecting someone more feminine than the body building bloke he was allocated!)

My only niggle (and it is a niggle) is that on the last day of the holiday, on of the steps leading to the pool bar collapsed. As we left the next day I can't tell you how long it took to fix but i'm sure it wasn't long, it just felt a little that handrails wobbled and decking was a bit spongy - all things that i'm sure are rectified between seasons.

It is pretty far away from any sort of attraction - which is great to relax and get away from it all but if you want a base to explore Crete, you might be better off closer to a town. The bus stop was a 5 minute walk from the hotel and it took 45 minutes to get into Chania - I hope your bus is air conditioned!

I've never gone back to a hotel, but I would be happy to revisit Cavo Spada just for the pure indulgence of it all.

Room Tip: 111 has a swim up pool!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Rosie0112,
Thank you so much for your detailed review and for all of your kind words!!
As you mention we are always doing our best in order to provide a unique holiday experience to each of our guests and we are delighted to learn that you had such a pleasant stay here with us!
The management and the staff of our resort wishes you all the best and we are already looking forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Best regards.
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Our experience was the most perfect one ever. We had a beautifull honeymoon there. The staff is perfect! Very nice, helpfull and funny. The food in the hotel was very, very good, for all tastes something. Rooms are beautiful, so is the hotel. Very clean and modern. We are going again for shore.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rogi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Rogi C,
Thank you very much for your lovely review and for all of your kind words!
We are happy to learn that you had a pleasant stay here with us and that you wish to visit us again.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you again!
Best regards.
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Just got round to writing this review from our week in Cavo Spada.
First thing I'd like to mention is about the Hotel. On first arrival we were very impressed with the look of this hotel (always a worry that the photos don't give the true impression). In my honest opinion I believe the photos I've seen don't do it justice. Its a great looking hotel. On getting into reception we were greeted immediately with no waiting at all.
Now this isn't a critique but when we arrived we were asked if we would stay at another hotel for the first night (completely optional and our choice) due to a technical issue with one of the rooms. (hotels always over book to ensure full capacity) We agreed on the basis of a very generous upgrade to the Ultra All Inclusive Package for the remaining 6 nights of our holiday. If this is ever offered to you, I'd advise you accept as it includes many extra benefits (main one being all drink including branded and wine all free). The other hotel (called the Chrispy) we stayed in for that one night is not a patch on Cavo!
Moving onto the rooms, we were checked in the following morning and more than happy with the quality,view and condition of the room. Housekeeping services were very efficient and attentive. The hotel was clean throughout, lots of available sunbeds whatever time of day and we had no issues with old frayed towels!
The pool is huge and barely used and perfect for a chilled out relaxing atmosphere.

The food in the main buffet restaurant was outstanding. Always lots of choice and would cater for anyone. We visited the Italian A La Carte restaurant twice during our stay and it was incredible. Definitely worth a visit if you enjoy fancy food! The Sea Line Tavern was also lovely and less informal, but be aware these both have to be booked.

The drinks...We were lucky with being ultra all inclusive that all branded drinks were free, and we sampled many!
One of the many types of drinks we look forward to trying on holiday are the Cocktails.(everyone loves a cocktail!) But Cavo Spada are missing a trick. They were a real let down. The most popular being a Mojito and they weren't great. Not even any crushed ice. And when staying on a Half Board basis you'd be paying 10 euros for one! Not sure if this method of making a cocktail is catered for a particular type of customer??!
We literally tried them all and they were all just carton juices mixed with spirits. If we were to offer any advice to the hotel this is one area they should truly invest more in.

The local area is small, traditional but really quiet quaint. There are a handful of family run Greek tavernas in walking distance if you fancy a change of scenery.
We hired a car for the day(from the hotel for 74 euros) and drove to Chania which was lovely and Balos Lagoon which was worth the trek! (absolutely stunning lagoon).

This is a fantastic hotel, the fitness facilities are also the best we've seen abroad and the Spa was nice too, although the massage was average.
If they improved their cocktail making we would 100% return. Credit to all of the staff who run Cavo, they make it what it is, which in summary is a fantastic All Inclusive resort.

Other details

35 mins from Airport
Airport experience good
Visit Chania is a must.
Vehicle hire cheap
Get out and about for a least one day (hotel will give you a packed lunch)
tennis courts, sprint track and cycle/run routes available.
free reading material
internet services

Room Tip: Opt for a room away from the main bar if you want an early night the entertainment is quite loud, but only 2 nights a week
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank kev458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear kev458,
Thank you very much for your detailed review and for all of you kind words and compliments.
We are happy to hear that this one-night relocation due to technical issues did not affect negatively your rest of your stay and that the compensation was so suitable to your needs.
Regarding your notice about the cocktails, the management and the staff of our Resort are already informed in order to proceed with all the necessary moves.
We hope that you will give us the chance to welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards.
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

The garden Room we were in was lovely, bath and separate shower cubicle. A large patio overlooking a garden and mountains. The bed firm but comfortable. The food was fantastic great choice for each meal. The maitre'd ANTONIS was an absolute gentleman and his team were very attentive. Then we have excellent team in the bar-POPI, LEFTERIS and PANOS again very attentive and alot of fun. The entertainment was ok but that was not what sold it to us anyway. The pool is huge. The beach expansive but pebbles. The near by village of Kolymbari very very Greek, lovely. And the other way a small town with a bit more to do if you wish. There are some lovely excursions around the area. Would we go back?YES! The whole experience of staying here was excellent. Every single member of staff was a huge asset. Thank you for a lovely holiday.☺

Room Tip: Some rooms have their own pool-i think ultra all inclusive ??
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cavo Spada Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Abi R,

We thank you kindly for your lovely review and for all of your kind words and compliments!

We are very proud of we manage to provide you one of your best holiday experiences!!
It was our honor to meet you in person during your stay and we are already looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future!!


Best regards.
The management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews