We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turtletastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2012

What can I say about Turtle Beach other than it is a totally fantastic place to be. The whole experience was amazing. Our room (one bedroom suite) was well located and was everything I thought it would be, the drinks were good they even had Southern Comfort which is what I normally drink I have never seen this in any of the other carribean resorts I have stayed in so this was and extra bonus for me! the food was also good in all the resturants we tried them all but the thing that made it was the staff, and the other guest that we meet whilst we were there. Some of the staff I would like to make a special mention as I thought they went the extra mile Ronnie, Darren and Kevin who work behind the bars such lovey guys who make great drinks and always wih a smie, Cyrstal who works on the front desk so lovely and very professional thank you for your help whilst we was there, Captin Sam and all his team all great and could not do enough for you and finally Hillary who worked in the main resturant what a lovely guy who worked so hard even when he was on a break he still had one eye on what was going on and on his days off you really notice the difference. To sum up one of the best holidays I have ever been on. If you are debating on booking this for this year debate no more just do it I promise you, you will not regret it. Thank you Turtle Beach for such a wonderful time and see you later on this year!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Nataliem22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,764 - 1,768 of 2,742 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2012

Stayed for the night when our plane go cancelled. Only 14 of us went back here as we were in premium economy other we spoke too went to 3 star hotels.

We were met at the hotel by the manager but he could not let us check in due waiting for info from Thomas Cook. So while we waited let us use the bar as it was all inclusive.

The rooms was a junior suite and a really good size and a view of the sea, is nearly getting to a point where it could need updating.

Breakfast was poor little choice and quality lacking.

Lunch very good nice setting good choice and very tasty.

Overall hotel was good, nice beach, great pool and would come back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ruddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Arrival at the hotel was the worst part of the holiday. We had requested a quiet room and I reiterated this on checking in but was allocated a room just above where the evening entertainment took place. We asked to change rooms and they showed us another room which was being cleaned. However, it took an hour and half (!) before it was ready for us. We then found the air conditioning didn't work, but that was quickly fixed. A reservation had been made for us at the restaurant, but they had no record of it and was very busy (no reservation no food!). Seeing we were about to help ourselves from the buffet and eat it on a nearby sun lounger, they found us a table. Not the best start to a relaxing holiday!

Rooms - the hotel is described as having suites. I though this generally meant a separate sitting room and bedroom. Here it means a decent size room with a large bed and sofa. The room was very well decorated with flat screen TV, fridge, coffee machine and ironing board. The bathroom was decent size but it was difficult getting in and out the bath as too near the loo. The shower was OK but with a fixed head it was hard to get residual sand and sun cream off feet and legs. Excellent hairdryer complete with straightening nozzel! No robes or slippers.

Restaurants - breakfast was dull but adequate and you could get eggs done to order. Lunch buffet was also dull with the food available until mid afternoon by which time it was cool and congealed (not that it was very hot to start). Few healthy options with burger and hot dog every day (judging by most guests these were popular so I'm probably the exception). Evening meals need to be booked. If you don't want to eat late (e.g 9pm) you need to book early. If you want to eat in the Italian restaurant (which is by far the best food), you need to reserve a table at breakfast the previous morning. We found remembering to reserve a table the previous day an irritation. Unless you book the Italian restaurant, it's probably yet another buffet in one of the other restaurants.
Although the water in Barbados is pure, it still upset my tummy. If you have a delicate stomach, stick to bottled water and buy mixers and juice at the local shop as they are all diluted with tap water at the hotel.

Beach / pool - there are 2 pools. The free-form pool area feels cramped with not much space or many sun beds around it. The other pool which is large enough to swim in was used by families with children. As it's near the BBQ, it smells of burgers cooking from mid morning to mid afternoon.
The watersport hut blares out "drum n bass" music all day and can be heard by the pool and on the beach. Ironic the information pack in the room asked guests not to use radios on the beach to let let other guest chill out!
The beach has great sun loungers with an in built canopy for shade. However, the sea is rough and not great for swimming and watersports. The beach takes about 10 mins to walk from end to end.

Other - the staff were generally friendly and helpful. There were a number of computers for guests to use without charge. The hotel arranged a taxi for us to go sightseeing - we had Livingston (aka the "doctor") who was a great guide and didn't cost much more for a private tour than the trips our rep recommended.

My review is probably more critical than the hotel deserves as it is good. However, I have been to it's sister hotels on the island's west coast and preferred them. It's a good hotel but I wouldn't rush to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 5*Hotelreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We really enjoyed our week here, just got back feeling very relaxed and looking forward to our return. The hotel is a nice size, everything within easy reach and on the most beautiful beach. Our room was a one bedroom suite which fitted us all in, I was a little surprised to hear it had been renovated as the bathroom was a little tired and had a really small sink which was irritating... but it was clean and workable. The furnishings were good quality and the bed comfortable with nice linen. We also had a balcony with a beautiful view.. We did very little but lie by one of the pools, they were really nice and it was good to see them being regularly tested and closed for cleaning when necessary and the grounds were well maintained. The kids club offered a packed programme and my children were very happy to spend the hottest part of the day there and a couple of evenings so we could try the adult only restaurant. The food was a mixed bag, nothing awful but nothing really great. The adult restaurant was good, not quite fine dining, but a nice atmosphere and the service very attentive and better food than the other restaurants. There was only one other restaurant open each night we were there and they varied it nightly, mostly a la carte. When kept simple, the food was fine, I think I sent one meal back as it was over cooked, but generally it was ok. Lunch buffets were rescued by a wrap station, so you could always have a fresh wrap if whatever was on didn't appeal. The salad bar could have been more imaginative and generally it would have been nice to see more exotic fruit and Caribbean food - I guess they are trying to please an international clientele.... but am sure more authentic fare would be welcomed. The other thing which would be good is if they had tea pots. Trying to get a decent cup of tea was impossible as they served it by pouring tepid water on the tea bag in your cup... kind of spoiled the whole afternoon tea idea.. The service was mostly good, nothing too much trouble - sometimes a bit slow - but you kind of got used to it, fruit and ice lollies brought to you in the day, fresh towels by the beach whenever you wanted them, and any possible drink you could think of on tap. The house wine was drinkable, would be good if they had a rose maybe, and the fruit cocktails were really good! We also enjoyed the evening entertainment - different every night we were there. The beach was glorious, comfy beach loungers with padded cushions, and the children loved playing with the boogie boards in the waves, the water sports team were really friendly and offered to take us out sailing etc. Overall, we really enjoyed our break and didn't want to leave. It is expensive, but what isn't in the Caribbean for Christmas? I think if we had received a bill for each meal we had, we probably would have not been happy - but if you factor in the service, the water sports, the child care, the housekeeping and the open bar then you can see why their costs add up. The number of repeat customers is testament to the generally good job they do and I am sure we will be one of them.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank JonesEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Stayed here for 6 nights prior to going to Crystal Cove.
Had a good time at this hotel, but certain areas were a bit dissapointing.
The staff as always were fantastic, the great bajan hospitality shinning through.
Food good but the Italian al a carte resturant was rather dissapointing, very average food and lacked ambiance( the decor could do with an overhaul).
On a nice stretch of beach, but rather busy, lacked the more tropical feel at Crystal Cove.
All in all a good hotel, but probably more suited to families.

P.S Hello to Sadie and David from Glasgow......Hope you enjoyed your cruise

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
4  Thank worldtravels_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dover
5.4 km away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#2 of 6 in Bridgetown
3,807 reviews
13.6 km away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
1.3 km away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,617 reviews
12.7 km away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#7 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,859 reviews
11.7 km away
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hot...
#4 of 26 in Saint James Parish
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Address: Dover, Barbados
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Dover
Price Range: ₹ 26,159 - ₹ 83,064 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A vibrant blend of contemporary style and informal elegance." A truly magnificent all-inclusive property of 161 rooms situated on a glorious stretch of the south coast of Barbados. Turtle Beach Resort uniquely combines contemporary style, informal elegance, lively atmosphere and a superb range of facilities suitable for all ages, including a supervised kids Club (for children aged 4-12) setting new standards for all-inclusive holidays to the Caribbean. Complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotel Dover
Turtle Beach Barbados
Turtle Beach Resort Barbados
Hotel Turtle Beach
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Dover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing