We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
76
49
14
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
49
14
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stunning location small terrace erongo mountains hiking trails sundowner drive long drive canned fruit swimming pool game viewing rooms are spacious rises mines veranda spitzkoppe animals stopover marker
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2018

All the rooms have a lovely view on the Erongo Mountains. The rooms are spacious. The dining area has a lovely setting and the food was great. We were sorry to leave. You can easily drive from here to Omaruru to see the sites there. There are lovely drives through the Erongo mountains. We easily drove from here to Swakopmund to fly out the same afternoon after also having lunch in Swakopmund. We travelled in January 2017 but I forgot to write the review.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1,00,63,994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hohenstein Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to evaluate our Lodge.

We are happy to hear that you were delighted with your stay at Hohenstein Lodge.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards,

Your Hohenstein Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017

The lodge is perfectly operated by german owners. There are very nice separately built casitas with view to the Hohenstein, especially in the evening, when the sunset colors the rock formation. The casitas are spacious and clean. The king bed offers a well functioned mosquito net and a small ventilator, but no ac because of lack of electric power. Breakfast buffet, dinner menu and service are on top!
One can do the "Damara Trail" ( 1 ½ h walking trail) or the sundowner tour at 5 pm. The guide was very kind and explained much of the huge property, the living animals and the geology. We also recommend a day tour to the spectacular landscape ofPhilip's Cave + Bull's Party.
If you like jogging, run the pathway to the entrance gate in the early morning! Pool is usable for everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dietmar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hohenstein Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2017

Dear Dietmar,

Thank you for taking your time to evaluate our Lodge.

We are happy to hear that you were delighted with your stay at Hohenstein Lodge.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards,

Your Hohenstein Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

We stayed her early June of this year. Wasn't really sure what to expect. It was a good long drive down from Etosha through some very scenic landscapes. When we arrived, we were greeted warmly. Our chalet was very nice comfy and clean. The view of the moutain right outside our door was fantastic especially during sunset watching the colours of the mountain change.

We also did the hike around the grounds, about 2hrs. We actually didn't find it all that great a hike and some parts were not clearly marked. We thought that perhaps we missed a marker and so just kept walking...we did get a little concerned at one point but in the end made it out fine.

Food was good. No real complaints. WHen you think of the area you are in, can't imagine how difficult it would be to get proper fresh produce to such a remote location.

The only think that bothered me were all the armored crickets walking around all over. I think they were armored crickets...whatever they were they were pretty large and there were a lot of them.

All in all, still a good place.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hohenstein Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Daniel,

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our lodge.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our Hohenstein Lodge.
The markings of the hiking trails on our farm are regularly checked. We regret that it nevertheless led to confusion and apologize for any inconvenience. Of course, we will take your comment as an opportunity to carry out an immediate check of the signage.

Unfortunately, in some years in May and June the mentioned species of locust tended to appear very strongly in some regions of Namibia. Here we only have the opportunity to let nature run its course and wait for the locusts to disappear.

We would be pleased to welcome you back in our lodge soon.

Kind Regards,

Your Hohenstein Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

I travelled as safari operator with my group there. To prepare the day activities I called before arrival what animals at present are to be found. The manger said ... all of them , like Kudu, Wilderbeast, Eland Zebra...... The same information we got when arriving at the lodge. So we decided for game drive and walk. The true information should have been.... there is ine Girafe and 10 Springboks. the clients were very disappointed. With the correct information we would have done the minerals tour.
The staff was, with only one exeption the receptionist, unfriendly und unwilling.
Dont go there. Much better places around.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelchris_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hohenstein Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2017

Dear Chris,

I can only imagine two reasons for this bad comment written for Hohenstein Lodge.
Either, you describe a different place and not the lodge in Namibia or you mix up a namibian nature reserve with a zoo.

Unfortunately you did not give information about your group. But, if you called here before arrival, the manager has definitely not told you that Eland and Zebra are found on the farmgrounds.

We don’t offer “game drives” but “sundowner nature drives”. The main attraction of the Erongo is the breath-taking spectacular landscape. Birds and plants show some exciting endemic species, the reason why we can welcome often bird watchers from all over the world.
Nevertheless, with a little luck, giraffes, as well as oryx, red hartebeest, blue wildebeest, springbok, impala, ostrich, et al. can be seen on a sundowner drive. If we are asked what kind of game lives on the farm, a lot of others must be added, like leopard, hyena, cheetah, jackal, snakes. But they are not lining up for being seen.
The Wilderness is not a zoo.

Your comments about missing service, friendliness, and cleanliness have the sound of frustration and seem to be wrong, seeing the last comments here on trip advisor show a different view.

Kind Regards,

Your Hohenstein Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

A great lodge
Great staff
Food good
Awesome vistas of the Erongo mountains!
Tour of small miners a great hike up the mountain and interesting tour and gems!!!
Game viewing and birds !!
Great rooms - clean and comfortable , just need bigger duvets !!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank John Anneli F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hohenstein Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear John,

Thank you for taking your time to evaluate our Lodge.

We are happy to hear that you were delighted with your stay at Hohenstein Lodge.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards,

Your Hohenstein Lodge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews