We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
81
76
19
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
76
19
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leatherback turtles mt plaisir rustic hotel upstairs room turtle watching air conditioning local guide first floor really enjoyed our stay here mosquito netting homemade bread almost hours a king size bed comfortable rooms turtle village arduous journey well worth the effort
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

We came from Canada for 2 days only but we had a great experience. I would say June is a good month to see turtles hatching and turtles laying eggs. The rescue mission is on, baby turtles need some protection from the hungry black vultures...
As it’s raining season it’s good to have a raining coat or an umbrella. We found it helpful to wear water shoes and put some bug spray on the legs (sand flies are happy to get you).
Food at the resort is good, stuff is very nice, friendly and ready to help you with whatever you need.
Rooms are big and clean, beds are covered with suspended nets against mosquitoes and are comfortable. Once in a while the power goes off but nothing you can do... it’s raining season...
Washrooms are OK, you have warm water to take a shower. There is no coffe machine or hair dryer in the room.
The beach is not really meant for swimming. We came to see the turtles and we did. There are organized tours at night (permit only) when you see the turtles laying eggs. We saw one in the morning leaving the beach. During the day you see turtles hatching, coming out of the sand and vultures eager to get them... People at the rescue center are collecting them in buckets and keep them until dusk when they are released.
This is our second time coming here with the kids and we had a great time. We’ll come back. The views are magnificent

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank 257guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We've been coming to Mount Plaisir Estate for many many years. As usual the staff are very friendly and accommodating, the rooms are comfortable especially our favourite upstairs room with the large deck looking out onto the beach. This time around it was again amazing to witness nature as the Leatherbacks were both nesting and hatching at this time of the season. Always incredible to see. We keep coming back.

Room Tip: They are all great
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

Having just returned in April after a stay, I read some of the bad reviews and felt compelled to respond. If you expect 5 star accommodation please go to a different island, one that caters to tourists who are looking for elite attention and privilege. This hotel is just about at the end of the road and is so much better than those reviews state. This place is meant for eco tourism and if fills every need. It is literally right on the beach and I saw them sweeping sand at least twice a day. They do a much better job than anyone could considering the beach traffic. The hotel dog was a well mannered sweetie. I did see the local strays shooed away once or twice but not a nuisance at all.
The owner, his wife, and staff were more than courteous and welcoming. I happen to get sick during my stay and they went out of their way to make sure I had what was needed and to guide me to the local doctor.
I'm happy to say I'm returning in a week to the same spot. It truly is a dreamy paradise at the end of the road!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank vickie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

Perfect spot to see the nesting and hatching of turtles. Rooms are right on the beach and have the basic amenities. The tomato choka was excellent!! Great for a family outing and worth the journey for both local and foreigners.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

On an otherwise wonderful trip, MP stood out as even better. A quaint little Hotel, right on the beach. Nice room with air conditioning that really helped, especially the ability to dry the air some. Staff was wonderful, attentive, and helpful. Food was excellent. Very fresh, well prepared, tasty, and each chef's preparation is a tad different. The best part is that the Leatherback turtles were nesting. We took the guided (required) night trips to see the nesting and then went out at dawn to watch the last few head back to the ocean. And watch the first of the season babies make their way to the sea, too. A great place to relax but at the same time poke around for some very interesting and photogenic animals.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews