We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding”
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our Wedding”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We had so much fun! Tameka, Sasha, Kathleen, Shawn, Manuela- really EVERYONE was amazing. Our wedding day was perfect and I loved the little details like the flowers along the sidewalk. Evelyn Burns, recommended by Tameka, was fantastic and I think about what she said daily. The two couples with us enjoyed it as much as we did and we will all be back! Thank you to the fantastic people at Cocobay Resort! You should go!

Room Tip: Get the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,516
    499
    146
    60
    60
See reviews for
91
1,809
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (682)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Our party of six (3 couples) stayed at Cocobay in late January 2012. We loved Cocobay! The cottages, the property, the service, the staff, the beach, the view - all were outstanding! My husband and I loved the smallness of the resort. It was our first visit to an "adults only" property and we found we liked it a lot! We have been to all inclusives where there's so much food you don't know where to begin, so this was very different and we liked it. The small buffet line at breakfast and lunch had adequate selections, and we would have liked a few more options at dinner but it was fine. We ate at Sheer Rocks one night (following our friends' beach wedding!) and absolutely loved it. I recommend that everyone dine there at least once during your stay.
The beach was wonderful. We were approached a couple times by vendors but they were polite and kept moving. Several reviews have mentioned getting bitten, and I did. I seem to have that unique body chemistry that sand fleas like as I was the only one affected out of our group of 6. I had brought bug spray and remedies with me, but found that oral benedryl was the only thing that helped and was glad they stocked it in the gift shop. The gift shop was great! For such a small place they had an amazing selection of items (clothing, jewelery, gifts, etc) and we all had fun shopping and buying.
A highlight of our trip was spending a day sailing on the Jabberwocky with Nick and Kay. They are super nice and knowledgable about the island and it was a really fun day. Great lunch served on board too. The Cocobay staff should continue to recommend them to their guests!
We love to travel and enjoy going to new locations and places, but we enjoyed our stay at Cocobay so much that I think it will stay on our list of future places to visit again. So many little touches (coming back to our cottage after dinner to find it filled with candles and flower petals, O'Neal personally delivering drinks and delicacies on our last night, "open air" yet private showers) plus the wonderful staff - Cocobay exceeded our expectations in many ways.

Room Tip: Plunge pool cottage is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelhappy025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, UK
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Me and my husband were married her in 2009. I was amazing and everything we could have wished for. The rooms were basic but cleaned thoroughly daily, the maids were lovely and made us feel very welcome and left varoius animals in our room made of towels and flowers.

An extensive menu for food and drinks, al the produce was fresh and produced to a high standard.

Worth every penny!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jade2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We travelled as a group of 7 family and friends for our wedding at the resort. After 14 months of planning, scouring reviews and sending numerous emails to the deputy manager/wedding planner, Tameka, I can honestly say that Cocobay lived up to all our high hopes!
Everything was perfect on our wedding day (despite a little rain) and the friendly staff and beautiful location made it all so special.
The cottages are quaint, spacious and clean with picturesque views (we had sea view ).
Menu varies, always 3 options plus 3 standard at a supplemental cost.
Bar staff were friendly and happy to make cocktails until 11pm when bar closes.
Cabs are easy to arrange through reception and going 'off reservation' isn't a problem.
All in all, an amazing and quiet resort (no 'kids' under 12 is a huge bonus) with great facilities!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshBush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester MA
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We did a tremendous amount of homework going into this vacation and choosing this resort in particular. Our primary interest was to get a weeks worth of serious down time and we most certainly got what we were after!

Not sure there is a need to repeat what many others have said that is good about Cocobay but there are a few things that I think we came with that need mentioning:

1. The resort is as advertised regarding the quality of the experience. You should not be disappointed if you do your homework and understand what this resort really offers.

2. The staff is in fact exceptional starting with the manager O'Neal who handled an overbooking situation on our arrival with the utmost professionalism, courtesy and generousity. Very friendly and courteous staff top to bottom!

3. Most surprising was the quality of the food. We are not big travelers or gourmet cooks by any account but we can say each of the meals were unique, interesting, healthy and all with great presentation. Breakfast probably the most tradtional, but lunch and particularly dinner had very much a local Caribbean flavor.

4. Having had the experience of a room on the hill our first night and then moving to the ocean front room with pool for the rest of our stay I think it is fair to say there probably aren't any "bad rooms" in the resort. The views in all directions are spectacular. Never used the AC and the ceiling fan was perfect for comfort.

5. The beach and the views are all what you see in all the photos on this site and the Cocobay site with the weather being consistently warm and sunny. Truely a slice of paradise!

6. I read a lot about bugs in my pre-trip homework. Not sure if February is the off season for bugs but I came away without a bite and my sweetheart with only a few. We came "loaded for bear" with some serious bug sprays but they never came out of the bag. The staff tells us the bugs are there so travel prepared.

7. We are pleasantly surprised by the cost of items we did buy at the resort. Not what we would consider at all expensive.(Water/gifts)

8. We aren't big drinkers but what we had was very good and the bar staff was very personable. Nice having one of the staff drift down the beach with a tray of refreshments a couple of times a day.

9. The new pool is beautiful, nicely located next to the beach and has a bar.

10. The dinner on the beach where I proposed to my sweetheart of ten years was elegant and couldn't have been any more romantic......"Thank you O'Neal and our hostess Ronella!!!"

11. I need to say that the locals on the beach who offered jet ski, horse back riding and other activities really did add to the great experience of staying at this resort. Good folks who aimed to please and priced reasonably.

Lastly, this was my first trip to the Caribbean and was not totally sure of what to expect, but I can say we found both the resort and locals we encountered to be very "American friendly" and accomodating. The value was excellent and the resort truely did exceed our expectations!

Room Tip: Ocean front with the pool is nice, but it looks like all rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TBHGloucesterMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
14.4 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#2 of 15 in St. John's
1,845 reviews
2.7 km away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
450 reviews
3.5 km away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#1 of 7 in Saint Mary's
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
812 reviews
7.6 km away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Five Islands Village
3,315 reviews
22.2 km away
Pineapple Beach Club Antigua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Property: Cocobay Resort
Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price range (per night): ₹ 23,627 - ₹ 48,671
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua/Bolans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing