We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,432)
Filter reviews
1,432 results
Traveller rating
1,038
323
49
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,038
323
49
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washing machine rooftop pool sister hotel studio room second home fridge freezer private beach reception staff breakfast room separate bedroom shuttle bus sunset bar uncle nans sea breeze kitchen area home from home friendly hotel
Filter
Updating list...
890 - 895 of 1,432 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Totally love this hotel, room is big, sea view, clean, cheap. The receptionists were really nice, helpful and cheerful. May be further away from all the main town areas, but not an issue as they provide cheap (much cheaper compared to taxi) shuttle services to the main attractions like patong. And Phuket its not that big as well so doesn't make much time difference in travelling. ESP for me who don't visit nightclubs and love a quiet relax stay, this place is perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaLee_SQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Thank you for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your soonest return for another stay with us is looked forward to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Hotel is clean, staff are lovely, food ok, but not always warm! roof top pool nice! no complaints! its right on the bottom of Phuket, so about 1hr drive to center. downside only 1 small beach over other side of hill, not best beach!

Room Tip: any room is good, stayed in west wing, very spacious!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Kantary Bay, Phuket.
All guests staying there are entitled to use all the facilities at the nearby Cape Panwa, and its long pristine beach, at no extra charge.
Your comments are appreciated and we hope your stay with us was enjoyable and pleasant. We look forward to your return and appreciate your endorsement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Hi we are Carmel and Sean and we have just returned from 9 nights at Kantary Bay Hotel which we chose as it was away from the hustle and bustle of Patong, and were very impressed by everything.
We had a one bedroomed apartment on the 4th floor with a superb view. All the facilities were there, washing machine on the balcony which was great to keep up with laundry and not have loads to wash when you get home, a kitchen with the lot, full fridge which they replaced with 2 bottles of water every day although we did buy a 6 litre container from the local shop which cost $1.50 well worth it. The bed was king size and was very comfortable and lovely pillows. The room was made up every day with the option of the bed lined to be changed every day although we chose to change it only once half way through our stay.
Breakfast was included and they had a good range with the chef freshly preparing your eggs just how you liked them.
The staff here are gorgeous and so friendly they are a credit to themselves and to the hotel and their always smiling faces each time you entered or left the hotel were a joy.
We had meals at the Sawadee quite a few times and loved the food and the service and it was always full. Also ate at the seafood bbq restaurant which is part of the hotel and that was beautiful too. Had great service at India Live, my partner is allergic to coriander and his meal had quite a lot in it, when he told the owner his meal was immediately replaced with a fresh meal with no coriander in it. This was no problem at all for them.
Only place we would not recommend it the restaurant at the end of the esplanade sorry not sure of the name but its on the bend near the Naval base. The hoons on their scooters revved their bikes right outside the restaurant to zoom up and down the hill numerous times. Plus the food was very bland and the worst we had eaten during our stay.
Loved the few stalls outside the hotel and eventually discovered their prices were really competitive with the Phuket night market. We got mens Billabong shirts for 200 baht which is 6 dollars and the same price we payed at the night markets.
Caught the bus to Cape Panwa Hotel a couple of times. Nice setting near the beach, lovely to have a swim then a nice lunch. Saw a couple get married outside the beautiful Panwa House restaurant. But we did prefer our hotel better, not as big, a lot quieter and wonderful staff.
Plus value for money at Kantary Bay is excellent, $600 for 9 nights is a bargain and ok as other people have mentioned its not the flashiest hotel around but its very clean and comfortable and we were very happy with everything.
Thanks to Julie one of the advisors on this site we discovered Mr Ola, we found him to be very helpful with pretty good english and a wonderful work ethic. We hired him for a day to take us the Kok Chang elephant trek at 8.30 then to the Big Buddha near Karon then on to Patong were we spent a few hours at Jung Ceylon then a drive down the main beach of Patong. When we saw Patong and heard from other couples who were staying in Patong we were so glad we stayed at Cape Panwa. Back to hotel at 4.30pm. He charged us 1600 baht which is $50 for the whole day. A taxi to Phuket and back cost us 900 baht so it is really good value. He is also the tour guide for the hotel so you can always find him there near the reception.
I dont agree with going back to places as there is so much to see in the world but if I were to come back to Phuket I would certainly stay here again.
Our thanks go to all the staff at this hotel for making our holiday a memorable experience.
Khob khun kha

Room Tip: We had room 405a, great view, large balcony
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carmelmooloolaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

really enjoyed this place in every way... the staff were excellent, breakfast great, amazing rooftop pools and ability to use the other hotels facilities (Cape Panwa Hotel) was a big plus. A bit of the sleepy part of the island but that is what we wanted. Will surely try to go back next year as everyone we spoke with were repeat guests. I noticed that some people complained about this hotel but it seemed trivial, actually reminds me of when I worked in the restaurant business in college, if a couple were having a spat during dinner and could not complain to each other, they would surely complain to the waiter/restaurant. some things dont change. when you see that most people are going back repeatedly over several years to this same place when there are hundreds of choices in Phuket, then you know that this place is great. enjoy your stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robtokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

We hope your stay with us at the Kantary Bay, Phuket, was enjoyable and pleasant.

It is good to know that you were aware of the availability of the facilities at the Cape Panwa, Phuket, free of charge, and hopefully you availed yourself of them. Your comment and review should be helpful to other readers in their deciding where to stay while in Phuket.

Thank you very much for your time and effort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We have just returned from kantary Bay hotel for the 9th time and yet again it was wonderful. we have already booked to go back next year.The Staff are so friendly,from the 1st time we stayed there the staff have remembered us,and we had such a warm welcome, any thing you ask of them they go out of their way to help. The rooms are lovely, fully equipped kitchen with fridge Freezer so was able to freeze ice blocks for packed lunches on the beach,we even had washing machine in the room we stayed in so didn't need to fill our suitcases on the way out there so had plenty of room to take pressies home, don't even need to take toiletries only sun cream as they are provided too. The view from 'the swing' on the balcony is stunning, as is the view from the pool on top of the hotel
The beach at the sister hotel cape panwa is only a 2min trip over the hill in the free shuttle bus it is beautiful, private and quite, no beach vendors to wake you up and hassle you, no jet ski no paragliding, just peace, we have spent hours watching the staff build flower archways for the weddings on the beach so far we have seen 5.
Getting around to different areas Thai style is great The local bus is about every half hour from the aquarium it costs 25 bahts and takes you to Phuket town where you can get buses to all the beaches in the area.
30 mins away life in Patong is the complete opposite music, bars, Lady boys, shops excellent for a night out.
I could go on and on about this lovely hotel but try it for your self you won't be disappointed.

Great selection of little family run resturants

Room Tip: the one bedroom higher up have the best views
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorna3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Your positive endorsement of the Kantary Bay, Phuket, after your ninth stay with us is very much appreciated. We also look forward to your stay with us next year, which you have already booked!

Your favorable comments on the Staff, rooms, facilities, and amenities are an encouragement to all of us. Your mention of the nearby Cape Panwa, Phuket , whose facilities and long pristine beach are available, free of charge, to guests staying at the Kantary Bay is welcomed.

Once again, we thank you for your comments and review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews