We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
142
100
32
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
100
32
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshillmetersbeachcartropea
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

What i enjoyed the most during my 2 days stay there was the room it has every thing i needed and banana tree in front of my window made me feel like really in summer
Bed was confortable and tv had really many channels
Food is good too and the also pick you up from train staion if you need to and drive you to it as well when leaving
And the pool and view the have in luzia residence is really nice

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
Thank Mira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016

The comments I have read about the hotel, were not promising, but as it was only 10 days left ahead of my vacation, my boyfriend decided to choose this hotel. And it really surpassed our expectations. Let’s start.
Location – it is 300m situated from the Groticella beach, which is together with the Tropea beach one of the most famous in Calabria. You can go by foot or by the hotel shuttle bus that is driving every hour. If you choose to go by foot is it the easier part going to the beach as it is down the hill, but when you are returning from the beach then it could be a bit heavier at the beginning as it is a bit steeper up the hill. The beach is sandy, the umbrella and the two chairs are for free, as all hotels are renting its space on this beach, and if you want to take the sunbed it will cost you 5 euro per one sunbed. The bottom of the sea is not that much rocky as it was described in some comments. It’s a mixture of stones and sand, but it does not require special shoes. You have two restaurants on the beach, with lunch, ice creams, waters etc. The shops and restaurant’s are on the top of the street. The Marinella is the almost last hotel in this street and the closest to the beach, so when you go to the center it will take you a 6-7 minutes upside the hill. There is only one supermarket, one shop with typical Italian products and 2-3 restaurants. There is not much to do after the beach in Capo Vaticano, so we were going to the Tropea, 10km from Marinella. The only problem is that the bus is not going frequently, every 3 hours actually, the return ticket it 5 euro per person and it drives 20 minutes to Tropea. But it was always on time. The Tropea you must see, it is even better place than Taormina. Vivid, lot of restaurants, shops, atmosphere. Fantastic.
Meals in hotel – we took a half board, and comparing with other hotels you can choose between the dinner and the lunch. The breakfast was always cold (salami, cheese, vegetables, sweets) but we did not mind much. The dinner/lunch was perfect, you could choose between two menus but we had always Pasta/Calabria soups for the first meal and fish/meat for the second meal and very tasty appetizers with lot of eggplant and zucchini and other delicious food. The food is really delicious and the staff is amazingly kind and often serves you the other menu though you have eaten all the food from the menu you have chosen. If you order a bottle of wine or water and you do not drink it during you meal, it will wait for you the next days.
Regarding the furniture, the hotel is a bit old fashioned, but is refers to me, only to the restaurants and the reception, whereas the rooms are rather ok. The advantage is that it is small hotel (around 60 rooms) so it is never crowded, full of bougainvillea and palms. So if you want to take a good rest and enjoy swimming and beach activities Marinella is a good choice in combinations with the excursion to the Eolian islands, Reggio and Schilla. We really enjojed our staying and would warmly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ljiljana300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2015

We spent only four days at Marinella, just a part of our 3000km trip in Italy.

We choose this hotel as it was offering a very good balance in terms of services, location quality and price.

Hotel has free parking (otherwise difficult to find).

The beatifull Groticelle beach (well knowned for the amazing water/colours specific for this part of Calabria) is only 250m away. Marinella hotel offers free minibus transfer to/from the beach: going down the hill in the morning is a pleasure while returning at noon in the hotel for lunch may not be so pleasant!

We booked an appartment with full board service. The appartment was spacious, very clean and quite with A/C and small terace outside.

Quality of the meals was good, you have to choose in advance the main dishes from menu of the next day while an open buffet is also available for appetizers, side dishes, dessert and fruits. Some will say that quantity of main dished sometimes may be reduced but I found this to be a bless otherwise I would have taken a few kilos a day!

Other services include a bar, kids games, terrace with see view, and a clean pool *not very big though.

Hotel organized a very cute "serata calabrese" at residence Luzia up on the top of the hill (extra was required but quality of barbcue compensated!).

We found the location being very comfortable in order to visit Tropea and Stromboli Island in Sicily (both are a must if you spend more than a couple of days here). For example you may book directly in the hotel and, depeding on the trip you book, ships for Stromboli may leave directly from Groticele beach (otherwise bus transfer available to Tropea port available). I would recommend to take Stromboli by night that allows you to admire an unforgettable eruption of the vulcano that is actually more spectacular after 21.00pm!

Hotel staff was very hospital and accomodating, I didn't have time to investigate but it seams like a family run business (from my point of view a little more professionality would not ruin anything...)

Definitely recomand and wish you all a pleasant vacation!

Room Tip: spacious appartments or see view rooms
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sorin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Just like Tim Williams in another review, we were put in an appartment instead of our prebooked hotel room. But it is not "in the middle of nowhere". If you have a car, this is a much better option than the hotel itself. It is in a very quiet location, spacious, nice and BRAND NEW! It has a good swiming pool (bigger than the hotel) and great view of the sea and hills. We stayed there for 2 weeks instead of going to the hotel and we LOVED it !!! The only inconvenience is the distance from the sea. It is 1,5 km from the beach. Without a car it would be impossible, but if you have a car, you simply leave it at the hotel in the morning and after breakfast you walk to the beach. Food was very good, genuine italian cuisine and always very tasty and rich. Staff was nice and helpful, the owner was always aroun and beach is one of the best we have ever been to. With the car, you can also visit Sicilly (one day trip) and some nice places in Kalabria. Don't expect luxury - it is a 3 star hotel. But for the service provided, I would easily give them 4 stars. I can recommend this hotel to anyone looking for relaxing a rewarding beach holidays.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

A lovely little family run hotel in a beautiful,part of Italy. Excellent service, great food, good rooms in an excellent location. Gorgeous beach at the bottom of the hill 10 minutes walk away. Relaxed and chilled break - not recommended for travellers wanting noise and a buzzing night life.

Will certainly return...a real treat for a bargain price :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews