We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,921)
Filter reviews
2,921 results
Traveller rating
1,503
913
307
122
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,503
913
307
122
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain sam crystal cove waterfront restaurant kids club a la carte water sports chelonia restaurant ice cream parlour rum punch great holiday evening entertainment dress code sister hotel boogie boarding jet ski all inclusive resort red flag
Filter
Updating list...
1,836 - 1,841 of 2,921 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Stayed here for our honeymoon lasy year, Hotel was ok, clean and rooms a nice size.
Restaurant staff tho were so rude except one or 2 bubbly lady's most days we struggled to get a Glass of water and if we asked staff would be so rude!!
Food was excellent however all 3 meals were lovely and so much choice, I wouldn't go here as a couple it seemed only ok if you were in a large group or had kids really.
They played the football so loud in the restaurant which is in the middle of the pools and sea and so at times felt like we may as well had gone to benidorm!
The location is ok but on a very rough part of the sea so we didn't get to enjoy the beach much.
The spa was lovely Tho had a great massage.
The guys in Captain SAMs were great tho, they would find you beds every day and bring drinks round. The rest of the staff need to learn from these guys!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leighbee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We changed our hotel at the last minutes as the Almond beach and spa had terrible reviews and thank goodness we did (it looked like Colditz !!) Turtle beach had good reviews and it more than ticked all the boxes. Short journey from the airport, room ready to walk into, cold beer and food that no one should be able to find fault with.
Also made a trip to the sister hotel the water was much calmer there so it was easier to swim in....
everything was super.. could not fault it in any way

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank enjoyholidaying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We spent 10 days at Turtle Beach. Had a great time. Sea was warm and great for body boarding. Captain Sam is always there to make you feeel safe in the water. My son made lots of friends and played cricket on the beach. Breakfast was american style-pancakes,french toast, bacon, sausages, bean, eggs cooked to order, friut, yoghurts, porridge, cereals etc and is avalible 7.30-10.30. Lunch at the waterfront was wraps made to order, burgers, hotdogs. fish, pasta, salads, chips, fruit, pudding, cakes etc, and is avalible 12.30-3.30. Dinner at both restaurants was lovely. The Chelonia is always a buffet, and the Waterfront is a la carte, with perfectly sized meals. There was also afternoon tea every day from 4pm-5.30pm serving sandwiches, cakes, scones. You will not go hungry!!!
We went on the Habour Master boat trip. Did snorkeling and swimming with turtles. Then they moor by a beach and lower a 70ft slide into the sea.Great fun! Then they take you back along the west coast playing music which people could dance to.
All in all a great holiday.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank rachel568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We have just had the most wonderful holiday at Turtle Beach,the room was fabulous on the beach ( a junior ocean front veiw suite ) the staff are amazingly freindly.Food wonderfull in all 3 restaurants and a full house breakfast to die for !Fabulous beach area with plenty of padded sun loungers and thanks to Captain Sam and his staff for watersports.The sea is pretty choppy with it being on the South Coast so not reccomended for young children.We where so impressed that we wanted to stay another week,our room was vacant and the Hotel only at half capacity,however Virgin-SHAME ON YOU ! wanted £142-00 each for the following week admin/ticket charge back to Manchester.However we will be back next year as this was our third visit to this wonderful island paradise and will book 2 weeks instead of one

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
5  Thank Alan623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

As Vtt870 said we totally enjoyed our stay at Turtle Beach. For the the price and what you recived we felt we did very well. The room was spacious and comfortable with a TV couch plenty of light,terrace and nice bathroom. Upon check-in, the room was not ready as we arrived earlier than the appointed time but we were taken down to lunch and notified when our room was ready. Check-in was a breeze. The whole staff could not have been nicer. Everybody was extremely accommodating and extremely pleasant. The beach was beautiful ( a little crowded) with enough chairs for everybody. The water itself was a little rough but once you went past the breakers standing, you could jump the waves and enjoy the water. There were trade winds which though a little breezy, the sand was not hot and you did not feel scorched. Beware though (you could get a sunburn very easily) .During the morning somebody from the bar came out on the beach and served you a coconut pop, creamsicle, or fruit salad. In the afternoon it was a nice cool drink (This was a great touch) If you walked from the end of the resort to the end of the second strip the distance was about a half mile. It was great to walk this beach. These are public beaches so licensed vendors were allowed on. However if you did not want to avail yourself of what they were hawking (mangos. tours of the town, Jewelry), you said no thank you and you would be left alone. As for the food, it was average to very good but with enough of a choice that you did not go hungry. Of course the Ala Carte (it is all inclusive) restaurants were a little better than the buffets. There was some entertainment six of the seven nights. There is a business center with five computers for the guest's use, as well as tennis courts and a gym to work off the three meals a day and unlimited drinks.. And I found one of the best things is that the hotel is trying to be ecofriendly.

The only gripe that I had with the resort is that even though the restaurants were no smoking, ash trays were set up on tables just outside the open air restaurants and the smoke would waft its way into the restaurant.

Other than that it was a superb restful vacation with a very friendly population and I would have no problem visiting Barbados and Turtle Beach Resort again (even though I did not see any Turtles).

P.S. I did not have to exchange U.S.dollars for Barbados dollars as my money was accepted everywhere.

Kudos Elegant Hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank njtraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews