We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beyond our expectations!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cocobay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cocobay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester MA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beyond our expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We did a tremendous amount of homework going into this vacation and choosing this resort in particular. Our primary interest was to get a weeks worth of serious down time and we most certainly got what we were after!

Not sure there is a need to repeat what many others have said that is good about Cocobay but there are a few things that I think we came with that need mentioning:

1. The resort is as advertised regarding the quality of the experience. You should not be disappointed if you do your homework and understand what this resort really offers.

2. The staff is in fact exceptional starting with the manager O'Neal who handled an overbooking situation on our arrival with the utmost professionalism, courtesy and generousity. Very friendly and courteous staff top to bottom!

3. Most surprising was the quality of the food. We are not big travelers or gourmet cooks by any account but we can say each of the meals were unique, interesting, healthy and all with great presentation. Breakfast probably the most tradtional, but lunch and particularly dinner had very much a local Caribbean flavor.

4. Having had the experience of a room on the hill our first night and then moving to the ocean front room with pool for the rest of our stay I think it is fair to say there probably aren't any "bad rooms" in the resort. The views in all directions are spectacular. Never used the AC and the ceiling fan was perfect for comfort.

5. The beach and the views are all what you see in all the photos on this site and the Cocobay site with the weather being consistently warm and sunny. Truely a slice of paradise!

6. I read a lot about bugs in my pre-trip homework. Not sure if February is the off season for bugs but I came away without a bite and my sweetheart with only a few. We came "loaded for bear" with some serious bug sprays but they never came out of the bag. The staff tells us the bugs are there so travel prepared.

7. We are pleasantly surprised by the cost of items we did buy at the resort. Not what we would consider at all expensive.(Water/gifts)

8. We aren't big drinkers but what we had was very good and the bar staff was very personable. Nice having one of the staff drift down the beach with a tray of refreshments a couple of times a day.

9. The new pool is beautiful, nicely located next to the beach and has a bar.

10. The dinner on the beach where I proposed to my sweetheart of ten years was elegant and couldn't have been any more romantic......"Thank you O'Neal and our hostess Ronella!!!"

11. I need to say that the locals on the beach who offered jet ski, horse back riding and other activities really did add to the great experience of staying at this resort. Good folks who aimed to please and priced reasonably.

Lastly, this was my first trip to the Caribbean and was not totally sure of what to expect, but I can say we found both the resort and locals we encountered to be very "American friendly" and accomodating. The value was excellent and the resort truely did exceed our expectations!

Room Tip: Ocean front with the pool is nice, but it looks like all rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TBHGloucesterMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,398
    466
    133
    58
    59
See reviews for
84
1,659
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (631)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

This resort is a visual goldmine. For the week that my wife and I were at Cocobay Resort, we never got tired of the views.

Our cottage was on the second tier -not right on the beach, but our ocean view was fantastic. Awakening to the Caribbean Sea is quite a treat. The way this resort is a laid out is a stroke of architectural and landscape genius.

This place is quiet other than the ocean waves and the sounds of nature. That's the way we like it. By the smiles of other guests we encountered daily, I think everyone was really into the ambiance, great service and terrific food. I can't remember a time when we've met so many good natured people. The friendliness of the staff seemed to rub off on the guests.

This was the healthiest we've ever eaten on a trip. The omelettes in the morning, the chicken and fish dishes at lunch, and the tremendous ala carte menu for dinner.

The infinity pools were great, but we preferred the awesome Little Ffreyes beach. There were a couple of days when the water was the most beautiful shade of blue. Cocobay has really thought of everything for a great Caribbean vacation.

Room Tip: Choose a seaview room. It is worth the price and a definite value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank timbuck2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
210 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We have just returned from 5 nights at Cocobay. The setting is absolutely stunning -- you can watch the sun set from their new-ish infinity pool. The resort is quiet, very laid back and isolated, which is fine if you’re looking to just plant yourself in a chaise lounge and fry. The resort is a $US20 taxi ride to St. John’s (not much going on there) or $US40 to English Harbor (Nelson Dockyards) which is well worth seeing. We ditched the taxis and took the bus, $US1.50 each way.

We found the cabins quaint, but the place needs a refresh as it’s a bit tired. Most of our shower water drained out over the balcony. I also pinched the bottom of my feet walking across the plank flooring as the boards flex a bit. Not a big deal, but not 4-star either.

The resort is “all inclusive” but much of their dinner menu items are offered at a surcharge: average $US13 for a starter and $US23 for the mains. Bar (wine) selections are also quite limited. The sandwiches at the pool bar were exceptional. The dinners were quite good (some talent in that kitchen!) my only wish is that entrees made it to the table hot. Vincia makes a wonderful Piña Colada!

Service was efficient, but not all that friendly. I found the housekeeping staff to be more welcoming than many servers in the dining room. The Sunset Pool Bar staff (Vincia) and the front desk (Melissa, et al.) were friendly and service driven, although some important things fell through the cracks. On our departure day our 6:00 AM wake-up call never came (thankfully I set the alarm on my BlackBerry) and our arranged taxi didn’t show up …we made our flight thanks to Conrad, the grounds keeper, who came to our rescue driving us to the airport in his personal vehicle.

In conclusion it was nice, but I’ve been to a lot of very nice and wouldn’t rush back here or Antigua for that matter.

Room Tip: Cabins with sunset view are warmer and don't benefit from the breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CocobayGM, General Manager at Cocobay Resort, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Thank you for sharing a review of your recent Cocobay visit. We are truly sorry that we did not meet all of your expectations and your constructive criticisms were welcomed.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for not making your departure as efficient as it should have been. It is normally a well organized and timely arranged process but somehow we disappointed you. We sincerely regret that this occurred.

We however, hope that you will consider visiting again sometime in the future.

O'Neal
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

We are just back from 5 nights at Cocobay. We enjoyed every minute! The location is beautiful and the resort is quiet and laid back, which was exactly what we were looking for. The staff are wonderful. Melissa, the Concierge, was great. She seems to always have a handle on everything! Cicily made us feel like family! She is so genuine and sweet. O'Neal, the manager, was always available, though we certainly didn't have a single issue. Our room was gorgeous, romantic and clean. We had an ocean front room. Which I would recommend. Even if the plunge pool is a bit cool, which didn't stop my fiance from using it daily, the view is totally worth it. We enjoyed the food very much. Sonia, who cooks at breakfast and lunch is terrific and just a delight. The drinks were very tasty.
It is not a 5 star resort. It isn't meant to be. It's like a boutique hotel. It's quiet and quaint. I'll take it over a "Sandels" anytime! The folks at "Sandels" wouldn't have known my name and most of the staff at this resort made it a point to know it.
Now...for the bugs. There are bugs. Not in the cottage, of course. But, I was bitten a fair amount. My fiance, not at all. (I must be sweeter than he!) I wore no perfume, unscented sunscreen and bug spray. None of it seemed to deter them. And a little hint, none of the topical treatments seemed to help. Benedryl, orally, is the only thing that stops the itch. Luckly, it's very effective. I get bitten all the time in the summer at our house on the Chesapeake Bay, as well. Anytime you have water, warmth, and woods, you will have bugs. Cocobay sprayed while we were there. There is only so much they can do. It's worth it.
We will be heading back to there ASAP!

Room Tip: The oceanfront cottage is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kab2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

The hotel is lovely.... the staff are excellent, the food was excellent, the room was lovely... we couldn't fault anything as such....!! We had more rain than we expected, which meant the rooms being cottages meant that you heard the rain and the wind, and we also had some sort of animal on the roof making noises.... so even though the cottages are lovely, you do feel that you are one with nature! therefore luckily all we were having to do during the day is sleep!! the insect bites were a problem, all the insect repellant we bought from home made no difference! buy the stuff in the shop in the hotel, or if you get bitten rub in gin and lime, we heard that made a difference. The sand flies are the problem and in the end we stayed by the pool which helped. The hotel was so relaxing, I think one of the main reasons was the lack of children and with 2 pools and a beach, you never had a problem to find somewhere to go! We had no hot water one night, and as soon I told the hotel they were on it and fixed by the next day. We used the courtsey room without a problem, you have to book it on the day of departure, quite a strange set up - a hut with a shower that is looking out to sea!! but perfect for what you need! all in all a great place, had we had no rain and no bugs then it would have been perfect! We had a standard room which had a ceiling fan, we really didn't need air con and most nights turned off the ceiling fan!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near to reception, we had room 42 and we were right at the other end of the resort, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluewaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bolans
14.4 km away
Blue Waters Antigua
Blue Waters Antigua
#3 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
2.7 km away
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
#1 of 1 in Turners Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
3.5 km away
Hermitage Bay
Hermitage Bay
#2 of 7 in Saint Mary's
5.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Galley Bay Resort
Galley Bay Resort
#1 of 16 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,062 reviews
0.9 km away
COCOS Hotel Antigua
COCOS Hotel Antigua
#1 of 2 in Jolly Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
22.9 km away
The Verandah Resort & Spa
The Verandah Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Saint Philip
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocobay Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocobay Resort

Property: Cocobay Resort
Address: Valley Church, Bolans, Saint Mary's 431, Antigua
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary's > Bolans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bolans
Price range (per night): ₹ 29,047 - ₹ 64,435
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocobay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Antigua's most romantic all-inclusive resort - Cocobay is a colorful collection of pastel cottages crowning a breezy hillside undulating down to two white-sand beaches and miles of turquoise Caribbean Sea. Blessed with some of the most dramatic ocean views on the island, we cater to couples seeking a romantic getaway in a quaint, natural setting. Guests can choose from 57 private, authentic, Caribbean cottages and 4 plantation houses each enjoying a private verandah with striking sea views and custom designed wooden furniture. The premium pool cottages provide the very best oceanfront locations, and other amenities such as: private plunge pool, more spacious interior including extra seating area, air conditioning, bathrobes and other extra bathroom amenities, private balcony with adirondack chairs and hammock, ceiling fan, mini fridge, shower, hair dryer, espresso coffee machine, iron & ironing board, king size bed with pillowtop mattresses and high thread count 100% Egyptian cotton sheets, in-room safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Cocobay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocobay Hotel Bolans
Coco Bay Antigua
Cocobay Antigua
Cocobay Hotel Antigua
Cocobay Resort Antigua/Bolans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing