We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“You just gotta love the local busses!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Poste Lafayette
Certificate of Excellence
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“You just gotta love the local busses!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Holiday booked with Mercury, 3 hour stopover in Dubai, good idea as it broke the journey. Emirates fantastic, could not fault any of the 4 flights.
Collected Rupees at Mauritius airport (quick and east) and set off for Jalsa Beach in the pouring rain. Travelled with friends, just the 4 of us in a mini bus.
The hotel is set in beautiful gardens and is mostly peaceful. In the middle of nowhere which is what we wanted.
We were greeted by the great reception staff and after a drink in the pool bar we were shown to our room. Rooms are clean and spacious with plenty of storage space, tv and dvd player. You can borrow dvd's and books from reception.

Our welcome meeting was delayed by 2 days, the rep was only interested in selling trips and would not give info on local buses or car/bike hire. After asking at reception, we discovered the brilliant Local Buses!!
The buses are mostly very old and tatty, with unusual artefacts at the front, eg a blow up plane, christmas decorations, plastic flowers and a model of the Eiffel Tower!! The conductor had an old fashioned ticket machine and the music (reggae, rap, house etc) is loud!! The bus goes fast, very fast and is driven by the horn!! Amazing!! Travel is cheap, 25 ruppee (about 60p) for most journeys.
Over our 2 weeks we bumped and rocked along to Flacq market, Pampelmousse Botanic Gardens, Trou d'Eau Douce and the beautiful island, Ile aux Cerfs. So cheap and easy to do. We were always the only British on the bus!! Do it, its so much fun!!

Other days were spent enjoying the sun by the lovely pool and gardens, with a stroll along to the next beach. There is no snorkelling off the beach, and very few fish if you go off the boat .
The food is amazing, choice of 3 vegi curries every night and also lots of meat and salad. Ice cream is available, but you have to ask!! Also the supermarket in Flacq sells cornets in amazing flavours, 2 scoops, for only 35 ruppee (75p)

Staff in the restaurant are lovely and quickly got to know us. We liked to have a drink before dinner but were not keen on the pool bar, we had spent time there during the day and after dressing up for dinner we felt it was a bit casual.

The Dodo bar is beautiful, with a massive balcony overlooking the hotel grounds and the sea, It has lovely furniture and tables.. Sadly it is not used. We were disapointed that after dinner, the only option was to go back to the pool bar. This is the only thing that I will moan about, to have such a lovely facility, have a strict dress code, then sent people off to a pool bar does not seem in keeping with the rest of a great holiday. Evenings are very quiet at JB with most people in their rooms by 9pm.

Room Tip: All rooms lovely, the nearer the sea the better the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mrsmoaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    281
    84
    31
    32
See reviews for
118
523
20
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Jalsa Beach is the hidden Gem of Indian Ocean. Located on a private and quiet beach ideal for people wanting to relax and chill out. Yet,you have the flexibilty of action experiences eg Walking with the lions,swimming with Dolphins,underwater submarine you only have to arrange transport with the hotel .The price for daily car hire is reasonable and people are very polite and easy to deal with. So you have the luxury of a private and quiet beach holiday and build in the action part of holiday as you like.We thoroughly enjoyed the south island tour and walking with the lion experience.All inclusive is an excellent option and friendly staff are willing to do anything for you with a smile,service is fantastic.Manager takes keen interest in making sure your stay is enjoyable and comfortable.Dinner is superb experience as they tend to have live cooking and selection of good meat and vegetarian dishes. We particularly enjoyed the authentic Indian vegetarian dishes in the evening atleast 4 or 5 different curries accompanied by other indian selections.
Bar,swimming pool and beach areas are kept very clean and are always staffed properly for guidance and service.This place lives up to it's name Jalsa meaning "great enjoyment".A true hidden gem in this paradise island and perhaps the best in the Indian Ocean. I visited this gem with my daughter and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay hope they maintain this level of detrmination to please holiday makers....it was a long way but worth it!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent,ground floor rooms one can walk into the pool so easy for elderly people or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank kalisana55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We booked our honeymoon package through makemytrip.com, but on reaching Mauritius we realized that most Indian travel sites (yatra, thomascook, makemytrip and the likes) outsource their holidays to Sea Side Holidays in Mauritius. So if possible do approach Seaside Holidays directly for a better rate.

We stayed there from Feb 1st to Feb 8th (2012) for our honeymoon.

Early check-in took longer than expected. The room was spacious with a nice balcony.

This hotel is perfect for honeymoon and is in a quiet location.
We had a great time walking near the pool and sitting on the beach chairs to enjoy the beach view.

The food was a bit disappointing some times as the menu was short and repetitive. Not much options for vegetarians. Deserts were ok (it seems nobody eats ice-creams in Mauritius--you rarely find ice-creams shops there and even if you are lucky to find one, you end up paying much more for them). The candle-light dinner which was arranged specially for honeymooners was romantic but the service was not good at all and a rude waiter refused to serve the desert 2nd time when requested. We didn't know it was a fixed menu!! If we knew we wouldn't have asked for more.

Overall, a nice place for honeymoon.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea and swimming pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank pranavpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Just returned from a lovely holiday here... all staff extremely helpful & a great credit to the management.

Facilities are 1st class....as you would expect from a small but quite exclusive hotel. Go all inclusive for 'Fantastic value' as if you don't like some food you can always request that the chefs make to your own requirements.

Great bonus in that it was only a short 50 minute transfer from the airport via a coastal road.

No loud guests, no awful evening entertainment every night (just some pleasant cocktails & local dancers on the beach or by the pool) no sun bed bagging, excellent car hire & advice where to drive through the hotel reception, no pressure to tip staff....but be sure to reward those in person that 'really do go the extra mile' to serve you at the end of your stay.

Hoping that my job application to be their morning 'pool boy' will be considered & accepted.....happy to work for just the air fare out plus board & lodgings.....but only as long as I can fish in the adjacent sea lagoon for the rest of the day!

Finally...fly Air Mauritius from Heathrow....literally only you on the plane & if like us we were able to spread out in economy both ways....thank goodness I didn't pay business class or extra for seats with longer leg room!

Well done Virgin Holidays too!! Great value at short notice.

Room Tip: Room 220 ...king size double with great shower, 1st floor balcony, sea & pool views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JellybellyCellulite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We have just got back from Jalsa Beach and loved every minute. We arrived at 9.30am and although too late for breakfast, were served with hot croissants, coffee, cake and orange juice.

Our room looked on to the lagoon and was beautifully decorated and very quiet.

The restaurant had a buffet breakfast and dinner and waiter service at lunchtime. The waiters were very professional and there was a good selection of food which should satisfy even the most difficult eater. The chef regularly offered to cook a steak or something else but it wasn't necessary. There was always a selection of curry dishes and then a vegetarian dish as well as one or two other meat or fish dishes.

This hotel is perfect for a quiet, relaxing break and is in a quiet location. Other parts of the island can be visited by taxi or bus, both available outside the hotel.

Thank you Jalsa Beach for a great 2 weeks.

Lynn

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poste Lafayette
1.0 km away
Constance Le Prince Maurice
Constance Le Prince Maurice
#1 of 2 in Pointe de Flacq
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
17.6 km away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,042 reviews
25.5 km away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 km away
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
Laguna Beach Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Grande Riviere Sud Est
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
23.4 km away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#3 of 29 in Grand Baie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
25.3 km away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius

Property: Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius
Address: Coastal Road, Poste Lafayette, Mauritius 41519
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Poste Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Poste Lafayette
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,782 - ₹ 11,537
Hotel Class:4 star — Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the gentle shores of the Indian Ocean, Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa overlooks a turquoise lagoon with stunning mountain scenery. Found along the North East coast of the tropical island of Mauritius, at Poste Lafayette, Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa is the perfect choice for those looking for a peaceful and relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalsa Beach Hotel And Spa - Mauritius
Jalsa Beach Hotel & Spa - Mauritius Poste Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing