We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The great escape”
other travellers have booked this property
Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior
View from bed! our private terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Exterior
View from bed!
our private terrace
Estoril Beach
Lounge looking through to kitchen
View from terrace
Terrace at night
Exterior
Living Room
Facade
Bedroom
Beach Restaurant
Four poster bed
Private Terrace
Casa Velha Courtyard
Shared Terrace
Casa Velha bar
Casa Velha cafe
Sunset View from our terrace
Sea View from the lounge
at the harbour
View from the bed
Casa Velha Courtyard
View from terrace
Our private terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sal Rei, Boa Vista

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Butterfly...
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“pretty awful”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Dirty no air con surrounded by half built apartments
rubbish building materials and homeless people the apartment is as basic as you can get we like simple unfussy but this apartment is so basic and very much in need of some TLC

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Finding somewhere else to stay
Liked least: Everything
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2013
This review was shock to us, coming 9 months after these guests stayed. However, we remember that they arrived just a week after the freak torrential rain and floods on Boa Vista, when Casa Velha was surrounded by receding floodwaters. No wonder they have bad memories. Thankfully this disaster for the Island did not last long, the sun dried everything quickly and other guests love our penthouse....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamblingB...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The great escape”
Reviewed 29 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We stayed in the penthouse in May 2013. The apartment is very well equipped and also beautifully decorated. The roof terrace is a dream! Casa Velha is a walking distance to a gorgeous beach and also a walking distance to the town centre. Chris and Gail have us a lot of useful tips prior to arrival re money, visas, etc. It was about 30C during our stay, but we didn’t actually need to turn the fan on as there was a nice breeze coming from the ocean. If you like fish there’s a great fish market on weekday mornings – we had the best tuna and grouper ever – fresh from the ocean. Local people are very nice and friendly. We hope to escape there again next year, only for more than just a week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Reviewed 3 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience of the whole property and the unique nature of the penthouse itself
Liked least: liked it all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The roof terrace
Liked least: No diet coke on the island!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the roof terrace
Liked least: 4 flights of stairs!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Oct 2012
We normally find the bedroom fan keeps it reasonably cool, and at other times we just open the doors to the balcony and watch the lights of the yachts twinkling in the bay. However, these guests stayed in August when sometimes it can get hot...

Casa Velha offers a continental breakfast which is basic but the coffee is good, and the evening cocktails are just scrummy!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing