We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (240)
Filter reviews
240 results
Traveller rating
109
78
25
19
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
78
25
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful place alps pool base sauna balcony plateau summer views ritten
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 240 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel 4 nights using it as a base to walk sections of the Keschtnweg trail.
Food is excellent, pool and wellness centre provide a very good place to relax after a days walking.
Good views from our bedroom and the autumn colours in late September were superb.
We were the only English speaking guests at the hotel. Although some staff speak some English you really need to speak some German to get full benefit from the hotel.
We had 2 surprises during our stay. The first was a nice surprise, on Thursday evening the hotel has a gala evening. This was a lovely meal with local music.
The second surprise was not nice. One of the male guests decided that being naked in the sauna was not enough, so he walked around the main swimming pool (it was not a pretty sight) and then swam naked in the pool. However, I don't think that this was normal behaviour.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Deutsche Telekom
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

It looks like a microclimate in Collalbo in summer, after a thunderstorm the sun will always come out and make you happy and so does this hotel and it's staff. The wellness is more than OK with a recent panoramic sauna on the roof top looking over the mountains. You should absolutely consider half board because the (local) kitchen is superb. As for breakfast you can find everything you can dream of ! There are all kinds of rooms from very small to beautiful suites, so that's quite difficult to judge but we had a nice wide room with a nice view on the mountain Schlern, but the kids had to do with less space and no view ... of course you see the difference in the price.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Fabien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

We returned to this lovely hotel a year later and found it even better! We had a beautiful view from our room, the reception and dining areas have been upgraded and the patio remains a wonderful place to sit and have a drink and to contemplate the Alps. The one waitress (with the visible tattoos) was rather unhelpful but the rest of the staff were superb and made us feel at home. The salad buffet was the best I have ever seen. Hope to come back again one day - the Ritten plateau is such a beautiful area!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle_RQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Edelweiss booked us in to the Bemelmans Post for a week as a base for their Alps Riding Academy. Initially we found the establishment rather quiet and reserved but it grew on us daily. The rooms were large and comfortable and we slept very well. The food was superb, the service by the staff great, who seemed to get to know us individually and we could see why families come back here year after year. And why Sigmund Freud spent a whole summer here in 1911 writing some important essays on psycho-analysis! The location on the Ritten plateau is fantastic in summer and the narrow gauge railway is a short walk away from where you can catch the quaint train to the cable car station to descend to Bolzano. We were too busy motorbiking to use all the hotel facilities but we have decided that the pool, spa and garden are worth a follow-up visit. We moved on to more expensive and bigger hotels during our Italian trip but we found most of these disappointing in comparison to Bemelmans-Post. We will be back!
Tips: make sure you can transfer from Bolzano using the €2 public bus number 165 (intermittent on Sundays), or the €35 pre-booked hotel transfer rather than a €50 taxi. Also buy bottled water for the room - the hotel does not offer it.

Room Tip: Choose the view over the valley, if available
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle_RQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2016

Hotel Bemelmans Post is a wonderful family owned hotel in extra ordinary surroundings! The owner and her personell were very service minded and extraordinary friendly and made our vacation a superhit!

We, a family of 8 (five adults & three kids 12-14), stayed in three different types of rooms all with balcony and view of the Dolomiti. All rooms were clean, spacious and we felt very comfortable.

The hotel has a great outside terrace and a little park, there are two pools which we all (young and old) fully enjoyed. There is a jacuzzi with a sauna on the top of the indoor pool. This area is for older than 16 only and it was nice to sneak away there from time to time when the grandmother watched the children in the pool. Some of us also had some treatments either massage or pedicure and were all pleased.

A normal day would be some excursion, then a bit of relaxing by the pool / in the park, before regrouping in the lobby for ad rink at the bar and possibly a little card game with the kids before joining our preassigned table. (i.e. same table all week for both breakfast and dinner.)

The best evening at the hotel was the BBQ night where all guests were moved outside to the terrace and a extraordinary BBQ buffet was served.

The surroundings are fantastic, with multiple options for hikes just outside the hotel door, or a close car ride away. When asking at the hotel where to go for a longer day trip including some easy walks we were recommended to go to Karersee and it was really fantastic.

Bolzano is very nearby and instead of driving up and down the mountain (windy roads!) I'd recommend to take the train from Collalbo to Soprabolzano and then the funicular down to Bolzano. If in Bolzano one really should go to the "Ötzi" museum. But "attenzione" the queues can be very long, and it can be very hot (+40°C) so either book tickets online, or be there when the museum opens...


There are two points for improvement for the hotel:
*the elevator - extremely slow but necessary for those who cannot walk stairs easily
*the internet connection - it worked rather well in the lobby but not in all rooms and that should really be upgraded. While we understand that internet should not be a main point for a vacation it is really up to the guest to decide where and when they want to keep contact with family & friends as well as local home news. This is extra important if from different countries (in our case US, Sweden & Switzerland) and when some urgencies actually happened while away.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Karin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews