We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great base for Tuscany!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fattoria di Cavaglioni
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This farmhouse is the perfect base for time in Tuscany - would recommend a car or scooter rental. We didn't have a car but the bus system was sufficient (except for on Sundays, but arriving on a Sunday was our own fault - Taxi from Siena was about 30 euros). Service was great - I cannot think of one way which we could have been more annoying. We arrived earlier than expected, asked a multitude of questions, requested bookings and checked out at an early hour... through it all the service was patient, accurate and simply amazing. Rooms spacious. Kitchen clean with all the necessities for a simple meal (no microwave). Sunsets from the balcony overlook the countryside - but don't forget bug spray!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDN24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2011

Great place, was recommended it by a friend and so glad we went. Was great to be so close to Siena yet be in the quieter country part surrounded by beatuiful fields and views with a pool and cheap wine from their own winery. I would recommend a car but up to you.

Room Tip: As far as I know all rooms have a great view, they are basic but clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macattack_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

This guesthouse run by a lovely family is set in the most beautiful Tuscan countryside surroundings and makes for a very relaxing stay. Very clean, huge rooms with loads of character, common rooms, kitchen, balcony. Had an amazing stay here and if I was ever to return to Siena I would not hesitate to stay here again. It is not located in central Siena and was a little tricky to find but we liked the fact that it was a bit out of the way so it was quiet and we felt like we were really experiencing life in Italy, rather than life as a tourist. Would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liv l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

i loved this hostel. my husband loved it a little less since he prefers things a bit more luxurious. It is a bit out of Siena, quiet town, unbelievable views from our window, and a kind hostess. we really loved the town of Siena, and the bus was very reliable in getting us into town. the rooms are not as clean as hotels, but nothing terrible. the beds are hostel beds, and we used our own towels (we were back packing so we had those small, quick dry towels) but the towels looked okay. you are a little more on your own here, but that can be nice. a very nice hostel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matt_bekah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed at Fattoria from June 5 to 9 and used it as a base to tour the smaller towns as well as wine country. We had arranged horseback riding (for her) and Italian cooking lessons (for both of us) on June 6 to celebrate Kathleen's b'day. I can rightly say it was the highlight of our month long stay in Italy. Berenice was always friendly and helpful and translated for the cooking lessons. The room was great and there was good common space that allow us to meet and get to know other guests. We would recommend it to anyone visiting Tuscany.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanandkathleen4951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Rocco a Pilli hotels
1.3 km away
Tenuta la Santissima
Tenuta la Santissima
#1 of 2 in San Rocco a Pilli
281 reviews
1.2 km away
Agriturismo Siena Rinidia Bio
Agriturismo Siena Rinidia Bio
#1 of 5 in San Rocco a Pilli
100 reviews
1.4 km away
Agriturismo Podere Il Moro
Agriturismo Podere Il Moro
#5 of 5 in San Rocco a Pilli
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Agriturismo Montioni
Agriturismo Montioni
#4 of 5 in San Rocco a Pilli
6 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Fattoria di Cavaglioni? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria di Cavaglioni

Address: Via del Poggetto 1, 53018 San Rocco a Pilli, Sovicille, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Sovicille > San Rocco a Pilli
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in San Rocco a Pilli
Price Range: ₹ 4,783 - ₹ 13,010 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing