We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Heaven on Earth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

First of all I would like to say that this is literally heaven on earth a beautiful resort with amazing staff who make this resort what it is from O,Neil, Melissa, Phylis , Kenroy, Jeremiah, Kerry, Craig ,Tony, Sasha, Saskia, and mostly Denise and Sonia sorry not forgetting Robert who does a remarkable job on the beach. Sice our last visit there has been added a further infinity pool which is beautiful and has amazing sunsets . whoever complains about the food served here must be a proffessional complainer, as its outstanding thankyou to the catering staff, the rooms are kept imaculate and the grounds a credit to the gardeners.
There were only two points which were negative the men are asked to wear collared shirts and long trousers for the evening meal, however it was noted quite frequently that the Italians ignored this and often only wore shorts and T shirts, sorry if you have rules they should apply to all, also smoking should not be allowed around bar area, for non smokers it was appaulling at times, last but not least it states that children are only allowed at Christmas however a family arrived a few days before we left, and although the resort is not responsible for their behaivour, which was totally arrogant and rude to fellow guests and staff , please stick to the rule of no children at this resort if you want repeate custom as there are many other family hotels on the island that cater for families I have nothing against children but came back because of its truly relaxing atmosphere .
Lastly whoever is thinking about going to Antigua please do not book with thomas Cook go with Virgin wasn,t to happy with BA either, meals on aircraft terrible and no chance of getting connecting flight from Gatwick to Manchester resulting in 6 hour delay as again they decided to cancel the early afternoon flight

Room Tip: When booking please go for sea view or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,445
    479
    139
    59
    59
See reviews for
90
1,715
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (649)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We loved the resort. Everything was simply exceptional and they far surpassed our expectations. We spoke with several other couples visiting who had either researched or stayed at other properties in the area, and we all agreed that Cocobay is absolutely the best property available.

We'll keep it semi-short & sweet:
1. Honeymoon: it was a DREAM. If you are getting married, THIS is the place! We had an ocean front room and could hear the crashing of the waves every night. If you can swing it, book this level of a room. Also, book an dinner on the beach. It was exceptionally romantic!

2. Rooms: again...book the sea front. :-) Oh and the food! Excellent! Menu changes every day. The pool side sandwiches were to die for!!!!!! Thanks Vencia!

3. Staff: everyone was amazing. O'Neil, the manager, was such a gem and that's so rare in the hospitality industry. By day 2, everyone there knew our names. They were constantly surprising us with little things here and there that truly made this one of the most memorable trips ever!

4. Weather: I was on weather.com almost everyday about to lose my mind because they said it was going to storm daily! IGNORE THAT! The weather is simply stunning. Sun, sun and more sun! A passing shower about every blue moon and then...more sun! :-) At night, we sat at the beach and looked at the stars and the moon.

5. Bugs: It's the tropics, so there were some mosquitos, but nothing out of the norm and typical for tropical travel.

6. No TV: this is a place to relax and unwind. I read 2 books when I was there and loved every minute of it. It's totally okay to unplug and I highly recommend it. We spent time taking sailing lessons from Robert at the beach, which I highly recommend!

7. Antigua: we found that the locals around the area and in town were also very friendly. They asked us how we are enjoying our trip and so on. We walked the streets in town and no one bothered us or made us feel uncomfortable. Truly, one of the nicest countries in that region that we've traveled to.

8. We'll be back! We've been to a handful of spots in the Caribbean and this was simply the best!

We absolutly loved it!
XOXO Julie & James

Room Tip: Get a seafront room Bring lots of books to read
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I was blown away by my stay here. My room was gorgeous and well cleaned everyday, the staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful, the bartenders and drinks were not even slightly watered down and the view, the pool and the beach were fantastic!
I rarely go back to anywhere, but Cocobay needs a second trip!

Room Tip: Definitely get a plunge pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TSawtell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Spent 10 days at CoCo bay and found the place excellent. A couple of minor points were that thaere was a charge for WiFI which had just been introduced and a daily charge for Air Conditioning which I would have prefered to be included in the overall price. That said the location is idyllic, the food excellent and the staff very friendly (especially Oriel!) I will definitely return to this resort.

Room Tip: A plunge pool is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharmain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

we went there from 27th june to 9th july 2012, to get married, the staff via email before we arrive were amazing reply to every email think i sent 1 every day for 8 weeks. ops, we went alone to they sort out witness drove us to town with a driver who took us to sort out paper work which took 2minutes ll included in the price, i had a massive choose of weeding flowers size colour ect. location was great, the minister was 100% fab so put as at ease, even when i fated half way though my vows she sort and we finished it seated. We booked our hotel and wedding 6 or 7 earlier so took what room we could we got room 28 which was weird as i meet my now husband when i was 28 we also meet in a bar call coco lol.. our room although no air con had a ceiling fan which for us was ok as we spent all day each day by the pool , beach or trip and come evening it was starting to get cooler the hammack was great loved it and showering with the doors on to the deck open was surreal. no problems at all with bugs, at tyhe end of the day keep you room as you would your house clean dont leave sugary drinks or food out. the pools are lovely the staff amazing thats what made it for me tramika the wedding lady and shaskia the bar lady great. the manger i found very dry i later learn from dining staff that his beleived to be rastist?? maybe he never made any time to talk to white people. the 2nd to last day a family of 12 germans came with teenagers?? glad we were leaving they were loud, went to dinner in shorts and t-shirts, smoked in the pool. i think mainly this is a couples place thats what sold it to us. we have a 5 star hotel / restaurant back here in sussex, my husband as worked with many now famous chef he himself has a micheim star when in london and he could not fault the evening dinner, not to everyone taste but you should try it. we never ever felt rushed. i would return

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharmain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
14.4 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#3 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
2.7 km away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.9 km away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#2 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
9.3 km away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#2 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,149 reviews
22.9 km away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Property: Cocobay Resort
Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price range (per night): ₹ 30,193 - ₹ 59,313
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua/Bolans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing