We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Dover Beach Hotel(Dover)(Great Value!)
US$ 114
US$ 111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Infinity on the Beach(Dover)(Great Value!)
US$ 128
US$ 112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southern Palms(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
US$ 205
US$ 192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Divi Southwinds Beach Resort(Christ Church Parish)
US$ 174
US$ 162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Time Out Hotel(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
US$ 127
US$ 122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rostrevor Hotel(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
US$ 120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Two Resort & Residences(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
US$ 237
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yellow Bird Hotel(St. Lawrence Gap)(Great Value!)
US$ 144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,894)
Filter reviews
2,894 results
Traveller rating
1,492
904
300
122
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,492
904
300
122
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaptain samcrystal covewaterfront restaurantkids cluba la cartewater sportschelonia restaurantice cream parlourrum punchgreat holidayevening entertainmentsister hotelboogie boardingdress codered flagjet skiall inclusive resort
Filter
Updating list...
1,913 - 1,918 of 2,894 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Stayed for the night when our plane go cancelled. Only 14 of us went back here as we were in premium economy other we spoke too went to 3 star hotels.

We were met at the hotel by the manager but he could not let us check in due waiting for info from Thomas Cook. So while we waited let us use the bar as it was all inclusive.

The rooms was a junior suite and a really good size and a view of the sea, is nearly getting to a point where it could need updating.

Breakfast was poor little choice and quality lacking.

Lunch very good nice setting good choice and very tasty.

Overall hotel was good, nice beach, great pool and would come back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ruddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Arrival at the hotel was the worst part of the holiday. We had requested a quiet room and I reiterated this on checking in but was allocated a room just above where the evening entertainment took place. We asked to change rooms and they showed us another room which was being cleaned. However, it took an hour and half (!) before it was ready for us. We then found the air conditioning didn't work, but that was quickly fixed. A reservation had been made for us at the restaurant, but they had no record of it and was very busy (no reservation no food!). Seeing we were about to help ourselves from the buffet and eat it on a nearby sun lounger, they found us a table. Not the best start to a relaxing holiday!

Rooms - the hotel is described as having suites. I though this generally meant a separate sitting room and bedroom. Here it means a decent size room with a large bed and sofa. The room was very well decorated with flat screen TV, fridge, coffee machine and ironing board. The bathroom was decent size but it was difficult getting in and out the bath as too near the loo. The shower was OK but with a fixed head it was hard to get residual sand and sun cream off feet and legs. Excellent hairdryer complete with straightening nozzel! No robes or slippers.

Restaurants - breakfast was dull but adequate and you could get eggs done to order. Lunch buffet was also dull with the food available until mid afternoon by which time it was cool and congealed (not that it was very hot to start). Few healthy options with burger and hot dog every day (judging by most guests these were popular so I'm probably the exception). Evening meals need to be booked. If you don't want to eat late (e.g 9pm) you need to book early. If you want to eat in the Italian restaurant (which is by far the best food), you need to reserve a table at breakfast the previous morning. We found remembering to reserve a table the previous day an irritation. Unless you book the Italian restaurant, it's probably yet another buffet in one of the other restaurants.
Although the water in Barbados is pure, it still upset my tummy. If you have a delicate stomach, stick to bottled water and buy mixers and juice at the local shop as they are all diluted with tap water at the hotel.

Beach / pool - there are 2 pools. The free-form pool area feels cramped with not much space or many sun beds around it. The other pool which is large enough to swim in was used by families with children. As it's near the BBQ, it smells of burgers cooking from mid morning to mid afternoon.
The watersport hut blares out "drum n bass" music all day and can be heard by the pool and on the beach. Ironic the information pack in the room asked guests not to use radios on the beach to let let other guest chill out!
The beach has great sun loungers with an in built canopy for shade. However, the sea is rough and not great for swimming and watersports. The beach takes about 10 mins to walk from end to end.

Other - the staff were generally friendly and helpful. There were a number of computers for guests to use without charge. The hotel arranged a taxi for us to go sightseeing - we had Livingston (aka the "doctor") who was a great guide and didn't cost much more for a private tour than the trips our rep recommended.

My review is probably more critical than the hotel deserves as it is good. However, I have been to it's sister hotels on the island's west coast and preferred them. It's a good hotel but I wouldn't rush to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 5*Hotelreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We really enjoyed our week here, just got back feeling very relaxed and looking forward to our return. The hotel is a nice size, everything within easy reach and on the most beautiful beach. Our room was a one bedroom suite which fitted us all in, I was a little surprised to hear it had been renovated as the bathroom was a little tired and had a really small sink which was irritating... but it was clean and workable. The furnishings were good quality and the bed comfortable with nice linen. We also had a balcony with a beautiful view.. We did very little but lie by one of the pools, they were really nice and it was good to see them being regularly tested and closed for cleaning when necessary and the grounds were well maintained. The kids club offered a packed programme and my children were very happy to spend the hottest part of the day there and a couple of evenings so we could try the adult only restaurant. The food was a mixed bag, nothing awful but nothing really great. The adult restaurant was good, not quite fine dining, but a nice atmosphere and the service very attentive and better food than the other restaurants. There was only one other restaurant open each night we were there and they varied it nightly, mostly a la carte. When kept simple, the food was fine, I think I sent one meal back as it was over cooked, but generally it was ok. Lunch buffets were rescued by a wrap station, so you could always have a fresh wrap if whatever was on didn't appeal. The salad bar could have been more imaginative and generally it would have been nice to see more exotic fruit and Caribbean food - I guess they are trying to please an international clientele.... but am sure more authentic fare would be welcomed. The other thing which would be good is if they had tea pots. Trying to get a decent cup of tea was impossible as they served it by pouring tepid water on the tea bag in your cup... kind of spoiled the whole afternoon tea idea.. The service was mostly good, nothing too much trouble - sometimes a bit slow - but you kind of got used to it, fruit and ice lollies brought to you in the day, fresh towels by the beach whenever you wanted them, and any possible drink you could think of on tap. The house wine was drinkable, would be good if they had a rose maybe, and the fruit cocktails were really good! We also enjoyed the evening entertainment - different every night we were there. The beach was glorious, comfy beach loungers with padded cushions, and the children loved playing with the boogie boards in the waves, the water sports team were really friendly and offered to take us out sailing etc. Overall, we really enjoyed our break and didn't want to leave. It is expensive, but what isn't in the Caribbean for Christmas? I think if we had received a bill for each meal we had, we probably would have not been happy - but if you factor in the service, the water sports, the child care, the housekeeping and the open bar then you can see why their costs add up. The number of repeat customers is testament to the generally good job they do and I am sure we will be one of them.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank JonesEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Stayed here for 6 nights prior to going to Crystal Cove.
Had a good time at this hotel, but certain areas were a bit dissapointing.
The staff as always were fantastic, the great bajan hospitality shinning through.
Food good but the Italian al a carte resturant was rather dissapointing, very average food and lacked ambiance( the decor could do with an overhaul).
On a nice stretch of beach, but rather busy, lacked the more tropical feel at Crystal Cove.
All in all a good hotel, but probably more suited to families.

P.S Hello to Sadie and David from Glasgow......Hope you enjoyed your cruise

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
4  Thank worldtravels_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We have just returned from the Turtle Beach resort and I wanted to post a review while the memories are fresh. My husband and I are seasoned travellers and have stayed in plenty 4 &5 star hotels. I booked this hotel on the basis of positive reviews!!! I wish I paid attention to the negative ones – THERE IS NO SMOKE WITHOUT A FIRE! Turtle beach is NOT a 4**** as they advertise it. Too many things are just not up to that standard that we expected. We feel it did not worth the money we paid for it.

Arrival: all good, were allocated a room 303 which was ocean front and what we requested. It did have a lovely view to the ocean, as other rooms next to it. The room was rather spacious with an extra sofa bed that turned out to be a large bed for our 2 year old daughter.

ROOM: the room was a bit dated, especially the bathroom. The shower screen was low and the hall and bathroom were flooded each time we used a shower! Hairdryer was a laugh, so bring your own. The door in the bathroom was making creaking noises but that was rectified at my request. Aircon did not work properly and though it cooled the room, never to the required temperature ( you can not set the temperature) and is operated by the movement. So to have the aircon on at night we used the button SLEEP to keep it going. There was also a ceiling fan. Both, however, were VERY noisy due the age of the equipment. You will get used to the noise eventually in 4-5 days. Or use the ear plugs like I did.

Bed was large and firm, but I did not sleep well on it throughout the stay there as I prefer a soft bed. The sofa, on the contrary, was comfortable.

There are some 1 bedroom suits in the hotel, so I would recommend booking one of those if travelling with very young children.

WATER; tap water at Barbados is one of the best in the world, so don’t bother buying bottled water. It is perfectly fine straight from the tap. Just add ice ☺

FOOD and CATERING were the main complains of ours. BORING. REPETATIVE. LIMITTED. Craving for smoked salmon - forget about it here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Breakfast: every single day you will have scrambled eggs, bacon rashes, potatoes, baked beans, waffle station, pancakes, omelette station, yogurt, porridge and toast. Fruit were very limited and always the same: pineapple, melon, watermelon and grapefruit. Pastry was also present but very bland and not tasty in my opinion eg. Croissants ( too sweet).

Lunch: all the guest were squashed in just one restaurant and therefore there were long queues to get food and you had to wait for ages to get a drink. It was quicker just to walk to the bar yourself and get one there. Food for lunch was influenced by American tastes, so each day we had a question “What to have for lunch: a burger, a cheeseburger or a hotdog?” That was accompanied by the usual French fries, some steamed veg, rice, some sort of fish and meat. Salads were very simple and not appetising at all.

ADDITIONAL: At Maldives I saw a lot of coconut fruit on offer, at Turtle beach there was none, though it was surrounded by coco nut trees. Very disappointing.

Restaurants:
During our stay the hotel constantly varied the restaurants for dinners and that was a bit annoying. At those evenings when they did a-la-carte instead of a buffet you had to make a reservation. There was normally a choice of 2 restaurants: the Italian one ( where you can’t go with kids) and either Chelonia or Waterfront. So realistically at most nights we had a choice of 1 restaurant. Sometimes waiters waned you that one of the restaurants would be closed for dinner, but a few times they forgot to tell us , neither was an announcement that the restaurant would be closed for dinner. So check every morning which restaurant from the 2 will be open and if reservations were required. A-la-carte dinners were fine but again with a limited menu that reminded us of a set menu at St Valentine’s day.

Also, on a few occasions, the hotel was renting out the Chelonia restaurant ( the biggest of all) for the private wedding functions. All the guests were cramped in to one restaurant for dinner and we felt like 2nd class citizen though paying the top price. I thinks that was disgraceful to treat the hotel’s customers like that.
On one occasion it was done without any warnings whatsoever!!!!!!!!!!!!!

When all the guest are cramped into one smallish restaurant without air conditioning it would be quite noisy, hot and too “close communities”, not the “relaxation holiday you were after!!!”.

There is a band playing in the Waterfront at some nights which was good, so were the other artists that performed in the evenings.

Bar and Hygiene:

We personally did not feel the hygiene was high on the list for the staff at Turtle Beach. Cocktails were made using the juice and alcohol stored in plastic container and the general prep surface was not exactly spotless clean. The blending machines were used to make cocktails, we were never made ill but the sight of blending the ingredients in that environment was disturbing. All the juices and alcohol was stored in plastic containers…..

I think that the bar at Chelonia was more hygienic than the one at Waterfront.

SERVICE: on 90% of occasions the service was good. People are the only one that do credit to this hotel. Practically everybody was very friendly and happy to help you. We loved people there. The exception were a few waiters with the attitude but we just ignored them – customer is always right?

Internet and WI-FI – is a massive let down. I checked with the hotel beforehand if they had a wi-fi and they said yes, no problems. Well, that is not true. They have a slow wi-fi in the lobby but that is it. You can’t use wi-fi anywhere else in the hotel though the devices find the network . My husband had to get internet into the room and paid daily for it to have access to wi-fi. Internet café is there but it is small. So be warned: if you need internet for business or need to log into secured servers you will have quite a few difficulties in the hotel.

BEACH – was lovely with plenty of sun beds. However, the ocean is quite rough but you can enjoy swimming in the waves. I really wanted to do snorkelling but you can’t do it here straight from the beach. You will need to book a snorkelling trip or go to the west coast.

THINGS TO DO: We hired a car and went to see Harrison cave which was a nice experience. Went to the west coast to some of the best beaches, went shopping to Bridgetown ( not a lot different from shopping in London and it is not cheap on the contrary to the common believe). Hotel offers plenty of other trips and catamaran cruises which are highly recommended.

A few more nags:
we were asked to pay USD75 for the extra 3 hours that we stayed in a room though the resort was not busy. In all our previous travels such a small extension in time was always granted for free.

Waiters were often telling people where to sit which I found very annoying. I always insisted on choosing my own table for meals and in 40% of occasions I had to have some sort of argument with the waiter about that.

On the date when the rented the car we experienced a delay of 1.30 due to the fact that the guy forgot to bring the sat nav. Later during the trip we found out that the sat nav was not working properly and it was programmed in the most bazaar way. No one bothered to explain us how to use it.

OVERALL, we enjoyed our holidays and time together. But we left with the feeling that the hotel had been overpriced and we could have had a better time elsewhere. We most likely will be going back to Barbados but won’t be staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank koshie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews