We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“MY MOST RELAXING AND WELL CARED FOR VACATION EVER”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front view of Southern Marsh
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Front view of Southern Marsh
Spacious living room
Living room
Living room with TV and Blu-ray player
Dining area
Dining area - seats up to 8 people
Large kitchen
Kitchen
Patio off kitchen
Master bedroom with king bed
Master bedroom with full ensuite bath
Master bedroom
2nd bedroom - can be king bed or twins
2nd bedroom has large closets
3rd bedroom - can be king bed or twins
3rd bedroom
Main 2nd floor bathroom
Main 2nd floor bathroom
4th bedroom (main floor) and ensuite bathroom
4th bedroom has a double bed
Lovely Dover Beach is less than a 5 minute walk from Southern Marsh
A monkey family often visits to snack on our bananas
Our local beaches are favourite nesting areas for sea turtles
Aerial view - red arrow (top right) points to house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Dover, Christ Church Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AnnieR100...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“MY MOST RELAXING AND WELL CARED FOR VACATION EVER”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

It's hard to put into words how much I love staying at Southern Marsh. The home is so very well appointed and so welcoming that your troubles just melt away the minute you arrive. There is just the best tropical breeze that flows through the house from front to back it feels like heaven inside and out. One block from one of the best beaches on the island and the restaurants, shops and atmosphere are second to none. While there we went on the Cool Runnings outing to swim with the sea turtles (not to be missed) and ate some of the best meals in great restaurants. We also experienced the ambiance of a great little local bar at the end of the street called Salt Ashe or Tyrone's on the Beach.
Relax, have a couple of Banks beers and soak up the Barbados "Island Time" lifestyle.
Southern Marsh will wrap you in relaxing comfort and style. I love it and will definitely be going back again and again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The proximity to the beach and great restaurants and the air conditioning for great sleeping.
Liked least: Can't think of a thing.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TammyK
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

My family of seven stayed here from Dec14-28. We wanted for nothing as it had everything! The smallest thing that you could think of could be found here. Southern Marsh was very tastefully decorated, a style to suit all. The beds were comfortable. The ac was great. I could go on and on. The location is perfect. So close to eating out and the beach. The back deck was used by us a lot, lots of chairs and space. The units caretakers are amazing and are there for whatever your need may be and are great to hang out with. We went to the fish fry and to Salt Ash BBQ with them. He owns David's Taxi service with two very clean ten sweater vans if you are travelling in a large group. So all that being said you need look no farther as this place has it it all!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2015
Thanks for the wonderful review Tammy!! You and your family were fabulous guests and we are happy you all enjoyed your Barbados vacation. Come back again soon!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda L...
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautifully spacious home, close to an amazing beach & all amenities!”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We traveled to Barbados for the first time with friends and stayed at Southern Marsh. The location is perfect for a variety of reasons.

Located in the St. Lawrence Gap, this new half-double home with four bedrooms, and three bathrooms is beautifully furnished and decorated. The interior is super clean and welcoming and the ceramic and hardwood floors throughout are fantastic. We felt right at home, right away and there was plenty of space for all seven of us without ever feeling cramped.

The location of the home is great whether you want to spend the day at Dover Beach (and if you forget something, walking back isn't so far it's a hassle), check out the Gap (a hub for great food and night life) or walk a few blocks to the main strip to catch the bus or a ZR (taxi-bus). There is also a market/convenience store at the end of the street which is great for picking up a snack, beer, fruit, mac-pie, donuts, frozen treats, toiletries, drinks, postcards and more--it was a daily stop for us!

I especially liked the back patio for the house, we would often sit outside when we got home after dinner, chatting. There are several patio chairs and a table, so you could dine al fresco if you wanted, as well.

I would definitely recommend this to anyone visiting Barbados--the location is perfect, there is plenty to do and see within walking distance and it's in a great part of town. Thanks Southern Marsh for a great spot to stay during our vacation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, open space, great furniture, close to the beach & free wifi!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnieR100...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THE PERFECT STAY IN THE PERFECT PLACE.”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in March 2013

Everything in this home is First Class!! The location is amazingly close to everything you could possibly want. As a matter of fact I'm going back in November. Can't wait.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The proximity to the beach and great restaurants.
Liked least: The fact that I had to leave so soon.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zullster
Drammen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home in Barbados”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were 4 friends who stayed at Southern Marsh for two weeks in june/july and we had a fantastic stay. The location is perfect in a quiet neighborhood yet just a short walk from the Gap where you will find bars and restaurants. Also just 5 minutes away is one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever been to, Dover Beach.

We spent our days with both relaxation and adventure and Southern Marsh was a perfect base. We rented a car throughout most of our stay which was delivered and fetched from the house by the rental agency. The house has its own parking spot. The mornings and evenings we would often spend at the patio playing cards, listening to music and having a few beers. A couple of times we had a visit from a small monkey family Unfortunately they weren't as interested in us as we were in them and went on their way quite quickly.

Sandy was very helpful with planning our trip answering our questions when we had them. She also organized pickup on arrival and departure day. She made sure we had the dream trip we hoped for. We will definitely recommend Southern Marsh to anyone wanting to visit Barbados. We hope to come again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The standard of the house and its location.
Liked least: We have nothing negative to say about the property.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing