We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
132
14
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
132
14
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wilderness safaris the river game drives the managers amazing safari carbon footprint family room hear hippos an abundance namibia luxury lion afternoon sightings sundowners laura bush
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2019

We stayed at King's Pool just a few weeks after the renovation. The camp and rooms are stunning. The managers, Anton and Laura are super attentive and always seem to be around to offer advice or help with anything. In fact all the staff are so friendly and helpful, informal but at the same time really professional and they don't miss a beat (Ronelle in particular !). The guides are also really knowledgable and have so many stories to keep you entertained. The food is amazing too and the chef Shane is often popping into the dining room to chat to guests. The camp has such a warm and friendly family feel to it, we couldn't rate this camp any higher !

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattfaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilderness_Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris King's Pool Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2019

Dear mattfaddy,

Thank you for the wonderful review, we are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your time with us and will be sure to pass along your kind words to Ronelle, Anton and all the amazing staff in camp. We hope you have many great photos of all your fond memories and hope you will visit us again soon.

Bush regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2019 via mobile

We traveled to Botswana last year and it was amazing! Our guide, Bobby was great! We were able to get extremely close to elephants, Hippos, baboons, giraffes, lions, leopards, sable, warthogs and a lot of other animals. The food was fantastic. The lodging was great. 5 star luxury in the middle of Botswana. We will definitely be back to visit this beautiful place.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Keith1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilderness_Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris King's Pool Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2019

Dear Keith1208,

Closed for renovations earlier this year, our much-loved King's Pool has undergone a beautiful transformation. The highlight of the camp’s position is without a doubt its proximity to the handsome oxbow lagoon where any number of wildlife, from aquatic birds to hippo, elephant and basking crocodiles, can be seen.

We sincerely hope you will come back soon to experience the new twist we have added to the legendary King's Pool.

Bush regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

This was our 17th safari camp in the last eight years and we ranked it as one of the better ones. Bobby, our guide was first rate and the stall was welcoming and accommodating. Lots of wildlife, cats and elephants. The evening boat safari was special and enjoyed photographing from the hide.
Only negative was a waitress GG who was not very friendly.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank russell s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilderness_Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris King's Pool Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Dear Russell,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are glad to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us - especially the evening boat Safari. It is often a refreshing change to experience the bush from this angle.

Bush regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

As others have noted, this is a luxury camp, beautifully situated, and with good wildlife viewing. Our guide, MP, was great at tracking down game - especially the lions which we saw more than once - as well as explaining what we were seeing. Our cabin, #1, was great - spacious, comfortable, and well-appointed with nice views of the water (and occasional wildlife outside), albeit a bit far from the main lounge and restaurant .[A friend who was with us had a squirrel invade her cabin, but they readily moved her to another while they fixed the problem.] Food was fabulous, and entertainment provided by staff one night was especially memorable (and we even got up and joined them, which we almost never do). We felt well cared for and pampered throughout our stay and this was definitely our favorite of the two camps we visited in Botswana.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank WandereringWayfarers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris King's Pool Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear WandereringWayfarers,

A luxurious and historic safari base in the middle of Africa’s highest density of elephants, Thank you for the amazing review, we are delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will visit again soon.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

Unfortunately, I cannot comment to much on the game viewing at Kings Pool as my husband was feeling quite unwell when we arrived and we were transferred out to hospital in Jo’burg the next morning. But but I do believe from the lion that was only meters from my deck, the warthog family that also fossicked around outside my room and the grunting of the hippos, should I been able to stay here for the three nights as planned, the sightings would have been everything (and more than I hoped for!)
Perhaps more reassuring to my fellow intrepid travellers who truly step out into the wilds of Africa, is just how amazingly well the staff of Kings Pool and Wilderness Safaris looked after me and my hubby when hubby got acutely ill just after we arrived. Hubby deteriorated to become very ill and needed to be transferred out to Hospital in Jo’burg the following morning.
They really couldn’t have done anymore or looked after us any better!! We are both health professionals... so well qualified to judge. From the regular visits to our suite by the medics, to the contact with medical and general support staff offsite, the thoughtful Hugs and compassionate touch when I was feeling so scared and vulnerable, and the follow up for several days when I was visiting Rob in hospital everyday...I cannot thank everyone enough. (As I write this I am chiding myself for not having written this earlier, my apologies.)
The facilities looked amazing and I am disappointed I could not have experienced what I believe from this short exposure would have been nothing short of exceptional. I am also disappointed to note you are closed for refurbishments when we are planning our next Safari in April 2019...otherwise we would definitely have been back to Kings Pool.....next time!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank VickiB67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris King's Pool Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Vicki,

We hope Rob is now on the mend at that you are both happy and healthy at home. We will be sure to pass on all your beautiful words to our great team in camp as well as our wonderful After Hours Emergency team who handles all the behind the scenes details to ensure all our guests get only the best care and attention needed. We look forward to welcoming you back as soon as all the renovations are completed in 2019.

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews