We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turtle Beach Resort Barbados Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 December 2005

We went to Turtle Beach Resort, Dover Beach, Christchurch, Barbados in December 2005. We had a fabulous time and got married on 8 December. The hotel was superb could not fault it at all. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Hyacinth on reception was great. The waitresses were lovely in the three restaurants and we really enjoyed the food.

Rooms was very spacious, we were upgraded to an ocean view and had a great view of both the pool and the sea.

Entertainment was good quality - 5 evenings from the 7.
The wedding was so special. Very well organised and the Reverend Orlando Seale made it very romantic and special. The wedding organisers Rosalyn and Louisanna were great too - no complaints at all. Photos came out great and if you are thinking of going there to get married, the steel band is a great option to consider. Wedding flowers are great. The champagne breakfast in the room the morning after the wedding is lovely and we thoroughly enjoyed our gala dinner. We had lobster.
We went on the catamaran trip and also went to Harrisons caves and the wildlife park - can highly recommend.

We went with virgin and again no complaints. The chill and check in service can not be faulted.

We will hopefully be going back soon.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Felix1UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,591 - 2,595 of 2,784 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2005

After reading the wide range of reviews I was not sure what to expect- But let me share with you that this place is where dreams are fulfilled. A touch of Heaven on Earth. I too am in the business but have never experienced a service level this high!I am not surprised to read negative reviews given that some people are never pleased!!! My wife and I were very pleased and don't see that a resort could have been better. In fact the two weddings held while we were there gave us an opportunity to meet two very beautiful flower girls and some great people from England. Although we were there on business, we took time to enjoy the great pleasures that the island has to offer. Fantastic Resort- We are returning in 06 and cannot wait.

  • Stayed: December 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank rabigelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Surrey, UK
16
Reviewed 20 December 2005

Just returned from Turtle Beach Resort.

The hotel is looking quite good although there is some noise disturbance from the ongoing room refurbishments and the construction of the new beach bar.

I would be happy to recommend this hotel if it were not for the level of the food and service, which I'm afraid, was sub-standard.

In my opinion, the main dining restaurant had to few staff on duty and consequently the service was very poor (e.g. over an hour wait between starter and main courses). If the food had been good this could have been overlooked, but I'm afraid the food was very poor indeed.

The lunchtime meal also left a lot to be desired, being a buffet with very similar dishes each day.

On a good note the Italian restaurant on site was fairly good, although very difficult to get a booking to dine there!

Due to the above reasons I would not stay at this hotel again.

They can and should do better, as the other all inclusive hotel within the same group on Barbados, has a much better level of both service and food quality.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2005

I read the many reviews on Turtle Beach before we set off in early December and I was amazed at the extremes of reviews ranging all the way from 1 to a full 5 - and I must say that I was extremely apprehensive on arrival.

As it turns out the worrying for no reason. I found the Turtle Beach to be an excellent hotel if a little 'carribean' around the edges.

If anyone goes to the Carribean expecting a 4/5 star hotel to compare with a city hotel then they will be disappointed. We stayed in The Venetian at Las Vegas last year and it is true to say that there is no comparison in the level of furnishings and finish to the hotels. (I did fall in love with the blue mahogany furniture in the reception area though!)

That said the friendliness of the staff at the Turtle Beach is in a different league to The Venetian, for example, and is a credit to the management of the resort.

In summary:

Food - Excellent choice and excellent standard. Anyone who is not impressed with the food must either have an extremely strange pallet or be Gordon Ramsay!

Drink - All premium brands served without special request.

Staff - Very, very friendly and all go out of their way to help you.

Kids Club - Brilliant - Sonia ond the other staff are excellent - harldy saw my son for 2 weeks

Rooms - Good size and well furnished (Our bathroom was great despite what others may say). Kept spotlessly clean by excellent maids. Bed linen changed every other day - towels etc every day

Negative Points

- standard of finish in rooms etc could be better - but that is all part of being in the carribean. You can definately tell where 'specialist' painters have been employed by the hotel and where the hotel handymen have 'had a go'. Check out the Waterfront sign! Everything is SPOTLESS though and this is not a major critisism

- private functions - a personal niggle of mine. There were occasional private functions that closed certain parts of the hotel to the hotel guests (one of the restaurants being closed for instance). Given the money that the hotel is taking from its guests this seemed a little 'mean' increasing their profits at the expense of the guests

If you are going to the Turtle Beach you will have a great time - disregard any 1,2 or 3 ratings. It is defianately a 4 or 5 rating. I deducted a 'point' for the private functions! Hotel Management please review this practice as it the only real blemish on a great resort.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank iancarpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2005

ok turtle beach ,not glam or posh or 4 star ,the rooms are being upgraded not to a very high standard,we complained and we did get upgraded to a sea view,but still the bathroom was a bit grim.and a half hearted atempt to upgrade the room had been done.pools are to small and the trees give alot of shade ,so everybody crams into the sunny places.
the food is ok and the bar shuts at 12.30pm. and without warning ! most of the female staff are grumpy.but the guys on the hole are ok. the guys who run the water sports ie captain sam, leo and the rest of them ,go all out to please you .one last thing they are now building a new beach bar,started work on the 9-12-05 a little bit of building work going on.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jaguarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
5.4 km away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#1 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,921 reviews
13.6 km away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
0.9 km away
Sea Breeze Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,684 reviews
4.6 km away
Sugar Bay Barbados
Sugar Bay Barbados
#2 of 9 in Hastings
807 reviews
0.1 km away
Sandals Barbados
Sandals Barbados
#4 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Address: Dover, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Price Range: ₹ 25,000 - ₹ 87,821 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A vibrant blend of contemporary style and informal elegance." A truly magnificent all-inclusive property of 161 rooms situated on a glorious stretch of the south coast of Barbados. Turtle Beach Resort uniquely combines contemporary style, informal elegance, lively atmosphere and a superb range of facilities suitable for all ages, including a supervised kids Club (for children aged 4-12) setting new standards for all-inclusive holidays to the Caribbean. Complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotel Dover
Turtle Beach Barbados
Turtle Beach Resort Barbados
Hotel Turtle Beach
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing