We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,919)
Filter reviews
2,920 results
Traveller rating
1,503
912
307
122
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,503
912
307
122
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain sam crystal cove waterfront restaurant kids club a la carte water sports chelonia restaurant ice cream parlour rum punch great holiday evening entertainment dress code sister hotel boogie boarding jet ski all inclusive resort red flag
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 2,920 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

Booked as a luxury holiday and fell well short , just completed long and arduous complaint with Virgin which eventually went to arbitration with ABTA, we were awarded £1350, reduced we didn’t complain loudly enough to a a Virgin Rep conspicuous by her absence. This hotel is dirty, tired and absolutely not worth the price asked and I would advise not to book. Restaurants are not open every evening,. Food was mostly awful and if you like birds hopping all over you’re food and drinking from your glass then use the open air restaurants, only one restaurant was worthy of the name when it was open and we are not ‘foodies’. Bathroom was not fit for animals, let alone human use and we would never, ever go back to this hotel, Barbados, or use Virgin again based on this experience. if you do complain make sure you get confirmation of your complaint in writing or they will deny you ever made one.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
16  Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Guest Relations at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Dear Keith D,

Thank you for granting us the opportunity to host you recently at Turtle Beach. We can only hope that you were able to relax on our beautiful stretch of white sand beach and soak up some famous Bajan sunshine whilst you were on holiday with us. Perhaps you even had the opportunity to partake in our complimentary water sports with Captain Sam or indulge in endless sweet treats at the Ice Cream Parlour.

However, to read comments as negative as yours makes us terribly disappointed. We wish to issue you our deepest condolences for the instances that you have described, as this is not the typical experience guests at our resort experience. We are very sorry that you feel our resort was not worth the price and that you were disappointed with our facilities and food. At Elegant Hotels, we take pride in providing our guests with high standards of service in a comfortable and enjoyable environment, and it seems that we have failed to do so on this occasion. Clearly, this was not the holiday that you were anticipating and we sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations.

We wish you all the very best in the future and we hope you will consider staying with us again, as we are confident we can provide a better experience.

Warmest Regards,
Maggie L.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

We stayed at Turtle beach for 2 weeks in March and it was by far the best holiday we have had. Accommodation was great..(humungous bed)... loved the food and probably ate too much. Ice cream shop and coffee shop were a great idea (all included) and we made good use of both. The staff were fantastic, including the great Capt Sam and Dario on the beach, all the waitresses especially Joy and FBI agent Dionne, and Maradonna who kept us hydrated all day with fruit and drinks. Renewed our wedding vows on the beach and Sophia and Chanel were so helpful sorting it all out for us.Fab cake... :-)
Definitely going back soon as we can.....Dave and Sandy 314

Room Tip: 314 had a great view of pool and beach / palms...
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Dave S,

Congratulations on your renewal of vows! Thank you for feedback and we appreciate you taking the time to submit a five star review. We are delighted to learn that you had a lovely two week holiday with us and that you found our accommodations, facilities and food to be of your liking. It is great that you were able to relish in all of our culinary offerings, including the sweet treats at Freeze Ice Cream Parlour. We are honored to note your satisfaction with our team and to know that they spoiled you throughout your time with us. Thank you for mentioning them by name, we will absolutely pass along the compliments.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Turtle Beach for another enjoyable stay in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Maggie L.
Social Media/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

Very disappointed by the Food Server.... Serving you with their Sad faces, unfriendly manner on 99% breakfast & Lunch crews... Evening server, hmm.. little bit better.. I have sent my concern to the front desk on the first day ( 7 days all inclusive meal plan) because I did not think we deserved such treatment! Other guests feel the same...
on the 7th day... some improvement but we need MORE....

Stayed: March 2018
4  Thank Taishan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear Taishan49,

Thanks for providing feedback of your time at Turtle Beach thus far. We are so sorry that you have not had a five-star experience, and that this was because of our faults. Please know that our goal is to always ensure every guest enjoys their time with us and that they are overwhelmed with our friendly Bajan hospitality. As noted in most reviews on this forum, the smiles from our staff come from their hearts and not just their teeth. We do apologize that this is not what you have witnessed whilst dining and we will do our best to rectify this situation swiftly.

Thank you for making Turtle Beach your destination of choice whilst in Barbados. We can only hope that you have enjoyed the many amenities at our resort, such as our complimentary water sports, sweet treats from the beach and pool ambassadors, and maybe even an ice cream or two at our Ice Cream Parlour. Hopefully your time with us has been full of sunshine and that you are otherwise relaxing and unwinding for the remainder of your time in paradise.

Warmest Regards,
Maggie L.
Social Media/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

To be honest I read almost all the reviews before I travel, and despite there being a few negative ones on TA, I chose Turtle Beach…and I could not have been happier with my choice. The hotel is only a short ride from the airport (50 Barbados dollars). On arrival we were given a warm welcome by Hermanius, check in was quick efficient with a rum or fruit punch drink. The one bedroom Ocean View suite was clean and spacious with a good sized verandah showing the view of the swimming pool and ocean beyond. The bedroom had the most comfy bed I have ever slept in, and the maid service is impeccable. I had requested a bed for my son as opposed to the sofa bed provided and the hotel oragnised this before our arrival. There is ample room in the lounge area for both the single bed and the sofa bed. With regards to storage there are loads! Two wardrobes and plenty of drawers. I liked the small dressing area outside of the large bathroom; however a vanity mirror and plug point would be a very useful addition. The usual safe, iron and board are housed within one wardrobe. As I said the bathroom is huge with a bath tub, and powerful shower over. Hot water always ready and extra towels available if you request them. No it’s not the plushest interior but are you really going on holiday to stay in the bathroom?! The staff are brilliant and we found nothing is too much trouble. I noticed previous reviews mentioned surly staff, I think we experienced this with maybe on one occasion, but hey everyone has an off day and overall I found the staff excellent. The room has the usual coffee maker but we asked for a kettle too and this was given to us. Mini fridge restocked daily with soft drinks and bottled water; the water bottles are also available to pick up from the waterfront bar. We used the Activities Desk to book all local excursions and the staff again was both helpful and informative. The evening entertainment started around 8pm and finished at 10pm, but the Gap is a short walk outside if you are looking for a late night
As you arrive at the beach to collect your beach towels, Captain Sam and his team are ready to organise your seats if you wish. Maradona from the bar regularly arrives with fresh fruit or drinks as you sit by the pool or on the beach. Be careful to put on your high factor as the breeze on the beach is deceptive! There are pools either side, one for adults and one for children plus a Jacuzzi for adults. During our stay we did not have problems finding seats either by the pool or beach. We enjoyed the buffet food and also ate one evening at the Waterfront Restaurant, if you have any dietary requirements let the chef know and he will try and organise something suitable for you. The bar stockes all branded drinks and the cocktail list…well I need to return to finish that off! In addition to the buffet and restaurants there is a coffee shop with delicious cakes and paninis…upstairs as you arrive from a day out stop and try the fishcakes and pumpkin balls they are divine!...The only place I didn’t try was the ice cream parlour, but as I plan to return, that will be on my list!. Any questions please ask…in my opinion it’s a lovely welcoming beach hotel…

Stayed: March 2018
11  Thank ryanbncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear ryanbncat,

It is very much appreciated the time taken to share such detailed review about your stay with us. Our guests' satisfaction is what matters the most and we work harder every day in order to please every need and to make everyone feel that Turtle Beach is the right place to relax and be pampered by us.

From the ideal South Coast beachfront location to the delicious cocktails and cuisine, it does sound like your time with us was idyllic. We are delighted that you found our accommodations to be of your liking, especially with the veranda overlooking our beautiful grounds. How wonderful it is that our beds were the most comfortable, ever! That must have helped you feel fully rested for the all of the exciting activities and excursions you partook in throughout the days. It is wonderful that our staff was friendly and helpful throughout your entire time with us especially with aiding you in your bookings. We are disappointed that you didn't leave room for dessert this holiday, but we are so glad that you are planning on returning so you can fully sample Freeze Ice Cream Parlour. We can only hope that this will be in the nearest future.

Warmest Regards,
Maggie L.
Social Media/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

This was our 3rd time in Barbados and yet again we all had a fantastic time.

Check-in was quick and we were in our family suites within 20 mins. After reading the reviews we were pleasantly surprised about the rooms. I think the negative trip advisor reviews are from people which have not experienced the rustic hotels of Barbados previously.

Food was of a good standard. We actually found the buffet was better quality food than the waterfront ala carte restaurant.

The hotel is great for all ages. We travelled with a 13, 5 & 3 year old and all had a great time.

We will 100% return to this hotel in the v near future.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pedroseal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews