We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turtle Beach stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Turtle Beach stay”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at Turtle Beach Resort hotel, 26th June for 2 weeks. We went for the wedding of my stepson. I had read all the relevant reviews on Trip Advisor and went with an open mind. Firstly I must say that it is a Resort rather than a Hotel, therefore, one cannot expect to have star ratings as one does with hotels. Having said that, the staff are really fantastic! They really make you feel you are important to them, and go out of their way to help in any way they can! The facilities are very good, the beach boys will get you sunbeds and drinks to your hearts content, with a smile!!!
Thats what we don't get here in uk..... smiles all the time!
The rooms are super comfortable, beds fantastic. Air conditioned, coffee, tea making facilities in the rooms plus fridge to keep your drinks cool.
The hotel is all inclusive, and lots of choise, much better than all inclusive in Europe.
I would advise anyone who visits, to see something of the island apart from staying all the time at the resort. There is lots to see. We had a few trips out with different taxi drivers that the hotel arranges, they are all really informative and helpful, we learnt so much about Barbados and the people from these guys.
Do try to visit Oilstins Fish night on a Friday, but beware booking with Virgin, get a taxi instead it comes cheaper!
The night of the wedding, a turtle came and laid her eggs on the beach, the Turtle Protection team came along and safeguarded them, seems like they are all being removed and taken.
Whatever you do, enjoy Turtle Beach Resort and Barbados!

Room Tip: We had a garden room suite which was right next to the pool, v.good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Corndolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,396
    839
    263
    113
    65
See reviews for
985
1,052
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

After travelling all over the Caribbean, a girlfriend and I had decided to try out this resort, relatively last minute. I have been to Barbados a couple times previously, but never to this property. Firstly, we arrived from the airport with a seamless flight out of Toronto, baggage was quick to be collected and was a short cab trek to the property.

Check In - A Rum Sour awaited us, very efficient at check in, the front desk had made a reservation for us the 1st night earlier that morning before we arrived to guarantee that we did have a dinner option and did not miss out, brilliant idea! We checked in to our beautiful room, very spacious, had a walkout on the lower floor, which we were reluctant at first being two females travelling together, but instantly felt safe and comfortable, so this was not an issue. Bags followed right behind us.

Food - We had the opportunity to dine at all 3 food outlets. Chelonia for breakfast and dinner on the 1st night. Dinner was great, a la carte. Breakfast was a perfect selection. It wasn't overbearing, just enough. Omelette station, cereals, pastries, fresh fruit, and other hot buffet foods. You had all you needed from healthy requests to a little less forgiving ;) We had read about the birds being an issue, however this was not the case at all. You need to keep in mind, that the restaurant is all open which makes it that more beautiful and island feeling. The birds fly around, although did not bother as some reviews had previously stated. Lunch was served at Waterside, another wide selection from fish to burgers to chicken and everything else under the rainbow. Asiagos, Italian Restaurant was enjoyed one night, reservations required. Great meal, absolutely no complaints. All waitstaff, bartenders, servers and chefs, were accommodating, friendly and knowledgeable!

Beach Front - every morning our chairs were waiting with fresh towels, sun exposed and continued to be freshen after lunch and/or whenever necessary. The staff at the activity booth on beach were on their game. Got us out on the Catamaran a couple of times, boogie boarded, and never left us empty handed, we were more than hydrated! There is beach beverage service, fresh fruit and popsicles being offered at the rental hut or being brought around and offered for all...free of charge!!! The beach was pristine, white sand, very immaculate and relaxing! I will warn you, there are some locals that do come around to offer the coral bracelets they've made or aloe vera in a bottle, but are not bothersome, if you decline they will not bother and they are certainly not in your face. You decline and they are just as friendly and carry on.

Spa - It is not the typical spa like setting some may expect if you've been to a high end spa, if you put this thought aside, and book a treatment, you will not regret the fact that you did! We had massages, and they were the BEST massages that we have ever had! I've had many and will remember this and have set a new bar for all other massage therapists I will hire.

Room - only thing we would say that was missing was a magnifying mirror and an additional outlet in the bathroom for a straightener, curling iron ladies. The fridge was not stocked, and bottle water is not provided. The air-conditioning unit had a minor disturbance, however after reporting to the the front desk before breakfast, once done breakfast we went back to the room and it was already serviced and fully operable! These couple of items were so minor, we did not care, we were in Paradise!

Off Resort - There is a supermarket, Dover Market, less than 5mins walking distance just located outside the resort we walked to and stocked the fridge with water and beer. We were fortunate enough to take in Carnival which was on a Friday afternoon in this same area. The locals and people in the tourism industry had put on, colourful, vibrant and happening! We also went to Oistins Fish Fry on the Friday night since its the place to be, looked around the markets, listened to some live music, watched people dance and embraced the culture! Sunday, we went on Cool Runnings Catamaran, staff were fantastic, the snorkelling good, swimming w the turtles better! Lunch and drinks provided! Bring a towel, lots of sunscreen and a camera! The shuttle picked us up from the resort and dropped back off at the end of the excursion. Monday night, we dined at Zen at the Crane Hotel, had the Bento Box, tons of food, maybe a bit too much and a nice bottle of wine. Spectacular property on a cliff, great to see and experience, about 35mins from Turtle Beach.

Misc - I must say, we were both surprised at lack of gratuties left for the serves/bartenders whilst dining at Turtle Beach. I've always been accustomed to acknowleding good service. By all means, this does NOT mean that any of the staff except this. It is an all inclusive, I get that. But is it that pocket breaking to leave a couple dollars when your expectations are exceeded?

The reason I did not name drop, is because there are far too many to single out and some names have slipped my mind, ALL staff, groundskeepers, housekeeping, bell staff, maintenance, beach activity staff, concierge, spa ladies, bartenders, servers, gatekeeper/security, front office, management and everyone else I may have neglected to mention were TOP NOTCH!

With all this said, I am someone who isn't overly keen on revisiting the same island, more specifically same hotel destination, I feel there is more to see in the world, why repeat? I'm happy to say that come October, yes 3 months away, the same girlfriend and I will be travelling back down for our birthday celebrations to stay at Turtle Beach this time 10 days long!

We look forward to Round Number 2 and highly recommend this property hands down!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gymgirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We visited here at the end of June 2012 for our honeymoon before we went on to Las Vegas!
We spent 8 nights here and most of the time it was great. As everyone says Captain Sam and his staff were lovely and the sea is quite rough but we tried body boarding which was good fun. Our bedroom was beautiful and the bed was huge. On our first day there we were also left complimentray flowers and wine for our honeymoon which was a lovely surprise.
The food was more than acceptable with more options being on the buffet nights.
The only complaint is that on the last couple of days they closed the beach bar and started work on it, which was quite noisey wherever you went around the pool and we were never told by Virgin about any planned work.
All in all this place is lovely and kept clean in all places. Forget about the complaints about birds, they really were not a problem!
We also went for a walk out at night into St Lawrence Gap and it was completely safe.
Oistins is also a must!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LancashireDoglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan Station, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We booked turtle beach for our 25th wedding anniversary, our stay was good - weather was great.... food was just OK - ocean view was perfect - room was 5 star. Drinks were not top self and I must say Puna Cana is as good for less money. We found Barbadoes has become a little run down - we have visited 3 times now , once every 10 years. We did a private drive around the island and it was a great day well worth the money. Unfortunately I dont think we'll be going back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willikj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Great experience at the resort. Maradona was the nicest guy there! He passed out drinks and made sure we were comfortable for the duration of our stay. The guys from Captain Sam's (Water Sports Co.) we very helpful and pleasant as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rutgers148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
0.2 km away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,048 reviews
16.6 km away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
5.4 km away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
3,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,517 reviews
12.7 km away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#8 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,805 reviews
14.9 km away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#10 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Property: Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Address: Dover, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Price range (per night): ₹ 24,164 - ₹ 70,119
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A vibrant blend of contemporary style and informal elegance." A truly magnificent all-inclusive property of 161 rooms situated on a glorious stretch of the south coast of Barbados. Turtle Beach Resort uniquely combines contemporary style, informal elegance, lively atmosphere and a superb range of facilities suitable for all ages, including a supervised kids Club (for children aged 4-12) setting new standards for all-inclusive holidays to the Caribbean. Complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Visit Barbados and TripOnline SA so you can book your Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotel Dover
Turtle Beach Barbados
Turtle Beach Resort Barbados
Hotel Turtle Beach
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing