We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
31
59
49
20
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
59
49
20
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool mountain view half board valley island terrace menu
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2008

Stayed at pedracin for 5 nights and it was all i had hoped for.
Rooms are comfortable and clean and in fitting with the spectacular setting of the hotel.
Loved the fresh water swimming pool and sun terrace which was small but the hotel was not full when we visited so that didn't matter.
The staff were extremely friendly and could give good advice about transport.
The food was basic and did get slightly limited, think they could put in some more imagination (e.g we requested cachupa for an evening meal which wasn't on the menu and they were only too happy to provide, they should add some more local specialities) all though simplistic food is the theme on the island.
The walks on the island are stunning. Cova De Paul was breathtaking (although felt like i required replacement knees afterwards!).
Overall loved the island and the hotel, would definitely revisit and would have loved to stay longer

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanielGilbody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2008

This hotel is situated on the hillside of the Ribeira Grande some way west of Coculi and maybe 20 minutes out of the town of Ribeira Grande itself, up a narrow, not always paved road with several hairpin bends. It consists of a main building and a set of one and two-storey cabins. There are great views down to the ribeira bottom, and up the valley to the mountain peaks. There’s a steep path from the parking area to reception, with several steps. Paths to the cabins are also steep in places – my partner, who walks with the aid of a stick, needed help at the steepest parts. The hotel is unsuitable for wheelchair users.

The reception is in the main building; it is small and basic and doubles as the bar. Leading leftwards from reception is a veranda which continues around three sides of the main building. The rest of the main building at this level is made up of a small rustic style dining room and the kitchens. There is a lower level (being built on a hillside the building is split level) but this doesn’t seem to be open to the public. During our stay people preferred to eat at the tables on the veranda. The food was good during our stay, better than the small size of hotel and its remote location would suggest. Look out for the ‘kroks’ ice cream, flavoured with grogue. Breakfast, too, offered a decent selection of bread, cakes and fritters, fruit and juice. The warm selection was ‘cachupa’, the Cape Verdean national dish of beans and corn, and I think there were scrambled eggs. Coffee and tea weren’t great though.

Leading on from the main building there is a small swimming pool. However there were no sunloungers – a major omission given this place is in the middle of nowhere and there really is nothing to do. Beyond the pool was another seating area with plastic chairs, slightly haphazard but this was basically on the roof of a new extension being built on to the hotel; perhaps it has a more well thought out destiny.

Our room was one half of a single-story cabin. There was a decent-sized bedroom and bathroom. Visually the room was quite nice, with one feature stone wall and the rest in white rough-cast plaster. The bathroom was very dim. Water pressure was good, but it took a long time for hot water to come through. There’s a mini-bar and a TV, which seemed only to pick up 3 Portuguese language stations.

Unfortunately the room smelled overwhelmingly of damp, and the aircon wouldn’t work. We were transferred to the other room in the same cabin, where the aircon sort-of worked but the damp smell was the same. Given the way the paint was flaking at ground level, I’d suspect rising damp.

Once the sun dips below the valley sides – long before it gets dark - little black mosquitoes come out in numbers and you will need to change into long trousers and sleeves. There is no entertainment at the hotel, and no lounge area with comfortable chairs and sofas, so people seemed to go back to their rooms after eating. Here the feeble nature of the aircon was very frustrating, as the outside temperature quickly dropped to a pleasant coolness. So we were stuck with a smelly hot room, unable to open the window to let the cool air in for fear of being eaten alive by mosquitoes.

In summary this hotel has a great (if isolated) location, friendly staff and good food. If they could sort out the damp problem and aircon I would have come away with only good memories. Until they manage this, I’d seriously suggest staying in one of the hotels in Ponta do Sol instead. If you’re on a tour where your hotels are selected for you (as we were) bring good mosquito repellent.

We organised a tour with Transporte Dongo (mobile +238 991 4082) – Dongo himself took us from Porto Novo to the hotel on our arrival. The next day one of his team took us on a tour covering Ribeira Grande, Vila das Pombas, Punto do Sol and Fontainhas. We particularly enjoyed the trapiche at Vila das Pombas (owned by one of the Jewish families for whom Cape Verde has been a refuge over the centuries – we bought some of the grogue too), the bright and sunny town of Ponta do Sol where we ate a delicious lunch of spicy chicken and fresh fish, and the scary winding road towards the dramatically located village of Fontainhas. A lot of people walk the route from Ponta do Sol to Fontainhas, which would be a great way of travelling it, but as my partner is disabled we had to drive there.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gebwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2007

By chance heard about Pedracin Village from a cousin of my traveling partner (cousin) who we met by accident in Praia, Capital City in Cabo Verde. He told us we would love it. Very quaint (like the original stone houses) but very comfortable with fridge, air conditioning, etc. in room. We had planned on going to S. Antao and finding a place to stay overnight. On the trip over we met friends from New England who already had reservations to stay at Pedracine. When we arrived on the island their driver called the Village for us and made arrangements for us to spend the night. One night is not enough. On next trip, will plan on staying longer. The views are fantastic and I didn't get to hike. Food and service was excellent. Vegetables are grown on their property as well as animals. Spent time with a couple from Europe who couldn't believe we were not going hiking. Place very clean, pool was great - but a little cool for me in February. This is a must see and stay!

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank CVgranddaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2006

Considering this is the best hotel on the island, the experience is sobering. This place, frequented almost exclusively by Europeans, has seen better days. The rooms are big enough and two of them make up a traditional quaint hut.
The food is very limited. The same menu of about a dozen bland dishes is the same for lunch and evening. There are no restaurants in the area, so you're dependent on what they serve at the hotel. Vegetarians will find it difficult. Meat and fish as well as a limited selection of vegetables are fresh, however. There was no fruit except bananas. Cakes and bread were stale. We wanted sandwiches made to take on a hike (the only thing to do here) and were told there was no bread..
The island is very interesting and attractive. We could have done with some guidance regarding the hiking, but received little information. We didn't feel cared about here.
On the upside, the complex is built in a great location. Surrounded by banana and papaya trees, the discreetly built hotel has a stunning view of the mountain range.
Pedracin Village is out of town and as far as we were able to tell, no hiking paths lead out from the hotel.

17  Thank crystal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews