We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect Tuscan Villa”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Saturnia, Manciano, Province of Grosseto, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Ruthjacks...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect Tuscan Villa”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I booked this villa a year ago for a large family holiday to celebrate a big birthday. Having looked forward to it for so long I was sure something would be disappointing. But, five days into our stay there is nothing to criticise. This place is heaven!

The villa is spacious and beautifully decorated. There are four bedrooms upstairs and a fifth has it's own entrance through french doors around the corner. Each room has an en suite meaning everyone in the group can escape into their room for a little peace and quiet, and no negotiations over shower times.

There is a beautiful veranda where we have enjoyed our meals with views for miles over the surrounding countryside. Tonight we are going to fire up the bbq for the first time.

The pool is a good size and enjoys a wonderful position on the hillside so you can look out over the surrounding olive groves, vineyards and crops. The pool isn't heated though so be prepared for a bit of acclimatising as you climb in - I find jumping in the best way! Also, if you are travelling with young children it's good to know the pool is completely fenced in.

A previous review mentions that the wifi isn't great. A new antenna was installed yesterday and now we have a strong, fast internet connection throughout the villa. Great news as I need to work while I am here.

Finally, the owners live next door and couldn't be more helpful. They arranged a wine tasting trip for us yesterday that was wonderful and are now helping us arranging another. They are helpful without being intrusive. Paola also cooked us a magnificent meal on our second night.

All-in-all this is proving to be fantastic accommodation that I would definitely recommend. Just be aware that it's position just off a road outside of town means you cannot walk anywhere, be prepared to jump in the car if you need to go anywhere.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofieA777
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
“Wonderful house and garden!”
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We loved it! The house is great for and grand family with rooms with own bathroom, great for families with small children.
The garden and the social area worked super and we really enjoyed it.
The one thing we missed was smaller roads/pathways for walks and running…. Other then that, perfect!

Date of stay: October 2014
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poetscan
white rock bc
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Stay in Paradise”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Spent a month in this beautifully renovated Tuscan farmhouse in Maremma, near the hot springs at Saturnia. We were three seniors travelling from Canada, joined for part of our stay by two friends from the UK and another from Tunisia. Our hosts Paola and Pino took great care to make sure that we were happy - and indeed we were! They helped us find parking for a hard to reach restaurant in Manciano, where we went to celebrate one friend's 65th, and gave us a wonderful Tuscan lunch, of one delectable course after another.

The house itself is beautifully situated, on a hill looking out over the countryside and the view from the pool is equally gorgeous. This is a farmhouse that is very comfortable, furnished simply and beautifully , and the kitchen in particular is very well equipped. We made some great meals and found both the long table on the covered terrace and the traditional dining room great places for long dinners over good food and wonderful local Maremman wines.

The only complaint we had, apart from the mosquitoes that went for some of us but left the others quite alone, was the sadly inadequate WiFi. We joked that two chairs outside the living room door, the only place where the signal was consistent, were our "Internet cafe" and as several of us had pressing needs to communicate and we were all trying to contribute to a Facebook page recording our holiday, the weak and sometimes non-existent signal was very disappointing.

In spite of the WiFi, however, we had a wonderful time and recommend this house to anyone looking for a unique and beautiful piece of Paradise.

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the pool
Liked least: poor WiFi
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frizzyjp
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing, beautiful, luxurious + wonderful & hospitable owners”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in October 2013

We had the most incredible, unforgettable time here. We decided to treat ourselves to this amazing villa as a 40th birthday present and it surpassed expectations! We watched the sun set and moon rise with the beautiful mountain backdrop every evening from the garden - a real Tuscan paradise.

After LOTS of research I chose this farmhouse, not only because of it's beauty both within & without, but because lovely quiet beaches, ancient hilltop towns and the local hot springs are all a short drive away.

This was our little slice of Tuscan paradise! The farmhouse was beautifully and tastefully renovated and furnished. Every bedroom had very comfortable mattresses, beautiful furnishings & en suites and amazing countryside views. The livingroom, dining area and kitchen were all comfortable and spacious, with lots of space outside to take in the incredible surroundings.

During our stay in late October it was still very hot. Normally the pool is drained by then, but we asked the lovely Paola & Pino if we could have it and it was rather 'fresh', so we didn't use it as much as we would have in summer. However, October was still very hot and sunny and there were very few mosquitoes.

Our son was scared and very nervous around dogs before we went, but Latte changed all that! Paola and Pino stay close by, they are very welcoming and helpful, bringing you local herbs, olive oil and fruit from their farm to taste and recommending local places to visit, but they are also discrete and busy with their farm, so will happily leave you to relax.

Tip: Please ask Paola to book you a table at their friends restaurant in Manciano - the food is divine, but you must book as it is very popular, even mid-week off season!!

This holiday was an extravagance for us, but was more than worth it! We had always wanted to visit the REAL Tuscany and we sincerely hope to return to Villa Giulia one day. Thank you Pino & Paola for an unforgettable stay.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Impossible to choose - everything!
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillesen
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
“Fantastic house, pool and personal hospitality”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We, three families with teenagers, spend one week enjoying the hospitality of Paola and Pino . The house is great and we all enjoyed the pool cooling of the warm Italian summer.

The pool area was equipped with sun beds and parasoll enough for all guests. The patio with roof was large enough for all of us, and we had all our meals there outside.

The luxury of starting each day with few fresh apricots from a tree is hard to compete with.

We all truly recommend Villa Giulia to all who looks for a great Tuscany relaxing vacation.

The Gillesen Family

Date of stay: July 2014
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.