We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing House with awsome views.”
other travellers have booked this property
Peace and tranquility, yet only a minute from the beach, restauarants & shops
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Peace and tranquility, yet only a minute from the beach, restauarants & shops
Largest infinity pool in the area Extensive pool deck,  no lack of space, plus that stunning 270' ocean view.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Peace and tranquility, yet only a minute from the beach, restauarants & shops
Largest infinity pool in the area
Extensive pool deck,  no lack of space, plus that stunning 270' ocean view.
No need to reserve a lounger !
Cactus is situated in lush woodland yet beaches are just only on the other side of the road
Cactus has three gardens, naturally with sea views. This is the middle one
Large manicured lawns ideal to relax on
Cactus's garden terraces, as seen from the sea. Jolly beach in foreground
Almost guaranteed  28'c  ( 82'f) temperatures every day
More views from the Estate
Large lounge opens onto both decks plus to upper garden
High cool vaulted ceilings
Fantastic Caribbean vista as seen from all decks
So many cool covered areas to relax
BBQ deck - even more great views
Specatular Caribbean view - even from the parking lot
Sunset over Montserrat - as seen from the upper deck
Definitely true at Cactus
Typical view from the pool at dusk
Programme your own pool light show each night
Large kitchen with plenty of granite work surface and storage  space
All bedrooms are palatial, cool and open to great views
Both master bedrooms open directly to the poolside
deck
Second Master bedroom with triple aspect views over the Caribbean
One twin bedroom is themed for children
Children's  en suite bathroom
Unusually capacious bathrooms - all bedrooms are en suite
Light and airy bathrooms
Plenty of loungers for everybody
Tranquil Jolly Harbour
Jolly Harbour moorings if you arrive by yacht
Valley Church Beach - 10 minute walk from Cactus or just a minute or two by car
The 'Nest'  beach bar / restaurant at Valley Church
Ffryes Beach  - 15 minute walk away to the east or 3 in a car
Dine with with views across Jolly Harbour at the Acropolis restaurant
Jolly Beach - only 15 minute walk away to the west
Castaways Beach Bar on Jolly Beach
Have a beach almost totally for yourselves
Bird island - a short boat ride away
Half Moon Bay  -  Conde Naste rates as one of the top ten beaches in the world
Long Bay - perfect for snorkeling
Darkwood Beach - a 5 minute drive
Try your hand at sailing from Jolly Harbour - 10 minute walk
Try scuba off Jolly Beach
Daytime  view from Shirley Heights
Sunset at Shirley Heights
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Saint Mary's, Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brian F
2 reviews
“Amazing House with awsome views.”
Reviewed 13 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Amazing is all we can say

★ ★ ★ ★ ★


Roger is great to deal with. He was so organized and detailed. The house is big with tons of different areas to hang out. We never felt on top of each other. The driveway is super steep so we rented a car after the 2nd day but for the views you get from being up so high are completely worth it. I am sure we will never rent another house this nice

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool area with the views.
Liked least: Driveway is super steep. Rent a car and this isnt a problem.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Dec 2015
Thanks for your time in reviewing and also for the positive comments on my efficient attention to detail. I know that you had eight guests in your party, so I think your comment about no one 'feeling cramped' gives some idea as to the space Cactus provides. I take great pride in providing a 'world class' property and with a service to match - so your comments are really appreciated. Everybody but everybody has confirmed the incredible views you get from the house and although I agree that driving is easier than walking , I still prefer the latter as it helps me burn off some of that weight I manage to put on at all the local restaurants ! However as Cactus has the largest private infinity pool in the area, there is another option to perhaps control weight ! Antigua has many fine 5* hotels , but none can match the combination of space, privacy and location that Cactus offers, so please come back soon.
Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoLoLondo...
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cactus House - Best Rental Accomodation Ever”
Reviewed 25 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent ten wonderful days at Cactus House which is situated on a hill with a panoramic view over Jolly Harbour and beyond.
We loved the house - which has four large double or twin ensuite bedrooms, three of which overlook the pool deck and the large infinity pool with a view, while upstairs is a large light living area and full kitchen area, with equally large outdoor living area divided between the shady lounge/ dining veranda and the sunny BBQ veranda.
The house is beautifully decorated and furnished, and comes complete with laundry room, pool shower room, and wifi.
There are restaurants just opposite the drive, at the hotel next door, with more within walking distance in Jolly Harbour, and the lovely unspoilt Valley Church Beach is also within walking distance.
The owner, Roger is friendly and helpful, and the rental includes transfers to and from the airport.
We have rented lovely villas in many places around the world but Cactus House is easily the best we have ever stayed at.
The care taker, Don, is extremely helpful - a real gem of a guy, who arranged tours for us, drove us to Shirley Heights and knows how to get hold of the best rum punch on the island.
All in all a fantastic place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything - but if pushed the views, the infinity pool, and the soft seats on the shady veranda
Liked least: Nothing - could not be faulted
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to express your appreciation.
A fabulous house, a big pool, spectacular views, convenient restaurants and some of the best beaches on Antigua within an easy walk - I am really pleased I could provide you with a 'world class' experience.
I have already passed on your kind comments to Don and will try and get the rum punch recipe for you . Again my thanks.
Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaliaLond...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great location and luxurious accommodation”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house itself is amazing with great space and high class and comfortable décor and furnishings. The view is stunning and the pool is such a big bonus - being large, accessible and easy on the eye. The extra's such as the ipod dock, spectacularly equipped kitchen and easy to use BBQ really add to the value. We found the drive too steep for our hire car but did get used to the steps by the end of the stay! The location is so good too with the local beaches beings so beautiful and the plentiful supply of walkable restaurants for the evening. Would recommend this villa unreservedly, especially with the added bonus of the maintenance man, Don, who is a source of invaluable advice, assistance and a dab hand at making excellent rum punch!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the upstairs veranda withits views and coolness
Liked least: the steep driveway
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2015
Many thanks for your kind comments.
The house was designed to maximise 'al fresco' living , yet to give plenty of cover for when the sun gets too strong. The pool and deck are large enough to satisfy the largest of parties and the infinity edge just enhances the ocean views. My aim is to always give guests the highest quality and the best possible holiday experience - it seems that have succeeded !
As as you say the location is just so perfect it is just about impossible to beat, plus I am glad to say the house has never disappointed . But even large quantities of Don's rum punch don't improve the views out over the Caribbean !. Surely this vista is the 'icing on the cake'

Again my thanks, Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louloumck
g
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa in idyllic setting”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful villa in an idyllic location
★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Had a fantastic stay in Cactus house. The villa was very well equipped, spacious and in a lovely location with fabulous views. Thank you to Don who was always on hand to help or to give friendly advice. Antigua is a beautiful destination and the house had incredible beaches almost on the doorstep. I would recommend the hiring of a car although the supermarket was only 10-15 minute walk it was a long walk back when carrying shopping, especially the last stretch up hill ! It was also nice to tour the island seeing all the sights and different beaches although we felt that the closest beach to the villa, Valley Church beach, was by far the nicest and also the most secluded. Jolly Harbour beach was nice if you wanted a little more life. All in all a wonderfully relaxing holiday in a lovely house.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience -To be Treasured”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This house has a huge WOW factor. So beautiful , wonderful views , great weather
fantastic pool which has its own light show ! As it is our first trip to Antigua nothing disappointed - all arrangements were perfection from transfer from Airport to House to be met by charming people - Yasmine & Don are great. The local Taxi service from Castaways very helpful nothing to much trouble. Local people so friendly and welcoming. A unique property
and a real credit to owners. We will return !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing