We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Use as B&B and eat out in evenings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Residence Costa Azzurra
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in San Nicolo
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Back here as returning customer. Hotel was as nice as last time. Has a nice rustic Italian feel and nice and clean. Great views over the coast. Short walk to beach but very steep, hotel bus available though. Shops and a few restaurants near by.
Only thing that let it down this time was the quality of evening food (which you would not expect to question in Italy) and price of drinks.
Would recommend this hotel as B&B

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank localyomyom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2016

A wonderful family friendly gem! Incredible food and service! Beautiful swimming area and gardens! Located a short walk from the hotel's beach and a very short bus ride to beautiful Tropea. Shuttle service is also offered by hotel.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank adamjp2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We found it a very hard slog to stay here. First room offered was like a prison cell but they moved us later on. Took out a package for 7 nights for meals which we thought was OK but don't bother food very basic and the waiting staff are rude. We attended the calabria night and the waiting staff put your room number on the table no choice of where you would like to sit. They put us right next to the smoking hot barbecue which we refused to sit there and from then on we were treated like criminals. Reception staff ignorant bury their heads rather than even smile at you. We were treated very poorly I don't think I have ever felt so isolated we didn't want to eat here in the end and gave back our voucher. The only nice thing is the pool and gardens other than that I don't think it was worth the expense. You have to pay for a friDge, they put 2 euro service charge per person for everything our bill at the end just didn't tally up but for such poor waiting service told them noway and related train the miserable staff.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank bevjackson770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2016

We stayed here last September for two weeks and it was one of the most relaxing holidays we have ever had. We had stayed in Calabria about nine years ago and loved it but we're able to fly from Manchester which was really easy, now we have to go to stansted, stay overnight and fly with Ryanair which was not a good experience (watch flights for 50p on u tube and you will understand what I mean!) however the hassle was worth it when we arrived at this delightful family hotel. We had the front room overlooking the beach which was small but worth it for the view. The receptionist Ursula was very helpful and efficient and we had a lot of fun with Franco the head waiter. The swimming pool is lovely and you can see the sea as you swim. The food is simple country cooking and there are different restaurants to try. There is not a lot to see or do but it is a beautiful unspoilt area and Tropea is worth visiting.

Room Tip: There are two new rooms with good views more expensive than the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Janetberry123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2015

A lovely traditional hotel. We stayed in one of the detached villa's which was a classic white washed block with large rooms, air conditioning and a great view out to see.
The hotel is a short 10 minutes walk down to the beach however they do run a shuttle bus.
There is a good sized pool with pool bar and the restaurant is beautifully positioned on an open veranda so you truly feel as if you are on holiday. There is a limited choice for food (fish or meat dish) however the food taste lovely and this is a great way to dine. You will not go hungry. Breakfast is the traditional continental buffet.
Opposite the hotel is a bar with a balcony looking out across the sea to Sicily - a great way to finish the evening.
The staff are very pleasant and accommodating.
I would highly recommend this hotel for a great stay in Southern Italy.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. Many of the rooms both in the hotel and in the villa's have these
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank localyomyom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Nicolo
1.9 km away
Hotel  La Bussola
Hotel La Bussola
#1 of 20 in Capo Vaticano
1,037 reviews
2.5 km away
Villaggio Club Baia del Sole
1.6 km away
Villaggio Il Gabbiano
Villaggio Il Gabbiano
#2 of 9 in San Nicolo
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hotel Resort Tonicello
Hotel Resort Tonicello
#9 of 20 in Capo Vaticano
256 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Ipomea Club
Hotel Ipomea Club
#2 of 2 in Santa Maria
236 reviews
1.8 km away
Residence Hotel Felix
Residence Hotel Felix
#9 of 9 in San Nicolo
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Costa Azzurra? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Costa Azzurra

Address: Viale Giuseppe Berto s.n.c. | Capo Vaticano, 89865 San Nicolo, Ricadi, Italy
Region: Italy > Calabria > Province of Vibo Valentia > Ricadi > San Nicolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in San Nicolo
Price Range: ₹ 3,054 - ₹ 17,483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Residence Costa Azzurra 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Residence Costa Azzurra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence Costa Azzurra Calabria/San Nicolo, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing