We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dover Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 755
US$ 660
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Infinity on the Beach(Dover)(Great Value!)
US$ 137
US$ 101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southern Palms(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
US$ 213
US$ 166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 196/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Divi Southwinds Beach Resort(Christ Church Parish)
US$ 196
US$ 189
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Time Out Hotel(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
US$ 119
US$ 111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rostrevor Hotel(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
US$ 119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Gap Hotel(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
US$ 142
US$ 112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ocean Two Resort & Residences(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
US$ 361
US$ 178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 265/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Melbourne Inn @ Car Rentals(Christ Church Parish)
US$ 71
US$ 66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 75/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bougainvillea Barbados(Christ Church Parish)(Great Value!)
US$ 349
US$ 239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (768)
Filter reviews
768 results
Traveller rating
243
332
126
38
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
332
126
38
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe gapst lawrence gapgarden viewsun deckmain buildinghousekeeping staffbars and restaurantsrum punch partythe activities deskmin walkwithin easy walking distancesmall hotelself cateringconvenience storefriendly hotelnight lifefriday night
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 768 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was always pleased with the service and friendliness of all staff. The rooms are well cleaned and the property is in a good location. A great value for the price. I will definitely return to Dover Beach Hotel on my next trip to Barbados!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room... sunsets and sunrises to see!
Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 981kamilahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVERIL B, Guest Relations Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We wish to express our thanks for choosing Dover Beach Hotel and for giving us the opportunity to host you on this trip. We really value and appreciate your comments and feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Barbados.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. The garden view room, which we booked online looked nothing like the actual room we got when we got to the hotel-not to mention the hot water faucet was non-functional and noise coming from the adjoining room. We were upgraged to another room at no charge.
Not happy with the tours. Hotel staff Mary kept flipflopping on the departure times-9am was changed to 8:30am and then back to 9am again-not professional.According to Mary, hotel staff, the Harrison Cave tour was suppose to be a 4 hour tour, it lasted for only 35 mins . We left the hotel at 9:30 and was back by11:30. The second tour was an island tour. My husband and I were the only ones on the bus. Our driver made several comments during the tour, which made us as visitors rather uncomfortable. We sensed that he was rather unhappy with taking just 2 people on the tour. We also found him to rather unaccomodating and unprofessional as well.
Mr. Anderson Lawrence who took us to the Harrison cave tour, also took us to the airport when we checked out the hotel. Mr. Anderson quoted a price of US20.00 for the trip from the Hotel to the airport. However on the way to the airport, Mr. Anderson informed us that we will be charged US25.00 and not US20.00, which he originally agreed to. Huge disappointed, huge turn off.

Room Tip: Choose Garden View
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Eugene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVERIL B, Guest Relations Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Eugene,

We thank you for sharing your experiences with us by providing this feedback. We apologise for the mix up with the tours and we will investigate this to determine the root of the problem. We are sorry to learn about the inconsistency regarding the Taxi Driver and we will also investigate. Taxi Drivers are independent operators outside of the hotel and as such will likely take longer to investigate. Notwithstanding these issues, we are pleased that generally speaking, you enjoyed our hotel and our staff. We certainly hope that this will outweigh the disappointments and that we will have the opportunity to host you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

I truly hate giving bad reviews but this wasn’t a good hotel to stay at. Our goal was to come in a day early because we had plans to stay at Sandals for a week. We wanted to experience Sandals way earlier than check in. So getting another hotel the day before was the best option for us.

When we arrived I couldn’t wait to rest. Our plane was delayed due to rain and we were tired. The receptionist was really nice. The staff was amazing. But the rooms weren’t so great. When we entered it smelled musty. Then, the beds were twin beds put together. Being newly married we weren’t happy but whatever it was for one night. We felt like Lucy and Ricky with those beds.

We decided to go and get something to eat and the restaurant. Now the restaurant food was really good and again the staff was great. The prices were a little expensive though. We spent $40 USD for French fries, fish cakes, and steak. The front desk gave us tickets for two free fruit punch which was delicious. The glasses were so small though and we wished it were larger. But thank you for the free fruit punch.

Next, we went back to the room and I decided to take a shower. Oh my...big mistake. As I walked to the shower the flower was wet due to the ceiling leaking and the smell was still musty in the room. The towels were semi dirty and the bathroom was nasty to us.

Let me just say we couldn’t wait to leave early at around 7am. We jetted out of there and walked to Sandals which was only a New York city block away. No need to take a taxi. You can walk it and it is safe.

So to recap the staff was amazing. The food was good but the rooms in our opinion were horrible and need to be updated and cleaned a little bit better. Since we were only staying a few ours it was bearable but anything longer no way. We actually needed another hotel for the end of our trip and we definitely chose another hotel.

Sorry Dover Beach Hotel...thought it would be better based on previous reviews but it wasn’t.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Sheryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVERIL B, Guest Relations Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sheryl,

We appreciate your feedback and value your comments. Essentially you booked Sandals which is a luxury resort and once you align Dover Beach with that luxury resort, essentially it is like comparing apples to oranges and this could have had some effect on your expectations.
It seems that every aspect of your experience with us was good with the exception of our rooms, which did not measure up to what you envisioned. We are a small 3-star hotel and we have never suggested in any way that we are more than what we offer. We certainly provide excellent service and that makes the difference to most o four guests. We apologise that the room appeared "musty". This a very much a deviation from the norm as we do have a reputation for having very clean rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

This hotel has nice rooms, very clean and comfortable. The rooms were cleaned every day staff very friendly. Right on the beach. Lower end of the Gap which was ok for us. Could stroll down to the othet end of Gap. Lots of places to eat, small supermarket and ATM down the road not too far. Small friendly bar and restaurant. Would stay again. The only thing I found was that if using phone in room for local calls their was a small charge when I was checking out, which I have never had staying at other hotels on the island, as local calls are free on the island so dont know why there was a charge.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sc0rpi0247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVERIL B, Guest Relations Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for choosing Dover Beach Hotel and for providing this feedback, which we really value. It's an honour to be recognised in the way you described and we really happy that we were able to meet your expectations to the extent that we did. We regret the confusion about the charges for local calls. This should have been made clear upon check-in.

We look forward to hosting you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

Dover Beach Hotel is a very well run and pleasant place to stay a week in Barbados. Our room was spacious and very clean with the usual facilities so we did not go without the Earl Grey tea that matters. The beach bar restaurant is good but the location is fantastic.
A walk down the St Lawrence Gap is a special way to see the Island, a charity cricket match at a very local ground had the Captain of the West indies bowling extremely gently to an excited audience. The area is very safe and feels welcoming.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hightable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVERIL B, Guest Relations Manager at Dover Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you for staying with us and for this wonderful feedback. It was an honour to host you and your spouse and we are really delighted that you had the opportunity to take advantage of our wonderful location, which allows easy access to St Lawrence Gap but still keep you away from the "noise" of the Gap. The local cricket match on the Dover playing field was clearly an added bonus for you. Guests often happen upon these types of surprises often in the Gap. We certainly enjoyed your company and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews