We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
7
6
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
6
6
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

Came with the family to have dinner. We were 7 adults, 3 children, 1 baby. The food was very good. Good, typical, German food. The lady who served us, could have a little bit more of tact, when dealing with the customers (not super friendly). Overall, good food and ok service. (Good dry wine as well)

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank soyparaguayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2014

We came for one night at the worst time of year. It was pouring with rain, there was no snow and there was no chance of enjoy the outdoors.

I communicated via email to reception a half board rate that was good value. Unfortunately the correct date was missed in translation and we turned up a day earlier than expected. Luckily, as it was off season, this was not a problem. We also programmed the satellite navigation incorrectly so we arrived after dark.

The guest house is situated on the main road in Simonswald. There was a little traffic on the road, which petered out well before bedtime. In fact, we had a very peaceful nights sleep despite our rooms overlooking the road. The rooms are of good size and basically decorated. The bathroom is dated. There is an alpine theme in the two dining areas with an enclosed furnace than you can lean back on to warm yourselves up. There is also the ubiquitous cuckoo clock. Beer is on tap and very tasty. The food was simple, mountain fare. It was well prepared and served its purpose. We would have liked a little more invention with the pudding.

When we woke, we could see the silhouette of the Alps in front of you. You then take a deep breath in and you have been reminded why you came here. The breakfast is good, rather than exceptional. Check-out was straight forward and cards are accepted.

Next time, I'll visit when it is warmer.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level for a better mountain view.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Clerkenwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2014

We came in here one rainy afternoon and stayed for hours. When it finally stopped raining we went to change and then came back for a stunning evening meal. The staff were friendly and helpful and there was a cosy warm atmosphere. Free WiFi, cheap beer could have stayed all day- oh we did!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kateandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Traveling by motorcycle we ended up in this Hotel and were pleasantly surprised by the service. The entourage is classic and simple and VERY good. The rooms are spacious and - although sometimes a little outdated - clean and adequate.
Breakfast was extensive and excellent.

Room Tip: 1) cross the road and take a stroll by the river. very relaxing. 2) get a REAR room. the FRONT ones are on the roadside and the first trucks start riding at 5am.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob_Zelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews