We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful Home and views”
The Beach in June
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Beach in June
Front Terrace The Cliff House from the hill behind it
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The Beach in June
Front Terrace
The Cliff House from the hill behind it
The front porch and the sea, looking west
View from the kitchen to the living room
Kitchen
The kitchen at night
Sunset with Stromboli, from the terrace
Master Bedroom in main house
Roofless Bathroom- Main House
Drinks at Sunset
Guest House 1
Guest House 1- interior
Guest House 1-  Bathroom
Guest House 2
Guest House 2- Interior
Guest House 2- Interior
Swimming Pool
Swimming Pool
The pool, the sea, and Stromboli on the horizon
Dinner on the Terrace
The terrace at sunset
Front Porch at Twilight
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Capo Vaticano, Ricadi, Province of Vibo Valentia, Calabria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
pennyman
DeWitt Michigan
1 review
“Delightful Home and views”
Reviewed 16 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My family and I had the privilege of staying at the Cliff house for a week in early September. We found the home to be a wonderful place to gather our family and enjoy the wonderful country side and tremendous views offer by this home. The home offered everything from private areas to community areas which we took advantage of for eating , game playing and just watching sunsets. The home is a true delight.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ocean-gat...
Hamburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Spectacular view”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in July 2015

The perfect house for family stay. We spent our summer vacation in the Cliff House - in total with 9 persons. Nice place, very relaxing, top service (cleaning regular), main house and two separate ones - and somekind of "private" beach - at maximum we found maximum of 15 people during the day.
In addition an owner who stays on top and takes care about the guests.
Highly recommendable!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the beach - and the "top less shower bath room and, and, and .....
Liked least: Nothing to complain!
Travelling group: Erweitertem Familienkreis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisa P
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Unforgettable Holiday House!”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in July 2015

Our family stayed at the Cliff house in July of 2015 and had a wonderful time. We celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary while we stayed, and the local priest Don Pasquale came and delivered a memorable ceremony for us and our friends and family. The dinner on the patio was incredible and Anna, the housekeeper we hired to prepare the meal, was fabulous. The owner of the property Alessandra was a huge help in making our holiday and 10 year moment magical. Our children 4, 6 and 8 years of age loved the grounds, pool and the private beach was unbelievable. We would highly recommend this property for your vacation- the views second to none, the grounds and staff impeccable and the beach was absolutely breathtaking. We will definitely be back. Thank you Alessandra and all the staff for making our family vacation and 10 year anniversary unforgettable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property and Views
Liked least: 500 steps to the beach (but they grew on me)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karra M
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Cliff House is a Great Place to Enjoy Calabria”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My husband and I enjoyed the Cliff House so much the first time that we went back this past summer for a second time. Two years later it was just as we remembered it. The accommodations are perfect. The kitchen and outdoor barbecue are great for homemade meals. The view with the Tyrrhenian Sea's breeze is both amazing and relaxing. The first year we went in late May, so the water was a bit too cool to enjoy, so we spent a lot of time at the house enjoying the view. I usually never read on vacation but that year I read two books, which spoke to the time we spent just enjoying the calming effects of the sea from an unbeatable view. This year we went in August, and it was hot, so we enjoyed the private beach daily, followed by the pool, as a dip in it was quite necessary after the hike back from the beach. Don't let the steps intimidate you, the cove is so worth it. By the second day my husband and I had the plan down. We went to the local store and bought a cooler, snorkel gear, umbrella, beach mats, water booties and took it all with us the following days. Under an umbrella we enjoyed wine and sandwiches on the beach, and when we got hot, we snorkeled. From the cove there are so many colorful fish, snorkeling is a must. The first visit we totally missed that aspect of the home, but am glad we were able to fully enjoy it this last time.
As far as the owner I have all praise for Alessandra!! She is the perfect host. I feel like I have known her for years, and I guess I have, since we first inquired about the property and area in 2012. Seriously, though, even then, she felt like an old friend. We are e-mail pals! Alessandra quickly responds and always provides great insight, advice, and whether it is prior to your arrival or while you are there, she is available and willing to help in any way she can. This past visit to accommodate our family we had to rent another property, and she happily provided recommendations and made the introductions.
This home is a must! If you want to see a beautiful part of Calabria, then this is the place to stay. It is clean, chic, comfortable, private, and have I mentioned the view?! We loved going to the local markets and picking up fresh produce, local cheeses and meats, and the fish market is outstanding. I could have gone there every day. Coming from the U.S. we enjoy Italy's fresh food, and when you have a great place to cook and enjoy it, the vacation is that much nicer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miro_Kuce...
Belgrade
1 review
“One of the very rare places where your relax is not spoiled by any compromise”
Reviewed 4 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Of all the places which I have visited in my quest for an unmarred relax, the Cliff House is special in its unassuming, leisurely perfection.

It is part of a closed compound that shields you from any disrepair or spoilsome sights. Everything is well maintained, regularly watered, cleaned, arranged - yet with sufficient casualty so as not to make you feel oppressed by tidiness and order.

The layout is meticulously ergonomic - everything is close at hand, lots of seating and tables to allow you sense of personal space and comfort. Every place and corner are convenient to sit in, with lots of cushions and cuddliness - it is a pleasure just to wander around, sit here, there, look around, breathe, and think.

While the house gives sense of rustic fadedness, in no way it comes at the expense of convenience. Everything is fully equipped, plenty of kitchen utensils and advanced tools (cocktail set, dishwasher, nespresso machine), three wifi networks in the area, rich selection of books in multiple languages, sufficient tap/shower water pressure. Impeccable housekeeping service which includes optional cooking of hearty, authentic Calabrese cuisine, customized to your tastes - chapeau bas to Anna and her unassuming excellence.

The infinity-styled swimming pool is well designed, it accommodates broad stroked swimming or chilling out with friends and cocktail in hand, watching sun set over Stromboli. It provides much needed refreshment after climbing up those 400-some stairs back from the pristine beach below (usually empty all day long save 5-6 people, end of September), collecting ripe opuncia fruit on the way and chasing omnipresent geckos. The underwater lights allow for night swimming and watching stars high in the sky.

A perfectionist can always spot a thing or two to improve in Cliff House but it does not detract from the overall experience. Villages in the immediate vicinity (beyond Capo Vaticano itself and Tropea, which is a hopeless tourist trap, with all bling and no substance) are small, sleepy, and with excellent espresso for those who failed to stock up on nespresso capsules in advance. There are significant differences among the supermarkets in the area - heed Anna's advice on where to shop.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing