We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carlisle Bay Antigua
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Saint Mary's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We had a wonderfull time At Carlise Bay. We had ocean front suite which was worth the money spend on.Really wonderful time. We drove around the island a little bit and i think looking at the other hotels that this was the best choice we could have made on the Island.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (994)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

697 - 701 of 994 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

If I could live here for the rest of my life, I so would. We asked to be moved from a first floor room - the views are of the tops of the palms - and were given the option of ground floor suites and chose one right at the end of the complex, just next to the watersports area. It felt like our own slice of the bay.

As a couple, it was lovely that the family suites were away from our rooms so it felt more adult, the food was good and everyone was friendly.

Hiring a jeep to explore was easy, cheap and great fun, and we stocked up on rum from the supermarket at Jolly Harbour to enjoy the sunsets without such a hefty bar bill. Perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julofromtheblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Just returned from Carlisle Bay after a week there with the family me and my wife, and my two boys aged 12 and 15. Have to say that beforehand I had read mixed reviews of the place but we found it to be a truly relaxing and enjoyable experience. We had an ocean front suite which was very well appointed and looked after. The staff were genuinely friendly and helpful at all times, and before too long had all our names off pat. The beach is e xcellent, and as it is not the largest of properties there is tonnes of space. My wife and son played tennis every day whilst in the resort and again the quality f the tennis pros was clear - and the facilities good. We enjoyed eating at the main restaurant - Indigo - and at the Italian restaurant by the pool. We were though a bit disappointed by the Asian restaurant - East - especially on the sushi front. The menus also don't cater greatly for vegetarians - my oldest leans this way - however when ever we asked for something off menu the staff were always willing to accommodate us. We were very chilled by the end of our stay even though the hotel does attract families with noisy small children! Only joking. It is pricey when you're there but to get the best out f the experience I suggest that you suspend any worries on this front till you check-out. We will definitely be returning to this one.

Stayed: April 2012
3  Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

... and the Carlisle Bay Resort has one of the best on the island of Antigua. Nicely tucked away in the peaceful Carlisle Bay the resort is a great location to relax away from the busy beaches (packed with cruise line passengers), but also an ideal starting point to visit the famous English Harbour and other sights on the island.

We stayed for a few nights beginning of February and had a fantastic time. The suites had large walk-in showers with natural daylight, couple-compatible wash space with large mirrors. The room was spacious and designed that you could lie in bed and see the beach and sea. Everything was there which you would expect (safe, hair-dryer, bathrobes in different sizes, flat-screen TV, etc). In front of the door to the suite they had small bowls of water to wash the sand off the feet when coming from the beach. So much for the hardware.

The service was excellent and I still remember the warm "You're welcome" from the staff. Due to the heat a full breakfast buffet is not possible, but the a la carte breakfast gives you a large variety of choices. Highly recommendable: The Antiguan Island Breakfast. The bar has the perfect setting to enjoy a rum-based cocktail to accompany the sunset. Try the self-made potato and banana chips!

Last but not least, we did manage to switch our minds to holiday mode pretty fast, but our bodies did not follow as fast as we wished. What could be better than a massage? We tried the Caribbean massage in a couples room of the award winning Spa. Although high in price we did get good value for money.

All in all we would recommend the Carlisle Bay, not only as an option on the island of Antigua, but also if you are looking for a great hotel anywhere in the Caribbean.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view with large balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heimchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed her for 5 nights in an Ocean Suite on Half Board basis.

Negatives - It was Spring break when we arrived and it felt busy on the beach. The resort does attempt to geographically separate couples from families, but unless the jetty is relocated down the other end of the beach, I think this will always be an issue.
There did not seem to be enough sunloungers for everyone, and it lacked any sort of privacy. People were getting up at 7am to put things on sunloungers to reserve them!
Having lived in Italy, I found the Antipasti at the Italian restaurant a bit disappointing.
Would have liked to have had some pasta options to choose from too.
Small hiccough at end as we were told that departure tax slips would be available for us to pre-pay, and then they had none at check-out.

Positives - Thoughtful and attentive service, friendly personable staff.
Beautiful, modern, spacious suites, pretty much all with seaviews.
Wonderful food on the whole and plenty of variety, and loved the fact you could order breakfast and dinner to your terrace on the half board option. Afternoon tea a nice touch too! Excellent Spa, free wireless internet all over the resort, tennis courts and good gym, excellent watersports centre and trips snorkelling on Cades Reef
Varied weekly calendar of activities but no pressure to participate.

Room Tip: Ground floor ocean suites have their own bit of garden in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmatty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Mary's
17.3 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,913 reviews
15.4 km away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
633 reviews
6.4 km away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,048 reviews
7.9 km away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#1 of 3 in Bolans
2,341 reviews
1.1 km away
Curtain Bluff Resort
Curtain Bluff Resort
#2 of 7 in Saint Mary's
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlisle Bay Antigua? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlisle Bay Antigua

Address: Old Rd, Saint Mary's 00000, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Saint Mary's
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Saint Mary's
#4 Romantic Hotel in Saint Mary's
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Saint Mary's
Price Range: ₹ 32,588 - ₹ 1,25,916 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Carlisle Bay Antigua 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlisle Bay on Antigua is one of the leading luxury Caribbean resorts, its accommodation designed to allow for both families and couples to holiday in peace. Both kinds of traveler have a dedicated end of the resort, which allows for everyone the tranquility of the spectacular beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlisle Bay Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlisle Bay Antigua Hotel Saint Mary`s
Carlisle Bay Hotel Antigua
Carlisle Bay Resort Antigua
Carlisle Bay Antigua Antigua And Barbuda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing