We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,459)
Filter reviews
1,459 results
Traveller rating
1,058
329
50
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,058
329
50
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washing machine rooftop pool sister hotel studio room second home fridge freezer private beach reception staff breakfast room separate bedroom shuttle bus uncle nans sunset bar sea breeze kitchen area home from home friendly hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,063 - 1,068 of 1,459 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Stayed here in early March and had a wonderful holiday,the rooms are a good size and well equipped.It's a quite part of Thailand and many people seem to return each year, staying for 4 to 6 weeks. I think this is down to the friendliness of staff who make everyone feel so welcome. Manager "M" was especially helpful and always seemed to be around.Would hope to return in the near future.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnMerseysideEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We have just returned from a month at Kantary Bay. This was our second visit to this very friendly hotel. Many hotels are clean and comfortable with good service but Kantary Bay has that bit more.As soon as we arrived we felt so welcomed.Everyone greets you as if they are really glad to see you
Our room was ready for us when we arrived even though it was 11am. We had the same room as last year though this year we had a washing machine
Very handy.We spent a lovely month in our comfy clean room.
We spent most of our days at the beach at the Cape Panwa hotel bliss Thank you to Sandy and Jenny for all your kindness.We loved Chang time
Finally our holiday was made even more special by our fellow guests. Hope to see you all next year.

Date of stay: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

The hotel is a gem. We were very impressed and definately would look at going again but if you do want an action packed holiday may be not the resort for you, definately designed for the quiet life which we loved.
When we first arrived our first impression was mixed. The hotel looked a little bit like it needed a refurb and a little tired. However after about an hour we realised we had made a good decision. It isnt modern and thats what you notice but you see through that and see the hotel for what it is, superb.
First of all you have to understand this resort is very quiet a fair distance from Patong Beach. If you are on holiday with the mates or generally wants lots of nights on the town, stay in Patong or closer to that area. Also there is no beach at this hotel however we are not all beach people so that didnt bother us. The Cape Panwa is the sister hotel just round the corner and you can use there beach which is lovely.
Thats all the nit picking I can go into. The postives are huge. The rooms are more like apartments. Very spacious, with all the ammenities you would have at home, such as big fridge, washing machine, kitchen etc. If you are lucky you may get a higher floor, with a great view over the bay, we were just high enough to get a decent view, and what a view! The pools are good enough, as the hotel is small so no problem with sun beds and the pools are generally empty. You have to understand with it being a hidden gem of a hotel, cheap but also very quiet, tends to be older retired couples who visit. Everyone was fantastic who we spoke with, alot tend to repeat visit the hotel year after year, often two/three months at a time. The only kind of negative is that because of that alot of the better rooms are reserved for these guests and I suppose rightly so, but the great view does add to the hotel and some rooms dont have that.
The breakfast was excellent, we pigged out every day and then often skipped lunch. We honestly didnt have a bad meal, we tried loads of restaurants, Sawasdee, Sea Breeze, uncle nans, the Indian, one just outside called The chalet (if you walk to end of prominad they give you fee taxi up to it, amazing views), James' restaurant, all amazing, theres one at the end thats great too and not forgetting Rusells bar for a drink.
You can get very cheap massages loads of places outside of the hotel. Five English pounds for an hour. Patong is good for a few nights out, very cheap on shuttle bus and about 45mins. STAFF SUPERB, very nice and friendly. Trips were good too, do barter a bit though we went Phi Phi and on Elephants and you can get them down on the price.
FINAL THING WAS THE DOG YOU WILL SEE ON THE FRONT, A LOVELY FRIENDLY DOG, NOW A STRAY, AS WAS DUMPED AS THE STORY GOES BY SOME EURO EX PATS WHO LIVED THERE AND THEN MOVED AWAY. HE FOLLOWS YOU AND IS UNBELIEVABLY FRIENDLY,. THINK THE LOCALS HAVE AT TIMES TEASED HIM AS VERY WARY OF THEM BUT WE FELT SO SORRY FOR HIM HE PANTS AWAY IN THE BLISTERING SUN AND IS VERY UNDERWEIGHT. A LAD WHO WORKS AT THE SEA BREEZE RESTAURANT DOES FEED HIM I THINK AND GOES UP THERE OF NIGHT. WE USED TO SNEEK A SAUSAGE OUT OR SOME CHICKEN FROM DINNER FOR HIM AND POUR HIM SOME WATER ON THE FLOOR FOR HIM TO DRINK. IF YOU ARE VISITING AND ARE CONFIDENT WITH DOGS PLEASE GIVE HIM A BIT OF FUSS AND EVEN JUST ONCE OF THE HOL GIVE HIM SOME FOOD OR WATER AS HATE TO THINK OF HIM SUFFERING.
To sum up if you wants a quiet time, dont want to pay too much, but want a fantastic hotel and resort, you found the hotel for you. Great hotel, We will be back!

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jamielawrence329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Once again we have enjoyed another long stay at Kantary Bay Hotel. The service, rooms and facilities provided are all excellent value for money. The staff go out of their way to ensure that every guest enjoys a good holiday experience. We look forward to our next visit to Kantary Bay.

Date of stay: February 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Somchai65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Just returned from a fortnights stay at the Kantaray Bay Hotel, We were a little dissappointed on arrival to discover that the rooms which we had been allocated, appeared almost to be in the basement, and although they were very spacious and well appointed, they were on the lowest accommodation level, and were very dark, had no balcony, or view, except of the corridor. One of the 2 rooms had an opening patio door, but had no outside seating area. However, the hotel offered us a complimentary meal, and drinks, together with a complimentary trip to Coral Island. But we were still a little dissappointed, as we had booked the hotel about a year previously, and had e mailed the hotel a couple of weeks before, requesting nice rooms as one of our party was celebrating a special birthday. Having spent a week in the dark rooms, i spoke to the manager, explaining we weren't happy and they agreed to move us to a very nice 2 bedroomed, 2 bathroom suite, on th 1st floor, which had a lovely large balcony and pleasant view. So this made up for the first weeks dissappointment.

The Hotel in general is very nice, although the photos make it look a lot nicer!! All the staff are very helpful and polite. The Breakfast was great, with plenty to choose from. The downside is the location, the hotel does not have a beach of its own, you need to get a shuttle bus to the sister hotel on the other side of the hill, its not far, but still found it an inconvenience, the beach is very nice once you get there though. Also the area is lacking in other bars and restaurants, however, the Sawasdee restaurant, is excellent and Russells, sunset bar is pleasant, the Sea Breeze is good to but don't go there if you're in a hurry!!

Overall, very pleasant and relaxing holiday, but if you like the nightlife, here is not for you.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul4278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Bay, Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2011

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to read that, overall, you enjoyed your stay with us and apologise your first room did not quite meet your expectations. As is the case in all hotels, we have a selection of rooms and some have better views than others. We acknowledge this and do our best to meet any guest requests for specific rooms or views but during busy periods this is not always possible. I am glad though that we were able to move you to a more satisfactory room for the second half of your stay.

As for your comments about our photos being a bit misleading, as you can understand we always endeavour to put our "best foot forward" on all promotional material so use the best pictures possible. I am sorry if this gave you a false impression of the hotel but we feel that the photos accurately reflect what we offer.

Once again thank you for your comments, we appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you back at one of our hotels in the near future.

The Management
Kantary Bay Phuket

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews