We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to get engaged!”
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

If you want a romantic holiday in a great location - look no further than Cocobay! We had a ten day stay and enjoyed wonderful service from O'Neal and his great team. The Caribbean cottages are full of character and fantastic views if you pick the right ones. It is definitely worth paying extra for sea views. The food is of a very high standard and there was plenty of choice. Mr Gore and his team were always very attentive. A special mention should go to Sonia, Jermaine, Craig and Jenni. The reception girls were really helpful especially Shaun and Melissa. Thanks also to Phyllis for arranging a romantic setting for a wedding proposal! We will return one day - maybe for our honeymoon!!

Room Tip: Great view from Room 20.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank johnandsally26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,342 - 1,346 of 2,332 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

Cocobay has a lot going for it -- the cottages are quaint and painted lavender, pink, mint green and pale blue, and they're peppered across the hillside the resort sits on. If you want to be "right on the beach" this may not be for you, however the grounds are beautifully landscaped and the stroll to dining, pool and beach are gorgeous.

The room itself was rustic but very nice. The bathroom had double doors that opened onto a screened area of the porch -- it was like showering outdoors. The other end of the porch had chairs and a hammock overlooking the aqua sea.

Perhaps because we booked direct we got quite a few extras. Additional choices on the menu, a bottle of rum in our room, free air conditioning (which we used once), and a free taxi ride from the airport. As honeymooners we got 10% off the published rate and also got a bottle of champagne and another bottle of rum on departure!

I did not expect the food to be as good as it was. Appetizers were quite inventive and entrees were generally very good (one night food came very late and overcooked, however I believe that was an anomaly). Lunch could be improved with lot's of fresh fruit. Considering the rustic informality of the resort in general and the dining area specifically,I did not understand the rule that men attend dinner in long pants. The employees throughout the resort were (with the exception of one or two) very friendly and helpful.

We felt there were a number of small things the resort could do to make the experience a lot nicer. To get ice you had to ask someone to go into the kitchen to get it -- there should be a few self-service machines throughout the property. The rooms did not have washcloths -- just bath and hand towels. And the pillows were foam rather than down. Pitchers of ice water for self-service would be good to have at the bars. Lastly, the management restricted the use of the Hobie Cat for several days due to rough seas -- while I understand their concern for the average guest, I can't understand why this would apply to very experienced sailors.

Two infinity pools (with bars only steps away) made for great relaxation. The beach was very nice with a couple of huge trees, and a dozen or more cabanas for shade. To be honest, I been to nicer beaches and enjoyed more interesting snorkeling elsewhere in the Caribbean but we had a great time in Antigua, and at Cocobay. All in all a solid 4 out of 5 stars.

Room Tip: Many people complained that their plunge pools were too cold to enjoy -- choose a room where the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petesoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We fell in love with Cocobay.
The location could not be better. There's a beach everywhere you look.
The view from the two infinity pools will leave you speechless.

A short 5 minute walk from the resort led us to a small beach called Little Ffryes, that was virtually empty every time.
The little cottages scattered on the hill offer great privacy, the beds are comfortable and though the rooms are a bit bare-boned they manage to make them beautiful in the simplest ways. We didn't have air-conditioning but with the ceiling fan and the blinds closed we slept perfectly fine.
The staff was always smiling, helpful and friendly. The drinks were terrific. Their rum punch was the tops.

We were worried about the buffet food but it was actually very good, even surprising us as excellent sometimes. The fruit was a let down. Being on a Caribbean island, you're expecting to be chowing down on pineapples and mangoes all the time. But most of the fruit was imported and dull. We expected more on the authentic seafood side, but food is still surely a cut above most resorts.

Someone please get this place satellite radio. The CD played at breakfast and lunch repeated every day, twice a day. If I hear the caribbean-ized version of Shakira's 'Whenever Wherever' one more time.... We would have been much happier listening to local tunes than insincere Pop top 40/local fusion. Considering how charming and classy the resort is, it felt like a clash and reminded us that we're just 'package tourists'. When you take a vacation ...you wanna get away from that stuff!

All in all, it was a fantastic trip and we've been recommending this resort to our friends and family. While we were there, we were already talking about coming back. And we will.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovesclearwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We had a 2week stay at this lovely resort. Whilst not 4/5 star it is an upmarket 3 star and "rustic" but many say Its the best on the island and I would probably agree. The service is excellent, food is very good and staff very friendly and accommodating. The beach is very close, the only issue here is a lack of shade, there are a few natural wooden shelters but they need some more. There are 2 pools, one near the bar which is great for the free cocktails. Your room is outside of the main building in the lovely gardens and are little wooden "cottages" which are super. Do be warned that only the superior ones come with air con which is a shame as it was quite hot and humid when we went in march. You are very soon forced into chilling out! We would definately consider returning. Nick and Judith.

Room Tip: If you want air con go for the superior rooms. Plunge pools are probably not necessary and neither i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Cocobay is a wonderful resort with Antiguan style cottages, magical beach location and probably the best service we found anywhere in the Caribbean. We stayed 5 nights and fell in love with the resort. It is the most perfect place to relax and unwind and our days were spent mostly on the beach and what a beach. Little Ffryes is a small cove with the resort and cottages at one end and a rocky point at the other and you look across the turquoise bay to the five islands in the distance. The other side of the point is the larger Ffryes beach which is an easy 5 minute walk. Unspoilt with a few relics of old Tamarind logs along the beach to break the long expanse of sand it's the postcard image of Antigua. It is breathtaking and if you are looking for a beach resort it doesn't get much better than Cocobay. Beyond that we didn't explore further other than taking a snorkel trip to the nearby coral reef on one morning which was an enjoyable experience despite a close encounter with a barracuda!

The individual one bedroom cottages are charming. Each one is designed in authentic Caribbean style in pastel blues, lilacs and greys. Our cottage was adequately if not luxuriously furnished with a huge king bed, large bathroom and verandah with swinging hammock. It might not have come up to the standard of accommodation of some resorts we have stayed in but for genuine Caribbean flavour we loved our little house! The verandah was well screened in our cottage with bouganvilleas and other climbers and the only visitors looking in were humming birds, banana birds and small ghekkos!

The service was very friendly, professional and attentive. The staff just seemed to get it right - not too pressing or pretentious but always on hand, efficient and with a genuine smile. The food was probably the one area which was slightly disappointing but for an all-inclusive resort probably the average standard. It was not very creative and breakfasts were fairly uninspiring with almost undrinkable coffee! The best thing about breakfast was the easy-going chef who smiled and chuckled as she cooked the eggs at the end of the breakfast bar!

We did eat at Sheer Rocks just below the Cocobay restaurant once for Sunday lunch and once for dinner. The tapas lunch was superb and highly recommended. The pumpkin flower was a delight and for pud I had the best lemon tart I have ever tasted. Wow it was good! Dinner though was slightly too alternative for our tastes. Beef and scallops together as a main course just didn't work for me.

But overall Cocobay was magical. 10/10 for everything other than the food but we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Atajack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
14.5 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 16 in St. John's
1,900 reviews
2.7 km away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
482 reviews
20.8 km away
Nonsuch Bay Resort
Nonsuch Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Freetown
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
844 reviews
3.5 km away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
1,037 reviews
7.6 km away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Address: Ffreyes Beach, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price Range: ₹ 29,441 - ₹ 53,866 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua/Bolans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing