We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
US$ 129
US$ 118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amatara Wellness Resort(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
US$ 168
US$ 162
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
US$ 111
US$ 91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
By The Sea(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
US$ 46
US$ 44
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cloud19 Beach Retreat(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
US$ 67
US$ 48
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mangrove Panwa Phuket Resort(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
US$ 59
US$ 54
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bandara Villas Phuket(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
US$ 396
US$ 378
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 412
US$ 347
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kantary Bay, Phuket(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,868)
Filter reviews
2,868 results
Traveller rating
1,751
736
252
86
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,751
736
252
86
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi on the balconyprivate beachreef restaurantcoral islandshuttle busbamboo barlighthouse barsuperior roomsister hotelphuket towncafe andamanlight housesteep hillcable carpalm treeshouse restaurantsteak night
Filter
Updating list...
1,938 - 1,943 of 2,868 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2010

This hotel was out of the world. It had everything ever wanted by a guest. Stunning beach, large pool with ample sunbeds with free towls for the poolside and the private beach, Luxurious spa as part of the hotel and unspoilt surroundings with gorgeous views. Top class place for scenic people. Friendliest staff happy to help, anything that you want, their reply is 'No Problem'. Excellent food in any of the 4 chosen restaurants they own. Outstanding breakfast with the biggest range ever seen that keeps you going till dinner. This hotel has something for everyone. Games room for children, thai massage down the beach for the parents and for adventures, free canoeing and diving lessons. I would happily return to the same hotel,and wouldn't have second thoughts, I would recoment it to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nikki_patel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

The hotel is just great. If you want a place with privacy this is definitely the hotel. Quite a distant from Patong Beach but if you have your own rental car it should not be a problem. The hotel also provides all sorts of services, shuttle bus to Patong and island hopping trips. The staff is also very friendly.
The main reason why I chose this hotel is because it has it's own private beach. Not many hotels in phuket have their own private beach. The beach is however, not for a swim lots of corals but good each for a daily beach outing if you have a 4 yr old tagging along.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asyie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Booked with Dreamticket (dreamthailand) - trouble free, excellent value for money, no problems. Flew with Malaysian Airlines - again, no problems, good food, as good as economy can be being on a plane for 12 hours. As a side note - we are 26 and 29 - the hotel, as some have said on TA - is not full of really old people!!

Met at the airport - no problems, about an hours drive to the hotel as it is at the far end of Phuket - about as far from the airport as you can be. Swift check in - and even though we arrived at about 10am, we were able to go to our room straight away which was lovely given how long we had been travelling. We had emailed prior to travelling to ask for a room with a sea view (most of the rooms do have a sea view, but mayb e obscured by palms/garden). However, our view - room R311 - was 180 degree sea/landscape view that was amazing - at no extra cost. The room was slightly smaller than the other standard rooms, however this did not affect us - and the view was stunning.

The restaurants in the hotel are excellent - and as someone has said previously - they are cheap compared to UK prices, however they are obviously going to be more expensive than the smaller, local ones located on the hill on the way up to the hotel. We ate in all of the restaurants on the hill - the food was excellent -both for quality and value, and the service was great. Don't be put off venturing out of the hotel to eat, as we did not have any problems with any of the food. One member of our party only ate seafood for the entire stay, and never had any problems whatsoever. An average meal for 4 people in the local restaurants, starter and main, with a drink or 2 each - coke, or local beer - was about 1200 THB - which is about 24 GBP. The Hilltop, James' Seafood and Seabreeze are all similar and well worth trying. All also gave complimentary fruit after the meal - which was a pleasant surprise as you don't get anything for free in the UK.

Having said all that - we did eat in the hotel restaurants too - when we first arrived and were too tired to venture out, and at several times during the stay around the pool. The Andaman restaurant round the poolside is good for cheaper light lunches - like rice and prawns/chicken - for about 180-200 THB. The Panwa House restuarant on the beach is great for proper thai food - it is a little more formal, and slightly more expensive about 220-280 THB - but don't forget, rice comes with all the meals usually. The Lighthouse, opposite the hotel entrance, is well worth visiting in the evenings - the staff are really friendly and the band that plays there is good. Great cocktails and free popcorn too! The Laem Panwa down at the sister hotel, the Kantery Bay, was also good for a nice meal - not too expensive, and all tax/vat/service charge is included. People on here have commented rather negatively about the service charge and tax that gets added - but their tax of 7% is better than the ever increasing tax in the UK. Also - having service charge already added, takes away the awkwardness of having to work it out yourselves. And, I don't think we ate anywhere where the service charge wasn't deserved anyway!

The shuttle bus down to the Kantary Bay was AMAZING!! Thank the lord for it! It goes about every 7 minutes, has friendly drivers, and drops you down at the bottom of the hill for the restaurants, supermarket, and taxi's or the aquarium. The supermarket is also excellent, which proved invaluable for buying beach snacks if you don't want to buy a meal for lunch - and also beer/coke etc is cheaper than buying it in the bars/restaurants/mini bar. Excellent for having a drink on your balcony in the evenings. It is actually owned by the hotel, so don't feel worried about taking food/drink back to your room -everyone does it and its all ok.

The beach is great when the tide is in - and you can swim - when we went it was very calm and there were no problems. Towels are provided which was excellent, both at the beach and the pool. The tram up from the beach is great if you cannot manage the steps. Bring mozzie spray - would be out only advice, as we did get bitten a bit.

On the last 2 days of our trip, we found we had spent so little of our money on food (we took 700 GBP/33000 THB for 2 of us for 2 weeks) - we had enough money to upgrade to a private pool villa for 2 nights at a cost of 6000 THB per night - about 123 GBP. We weren't expecting to have so much money left over, and as when we asked they said there was one avaliable, we thought, why not. This was well worth it, and a lovely luxury to finish our holiday. The pool was lovely, the rooms spacious - they sleep 4; lovely flat screen TV, bigger fridge, 2 bathrooms etc. Would reccommend for a family or 2 couples if you've got the money left. Not sure we'd want it for the 2 whole weeks as you'd never venture out!

We didn't do many trips, as we have been to Thailand before - but we did do a trip to Patong. The hotel's bus leaves at 7:30 and picks you up at 11:30. Originally, we thought this wouldnt give us enough time in Patong - so we booked a private taxt for the same price and left at 4:30 - getting to Patong about an hour later - and being picked up at 11:30. To be honest - unless you're a backpacker, clubber or like noise/people/business/neon signs and the other tourist crap you get in places like that - you'll be grateful to come back to the Panwa! It completely did not represent true Thailand. If you do go - the hotel's taxt times are probably adequate -you don't need any longer there!!

In conclusion - we got an excellent deal with Dreamticket and this is the only hotel we've been to so far on our travels that we would consider going back to. It is very peaceful, quiet, not too isolated, with some great restaurants nearby - which is exactly what we wanted.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank steveandjane070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

It was pleasure during my stay at Cape Panwa. I reserved superior room, but the manager upgraded us to suite room with jacuzzi in there. :D The room was so clean and luxury. Breakfast was also good and yummy.
Only one disadvantage is the hotel is quite far from the city. It took more than hour to get into Patong/Downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csk_pear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

the hotel is away from everything and there is no great thing around. However, if we want peace and tranquility, this hotel is perfect.
the rooms are nice and clean.
the service is good and the food is fantastic.
you can book excursions to the Phi Phi or James Bond Islands or a visit to Patong

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frenchlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews