We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Cape Panwa Hotel(Cape Panwa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
By The Sea(Cape Panwa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,359)
Filter reviews
1,359 results
Traveller rating
979
312
47
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
979
312
47
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashing machinerooftop poolsister hotelstudio roomsecond homefridge freezerprivate beachreception staffshuttle busseparate bedroombreakfast roomsunset baruncle nanssea breezehome from homekitchen areafriendly hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
868 - 873 of 1,359 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Stayed one night at Kantary Bay, defineity good value for the price. A nice room with a sitting room and cooking facilities especially for those staying for a longer period. It has a charm of yesteryears with lots of flowers and plants. More facilities are available at their sister hotel 5 mins by free bus shuttle. It is quiet compared to Patong but there is the phuket aquarium nearby and night market outside the hotel. We had a rented car to drive out to the city but
otherwise one could explore this area, arrange a boat trip, eating at sea breeze restaurant,
massage parlour etc. A different perspective of Phuket.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor if the flight of stairs will become a chore as there are no elevator on some block of apartments.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kappa15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Another wonderful trip to The Kantary Bay. This time we stayed for 3 weeks, this is our 2nd stay and have also stayed at The Cape Panwa 5 times. The reason we return over and over again is
seeing all the staff they are like an extended family. The area is a place of beauty, its quiet and relaxing with some great restaurants.

We had a one bed apartment which was spacious, clean and had all you would need including a washing machine, fridge and microwave. A huge king bed and lots of hanging space.

The Kantary and Cape Panwa have some great eating places. The buffet nights at Cape Panwa are superb. Sea food night and Steak night only 720 Bahts ++. Great value for the quality of food. Outside the hotel Sawasdee's is great, Dow and her staff are fantastic and also Sabai Sabai on the hill is not to be missed, Ask for Mr Nar. Also a new bar next to Sabai Sabai run by a young American and his girlfriend Steve and Nok is great, good drinks and magnificent views. Prices at this bar are very reasonable. Give it a try you won't be disappointed.

All in all a great place to stay away from the crowds of Patong etc.but near enough if you want to go and party.

I would like to say a big thank you to all the staff at the Kantary Bay for making our stay so pleasant they really do go above and beyond the call of duty to make you happy. Also a big Thank you to Pavinee , Somporn, Jennifer and Sandy at the Cape Panwa who really are such special people always ready with a genuine smile. We will return to see you all.

Love and Best Wishes to all. Kim and Ricky Profitt. xxx

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Londonkim17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We got there not expecting much because we got a very good deal.
The rooms are basic but comfortable and clean. However, whatever they lack in rooms they make up for in everything else.
The service is impecable and you are constantly being asked if everything is okay.
Brakfast is included in the room rate and is fantastic. they even have an omelette station. It could almost pass of as lunch since they have rice and noodles and salads.
You can take a free shuttle to Cape Panwa the sister hotel and use their facilities.
The private beach is beautiful and secluded and the views are fantastic.
The restaurants are delicous.
A place to fall in love again, away from all the bustle in patong, and it almost makes you feel as if you were some place else. You never want to leave the hotel.
Overall great and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valetejada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This is the second time we stayed at the Kantary Bay. The hotel maintained its quality and service, and we were never disappointed. They have great staff, great service, and totally relaxing environment. The pool was rather small but our kids enjoyed it nevertheless. We felt like staying home. The short walk to Phuket Aquarium is a bonus and I would recommend anyone, particularly if you have kids, to pay a visit.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you want pool direct access, or top floor for a good view.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naresdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We Have stayed at the Kantary Bay many times, increasing the length of the stay to 8 weeks again.
Why? Simple, combined with the sister hotel the Cape Panwa ,you have so many options. At the Bay The "uncle nans " restaurant has a lovely Italian Terrace and good food. Laem Panwa for the best Pad Thai- . There are several Thai Restaurants and an "Indian" nearby , you will find your own favourite.
Tired of Stir fry ,Have a burger or Pizza at the Clock Face.
Want a bargain ? buy ten meal tickets and get 13 to use at Kantary Bay or Cape Panwa.
My favourite, the " Set " Meals at the Top of the Reef ,with the Seafood BBQ at the Andaman Restaurant a close second. Meat eaters will love the "Steak " Night
These meals would cost three or four times more in the uk.
The Kantary (we have 1 bed apartment ) has good space and facilities for cooking simple meals , which we did once a week on average. The cleaning and servicing of the apartment first class , fresh towels and bed linen changed daily.
Flat screen tv, dvd player , microwave. ceramic hob etc and a washing machine to keep the swim wear fresh! The furnishings are "homely" at the Kantary while the Cape Panwa Rooms are right up to date and perfect for shorter holidays
Higher rooms have the best views out over the Bay . (fabu;lous ). Bay Wings1 & 2 have the best sunsets . and BaySide wing has welcome shade in the afternoon.
Is everything perfect, of course not, The transport buses between the two hotels are like the local buses "trucks " . There is one new one but two others are not user friendly. (what happened to the "" quirky" bus," ? didn't see it this year ) Tip don't expect other nationalities to wait their turn to get on, they will walk over you even if you are first.
The Breakfast room can get crowded at peak times a situation not helped by the number of tables for 4-5 people with only two diners at them .Breaksfasts offers good choice , enjoy!. .
The Hotel has one or two shabby area's , a lick of paint all that is needed. The Hotel areas and the Guest rooms are always spotless.
The outstanding asset is the staff.
Everyone from the army of cleaners , gardeners, Cooks , waiters, - Reception Staff and Management , they all work for you so well . a special mention to "Adul" on the transfer bus, he always helps those who need it.
The area is very quiet , but the hotel has coach services to Patong, Central and Phuket town
If you have ten or so friends hire a Hotel Coach to visit other Resorts , cheaper by far than taxi.
The Beach is very nice as are the various pools at the hotels. The Thai fishermen out at sea throw their litter overboard which the tide brings in . The Hotel Beach boys do a fair job at clearing it away, perhaps more people needed on this chore .
Will we come again, certainly, booked already.
Roll on January

Room Tip: There are lots of steps at both hotels, low floors may suit people with walking difficulties or choose near to lift See hotel plan on web site.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lancashirelad90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews