We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveller rating
181
145
29
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
145
29
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews phuket town high tide free shuttle per day swimming pool hotel restaurant beach towels nice pool large room living room lovely beach breakfast buffet noodles quiet area the hotel offers local restaurants private beach
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 373 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2018

The hotel is perfect in all ways, except its location. The staff where the best, most helpful people I have ever had the pleasure to meet. One maid even offered us the use of her motor cycle while she was at work for free. But there are only a few choices for food in that location. A 3 minute drive by taxi is 200 Bhat. They do offer a trip to a mall in town twice a day but you must be back at 4:30pm. By 8pm go to bed there is nothing else to do. This is a fantastic place to sleep and rest, read good books and do nothing. Can you swim? Difficult, there are photos of the rocks they are real and don't show the rocks as bad as they are. If you are under 8 this a fun place. The pool is designed for those under 8. The pool depth is max 1.3 meter or about 3 to 4 foot, but its dirty and short in length. The food in the area was so-so and expect to spend 500 Bhat a night for dinner.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank e281169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByTheSeaPhuket, The Management Team at By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear e281169,

Thank you for stay with us & for sharing your valued comments .

For next trip, we suggest to stay at Seaview Patong Hotel our sister hotel in Patong Beach there is more activity, nightlife, shopping center etc.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

The Management Team
By The Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

Loved By The Sea. Perfect location on the beach. Great value. Our room was huge as was the balcony which overlooked the ocean. Located in a quiet part of Phuket on Cape Panwa. Provides a perfect get away. The hotel offers a free shuttle into and back to Phuket City. Rooms were clean. I liked that a beach basket with beach towels, beach mat and flip flops was provided. Staff was very friendly and helpful. You can also do your own laundry which is a bonus when you have been travelling for a few weeks. A very nice breakfast was served outside down by the beach. Pool is a nice size especially when the ocean is just a few steps away. Ocean is wonderfully warm and beach is not crowded You could sit by the pool or on a lounger on the beach. Beach was kept clean. We are dinner a few times at the hotel and it was very good. There are two small beach restaurants a two minute walk down the beach or another is a five minute walk away on the road

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Shanley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

The view from the room was amazing and I really liked the beach. If you are planning to swim in the sea, keep in mind that there is lot's of rocks, when entering the sea from the beach. Hotel doesn't provide welcome drinks or even a 'welcome to the hotel' greeting. Rooms are a bit outdated, water in the shower is either too hot or too cold, nothing between. We ordered four sandwiches via roomservice and waited almost 1,5 hours those sandwiches to arrive. I don't recommend using hotel's own restaurant, food is not so good and the waiters barely speaks english. Then there is the catch, at the beach there is only few places to eat but the quality of food varies a lot. So you have to use the hotel's own restaurant. Hotel provides free shuttle to the Phuket town, and I highly recommend to use it. You can eat at the Phuket Centrall festivall shopping centre. Hotel's pool is kinda small, but usefull. Hotel has a fitness room, which was nice.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank timot927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByTheSeaPhuket, The Management Team at By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Dear timot927,

Thank you for give us your valued feedback that will help us to improve our service.

Best regards,

The Management Team
By The Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

A mixed bag, to be sure. Biggest negative was false advertising. We booked a sea view room and were given a room with a garden view only. I complained but “sorry sold out.” I had made my reservation 10 months earlier. Other negatives: poor WiFi that required constant re-signing in; a bedroom door, shower door and front door that were broken; no change of towels some nights. Most staff speak little English. Located about an hour from the airport (800-1000 baht taxi ride) and 20 minutes from Phuket town in an isolated area. Just a few eating places nearby on the beach and at the hotel. Beach is mediocre with a fair amount of garbage. Very slippery steps and lots of them. Now the good news: the rooms are enormous with a living area and kitchen. Property is right on the beach and most rooms have a sea view. Quiet area and decent restaurant. Good breakfast included. Very reasonable prices for beach location. Nice pool and lounge chairs on the beach. Free shuttle offered twice daily into town. In summary, it could be a great hotel but misses the mark and be sure to nail down your sea view.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank duggem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByTheSeaPhuket, The Management Team at By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Mrs. / Mr. Dugger,

Thank you for give us your feedback with valued comment that will help us to improve our service and sorry for any inconvenience.

Our rooms are all facing to the sea and you can see the sea view from your balcony. Actually, your room can have both garden view and sea view by just walking through the terrace from your rooom then you can have the sea view.

However, our team did offer you to change the room to upper floor but you changed your mind do not move.

We still would hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back here again.

With kind regards,

The Management Team
By The Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

After 2 months of eating in restaurants, we booked By The Sea because of its kitchenette and quietness. When we arrived I noticed that all the cupboards were empty. I went to the front office to be told where to go to buy dishes, can opener, toaster, cutlery, tea towel etc. They provide the stove top and the fridge but not the equipment. Later on, the restaurant sent a basket with 2 chipped plates, forks, knives and a pot without a handle. We were not the only one complaining but either their English is not good or as it was suggested by the group who stayed there 3 weeks he pretends not to understand us. Breakfast is limited. It is unfortunate because the building and pool are well kept. The rooms are clean and it is in a secluded area if you are looking for quiet.
The beach is short and it has a lot of broken glass and garbage (not in front of the hotel). You can not swim or snorkel until high tide and the water always seems murky (really not ideal for beach lovers). You can find some local restaurants nearby reasonably priced. Tips: The first level of the hotel is subject to flood. Smoking is permitted in rooms and on the premise. Internet is often cut off. Limited tv channels (especially after 2 days of rain) . If you are going to use the hotel shuttle, make sure to book at the front office ahead of time. It has to be said that a lot of the staff are hard workers but the front office has problems. I wish there was a 2.5 for rating, 2 was low but 3 seems high.

Room Tip: Read all the people comments before booking.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChantalYolande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ByTheSeaPhuket, The Management Team at By The Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Mrs. Chantal Yolande / Mr. Irvine Francis Johnson,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and also your valued comments which we will improve our service.

For the utensil of kitchenette, we have the signage placed in room for the information in case of the guest would like to use the kitchenette, they can dial no.0 to ask what they want.

Please do accept our apology for something that not as per you expectation.

Hope we can get a chance to welcome you back again on next trip.

With kind regards,

The Management Team
By The Sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews