We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Loved it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plantation Beach Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Plantation Beach Villas
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

We stayed here with my brother in law who was visiting from the UK. It was his 1st visit to the Caribbean. We loved every bit of except for the mossies. The villas could do with screens for doors and windows. The staff are very friendly and helpful, especially Fiona and our housekeeper, Cheryl. Great holiday, great villa.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trinilady003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    17
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
47
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

We spent four nights at the Plantation Beach Villas in March. Our second stay in two years, and we almost *never* go back to the same place twice. We went with our 12 year old daughter and friends. Ate out one night at "The Fish Pot" (just up the hill on the main road) and otherwise went to the local grocery stores (which have vastly improved over the past two years) and ate in.

Two years ago, we went in February, just before Carnival. During our trip in March, the weather was somewhat hotter and more humid. We were virtually the only guests on the resort. The bar has given up serving lunch, which is too bad but understandable given the patronage levels we observed. Tobago isn't easy to get to from North America, and the flights from Port of Spain are very badly timed to connect with the incoming flights from North America. At the moment, there is only one fast ferry from Trinidad, although this is supposed to remedied before Easter this year. It is a pity, as Tobago is generally safe and the people are friendly. The atmosphere at PBV is extremely relaxing and pleasant, and perfect for those of who have rather busy, harried lives.

The villas themselves are still very pleasant and very well equipped, but the equipment is starting to show its age -- the BBQ with our villa dripped because it needed a grease catcher at the bottom and it had really reached the end of its life. The air conditioning units in the bedrooms were getting noisy and somewhat rusty. There were a couple of towels that were also rather worn. I suspect things have not been replaced because of the economy, where there have not been a lot of tourists in Tobago. [The Grafton hotel next door was obviously almost empty!] Our maid kept the place immacuately clean, and there were lots of methods provided to deal with the modest number of mosquitoes present, although I do not understand why screens are not more popular in the Caribbean. We appreciated the security provided at night on the resort.

The local grocery stores are pretty good if you want to cook for yourself, and have been considerably upgraded over the past two years. Most of the meat is frozen, but fresh local chicken is available at the Penny Saver (still open, but under expansion) on the road to Crown Point. Food prices are a little bit higher than North America but not exhorbitantly so. Wine is expensive.

We had lots of birds visiting our unit --some of them quite bold in looking for handouts.

The pool and surrounding area is clean and well maintained.

Sean, the manager, was acting as bartender while we there and did a great job.

Would we go again? Yes, if we could get to Tobago with a minimum of hassle.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ottawavoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2011

Quaint Villas, a quiet little gem retreat, great for family gathering with 3 rooms per villa, beautiful view from balcony and full villa width deck,staff will cook ensuite which was fabulous...no worries its Very Reasonable wish we had done it every night, kitchens fully equipped, pool beautiful as was beach, kayaks available, lunch bar at pool serve great burgers, flying fish, cocktails, friendly staff everywhere. Small intimate complex, walkable to restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellin_gal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

The villas are comfortable and spacious - could do with a little updating, better equipped kitchen, better lighting etc but they do offer lovely accomodation overall and are beautifully kept by the villa attendants. The grounds are immaculate and Ivan at the bar is a delightful fellow! Sean also was very informative and we enjoyed chatting to both of them. The beach is nice with good waves for body surfing. Take mozzie repellant and good sunscreen and hats! We liked Tobago because it is very 'real' and rustic - after a few days we felt very comfortable being there. Dont miss Luise Kimme museum on Sundays.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KTandPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tobago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2010

I stayed at Plantation beach villas from the 10th of december to the 12th of december with my family . Six adults, three children under the ages of three.It was like a home away from home. The villa was equipped with everything and that made our short stay very comfortable. All I have to say is if you are checking this place out on the internet, its exactly the same when you visit.lol I have no regrets and I hope to stay there again , for a longer period. One of the best part of our stay , the pool was open all the time. So if u feel like going swimming at 1.00 in the morning u can do that.. We did!!

Management was excellent, Sean was very pleasant, informative and people friendly! Compliments to him. He made our stay the way it was. Thanks Sean!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Black Rock
8.3 km away
Tropikist Beach Hotel & Resort
6.2 km away
Blue Haven Hotel
Blue Haven Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bacolet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
6.1 km away
Magdalena Grand Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Villas at Stonehaven
The Villas at Stonehaven
#1 of 3 in Black Rock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 km away
Le Grand Courlan Spa Resort
0.2 km away
Grafton Beach Resort
Grafton Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Black Rock
3.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Beach Villas

Property: Plantation Beach Villas
Address: Stonehaven Bay Rd, Black Rock, Tobago
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Tobago > Black Rock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Black Rock
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,526 - ₹ 39,913
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plantation Beach Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Tobago's Caribbean coast, the 6 luxurious villas are nestled in a grove of tropical trees, on a gently sloping hillside overlooking the palm-fringed Grafton beach. The emphasis is on elegant comfort amidst the serenity of nature. Each villa is fitted with all the modern amenities. The Resort is ideal for a family holiday or intimate wedding, our 'family' of friendly staff and the ambiance and warmth we provide assures a taste of paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Plantation Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Beach Villas Hotel Black Rock
Plantation Beach Villas Tobago/Black Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing