We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, good food, pleasant staff, and wonderful location”
Review of Hotel La Foresta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Foresta
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vallombrosa
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Our 5-day stay (half board) was a very pleasant experience. The hotel and rooms are nice and clean, with an almost newly-built look and a quiet, no-frills interior. Dinner is excellent in its simplicity, based on the traditional Italian cuisine and quite plentiful, even for our ravenous Dutch appetite after many hours of walking the surrounding hills and forests.
The staff is also exemplary: polite and friendly, yet not too formal. These people really make you feel welcome and at home.
The location is wonderful for anyone who enjoys nature. The forests and hills are great for taking long walks (the hotel provides maps with all the marked trails in the area), and you may encounter all sorts of wildlfe, such as fire salamanders and wild boar. Strangely, springtime is the low season here: with nature at its most beautiful and the weather just perfect (not too cold, not too warm), we could walk for hours on end without encountering anyone alse. We had the hills all to ourselves!

In short: our stay was a lovely experience in all respects, and we hope to return here in the foreseeable future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2009

The staff were all very attentive and helpful, excellent service! The rooms were in excellent condition and always clean. The owners stayed up late to receive us (we got lost a few times trying to find the hotel). They also helped us next morning with directions to Florence and provided with us an excellent breakfast. Hoping to go back and stay longer sometime soon.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyAustinites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2009

I'm not sure I know where to begin. Our experience here has left us with wonderful memories of the managers, staff and the location. I would recommend making the trek into the Tuscan woods to stay at this hotel. We rented a car and drove from Rome (make sure you have good GPS). What a spectacular drive.
From the moment we arrived we were impressed. The building is beautiful. Was once a house for the Nun's. The Abbey is right across the road. The forest is around the corner. Medieval towns are a short drive away.

Let me say that the managers of the property are wonderful wonderful people. They made our stay memorable, and helped us with any questions we had. (Thank you Alessandra & family) The front desk staff were also fabulous; providing us with map's, bus & train schedules etc. Then there is the Chef, Guido. Mamma Mia is all I can say. Make sure you have dinner at the hotel. He is a fabulous cook, and will treat you like you are royalty. We certainly felt special. Oh, and his home made wine (from his own vineyard) is spectacular.

The rooms have everything you could need, are spotless, and very comfortable. We had a view of the Abbey, which made the stay even more enjoyable. Imagine waking up to only the birds chirping, the Tuscan sunrise, and those wonderful rolling hills...

If I ever get up this way again, I will absolutely be staying here. I already miss the family, and Guido's cooking!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2009

Very nice hotel. Very quiet rural location. Directly across from picturesque Abbey. In the middle of a National Park area. Be sure to have a good map to find it. 3,000 ft elevation makes it much cooler than Florence. We were there in May, may be much more popular in summer.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bschne1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

I booked this hotel for an Anniversary weekend. I emailed the hotel and asked if it would be possible for flowers to be in the room as a surprise, this was carried out without fuss or worry. The Staff were excellent (they spoke very good English, much better than my Italian), the hotel is in a beautiful part of the world, out of the way and quiet. The room was clean and tidy and kept that way by daily cleaning. The food served was of an excellent standard. We were given a lot of advice about where to visit and the best and cheapest way of doing that trip, such as taking the train to Florence instead of driving and paying lots of parking fees. Overall I am very impressed with everything about this Hotel and would gladly recommend it to anyone and will hopefully be going back in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul2463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vallombrosa
11.1 km away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#6 of 12 in Reggello
65 reviews
0 km away
No photo provided
Hotel Croce Di Savoia
#1 of 2 in Vallombrosa
14 reviews
0 km away
B&B Vista Casentino
B&B Vista Casentino
#2 of 2 in Vallombrosa
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Foresta? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Foresta

Address: Via San Giovanni Gualberto 2, 50066 Vallombrosa, Reggello, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Reggello > Vallombrosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vallombrosa
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Foresta 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vallombrosa is a town located in the Florentine mountain at 1000 meters high, and 30 miles from Florence. Albergo Ristorante La Forest is nestled in the Woods of Biogenetic Nature Reserve of Vallombrosa, and is located right opposite the famous Abbey. It was originally a hostel for pilgrims coming to visit. In 2002 it was completely renovated and now offers 63 rooms all with private bath, furnished simply yet complete, each of them offers a wonderful view of what surrounds us!. we have a meeting room with 70 seats, a restaurant with a capacity of 200 guests, with the option to dine al fresco! Also in our hotel includes a bar, as well as outside. The latter accommodates many young people for cocktails and hearty delicious Apericena! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Foresta Hotel
La Foresta Vallombrosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing