We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great eco resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acajou Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Acajou Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grande Riviere
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great eco resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

This is the first time we were at an eco resort. Hotel is very lovely, the best in the area, with about 5 cottages which have amazing views (ocean, river and forest). Management is very helpful in accomodating any request and we felt at ease.
We came in a low season, so there were no turtles, but a lot of rest. It is generally quiet at night, with only the sounds of nature (and only weekend partying by locals, which may be a bit uncomfortable, but it is still over at a very reasonable hour) waking you up.
Hotel is located in a very prestine village, which is hard to come by nowadays and even the attraction of turtles didnt make it touristy. We liked it very much. Nature is very beautiful in the area, very unique.
Two things would have made our stay better, tastier and better priced kitchen and a nicer access to the beach. The beach itself is nice, with rough waves in the season that we came. We were the only ones on a 2-mile beach.
I would make sure to bring mosquito repellent, which we did but didnt use as rigourously as we should have.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelista2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    59
    27
    8
    7
See reviews for
45
79
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Acajou is one of the best hotels I've stayed at - ever. The cottages are tasteful and cozy, the grounds are beautiful and the staff is first-rate. My wife and I were there with our 3 kids (aged 11, 12 and 18) for 5 days and we had the time of our lives. The hotel is private while intimately embedded within Grande Riviere, a very small village that subsists on fishing, a bit of farming, and the tourism associated with leatherback turtle nesting (we wend during non-nesting season). We found the village to be safe for all of us even late at night and it was easy to start conversations with locals. The beach is amazing for body surfing and hanging out. It's easy to find guides that take you into the rain forest. We definitely hope to return!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

I spent a lot of time reviewing places in Toco before choosing Acajou. I was not disappointed at all. The rooms were beautiful and opened onto a breathtaking view of the river and ocean. The wooden decor, green surroundings and canopy bed made me feel like I was in an exotic movie. One might imagine that in Trinidad we are accustomed to these kinds of places. The reality is that if a person is from an urban centre, scenes like this are either very rare or non-existant.

My partner loves surfing and he enjoyed the sport almost everyday by walking three minutes to the back of the resort. I often layed in the hammock reading a novel.

The resort is very romantic. It is quiet, beautiful and worth the drive (actually the drive there is half the fun).

I have recommedned this place to many people and will continue to recommend it. One of my favourite places in Trinidad and Tobago hands down.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JadedTear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Acajou Hotel is located in the picturesque north east coast of Trinidad. It is well off the beaten track and getting there can be quite an adventure in poorly paved roads. But it adds to feeling of being away from it all.
On arriving at the destination one is greeted by some unfinished building work close to the reception.
There was a slight problem at check-in but reception staff were helpful in sorting it out.

The cabin/cottages are nestled in a lush green setting. Perhaps a bit too close to each other for complete privacy but nevertheless a nice setting.

The cabin was well appointed and comfortable.

The restaurant service let down the experience. Everything took too long at dinner time and it was a repeat experience at breakfast but just a bit longer.
Never saw the Swedish chef so I guess he must have been very busy behind the scenes.

I am always wary of these Eco-Resorts that seem to have very little in the way of the eco-theme and this one is no exception.
Quite noisy at night as there is a club close by and sound carries very well. Not very eco.

The pure natural beauty of the area and the friendly people in the village really make the outing to Grande Riviere a unique experience. Acajou Hotel could do better.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awhhaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malincharles, Owner at Acajou Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Good Day,
Could you please let us now in what ways you consider the place not to be Eco? It would be a great way to help us improve.

About the noise from the local bar; Once in a blue moon, the villagers organize a lime that can be noisy. I am sorry you came to visit us on such occasion and that you were bothered by it.

Best Regards,
Malin Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

Stayed at the Acajou hotel when we had been in Trinidad. The hotel has a nice wooden décor and is situated in a place of solitude with lots of lush green surroundings and a beautiful long water body. From the room you can watch these beautiful scenes. There is a nice portico in your room where you can sit on the chair and enjoy nature. We were taken for a trip through the forest by a local friendly Trinidadian. We had fresh coconuts, almonds, avocados, etc during the trip. Turtle watching was a new and great experience. We would definitely stay at this place again if time permits.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steward_Zeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grande Riviere
54.8 km away
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
Hyatt Regency Trinidad
#2 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
34.9 km away
Coconut Cove Holiday Beach Club
56.3 km away
Courtyard Port of Spain
Courtyard Port of Spain
#1 of 21 in Port of Spain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
53.3 km away
Hilton Trinidad and Conference Centre
70.8 km away
Cara Suites - Pointe a Pierre
41.1 km away
Las Cuevas Beach Lodge
Las Cuevas Beach Lodge
#1 of 1 in Las Cuevas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acajou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acajou Hotel

Property: Acajou Hotel
Address: 209`Paria Main Road | Grande Rivière, Grande Riviere Toco, Trinidad
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Grande Riviere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grande Riviere
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,234 - ₹ 18,251
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Acajou Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACAJOU is a small, eco-friendly, family run hotel situated on the beautiful and dramatic northern Coast of Trinidad in a little fishing village called Grande Riviere. The hotel is built as a group of traditional cottages nestled in between the beach, a crystal clear river and lush rainforest covered mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Acajou Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acajou Hotel North Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing