We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cape Panwa Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (2,806)
    Filter reviews
    2,806 results
    Traveller rating
    1,710
    719
    249
    86
    42
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    1,710
    719
    249
    86
    42
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsprivate beachjacuzzi on the balconyreef restaurantcoral islandshuttle busbamboo barsuperior roomlighthouse barsister hotelphuket towncafe andamanlight househouse restaurantsteak nightsteep hillcable carpalm trees
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    1,634 - 1,639 of 2,806 reviews
    Reviewed 23 April 2012

    So many people cringe when you mention holidaying in 'Phuket', not realising that the island is much bigger and better than simply the tourist centre of Patong. Cape Panwa Hotel is just such an instance of a magical location, peace and quiet, and wonderful service.

    We booked through a group buy special voucher deal, but (very wisely) arranged to pay the extra to upgrade to a Cape Signature Suite. In a word: OMG!

    The views were to die for. The suite was huge and comfortable. Although we never used it, there was a spa bath on the large verandah, as well as a day bed. There was a huge TV and DVD player, which swivelled for viewing in either the lounge or bedroom area, and a 2nd toilet leading from the living room. Also a nice kitchen with sink and large fridge. The bathroom itself had both a huge walk-in shower area (which for once didn't flood the bathroom floor!), as well as a massive 2-person bathtub.

    Service was impeccable and the breakfast buffet was one of the most comprehensive and high-quality that we've experienced in decades of hotel stays. Ample fresh tropical fruit, Asian options, cook-on-demand eggs and pancakes.

    The hotel has a number of restaurants, all of which are great quality, so if you chose to stay put, there would be no need really to leave the hotel's grounds. They also have a voucher deal, where you can pre-purchase a set number of dinner vouchers from the cashier at a ridiculously low price (with one free with the purchase of 5, 3 free with the purchase of 10). You can redeem these for the ever-changing set dinners in any of the hotel's restaurants. If unsure what you'd like on any given day, there are folders with each restaurant's daily menus at reception, so you could plan your week that way!

    Our faves were the French restaurant and the iconic Panwa House Thai, right on the beach. There really cannot be a more romantic, peaceful place to eat than on the verandah of Panwa House, overlooking the Andaman Sea, listing to the waves and enjoying the wonderful Thai food they supply. A hint: When there, make sure you pop up the staircase to the little museum-like display of the house's inhabitants in bygone years.

    Unfortunately, 'happy hour' for cocktails is only available in limited locations, but if you time it right, you can have a cocktail and then move on to dinner.

    One small quibble: the main pool is right outside the deck on which buffet meals are served to smokers. This is also the public area which features free wi-fi, so the area is packed for much of the day and evening, every day. This means (a) occasional wafting smoke and (b) the fact that you are kind of 'on display' to the punters when in or beside the pool. And the pool water is quite warm, but that's not unique to Phuket pools. It was, however, extremely clean.

    The staff were great with communication, both in person and via email while we were booking. Kudos for the excellent English language skills of just about everyone from front desk to cashier, in the various restaurants, and even the housekeeping staff!

    We will not hesitate to stay here again, when next in Phuket, and cannot recommend the Signature Suites more highly.

    Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to the Cape Signature Suites, if you can afford it - views to die for, beautiful living space, and lovely peace and quiet.
    • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank maruschka
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 April 2012

    Our family stayed at the Cape Panwa Hotel in January 2012 for 8 nights. We were very fortunate as we stayed in the Pool Villa and with 2 small children this was ideal for us. The hotel has 2 pools and a beautiful private beach. One main restaurant and a beach cafe serviced our eating requirements well. Everything was spotless and we had a thoroughly relaxing time. Being peak season the beach was very busy as many people from the sister property down the road are permitted access. This was a bit annoying as it was hard to find a sun lounge at times but it was not a problem as the kids were always running around or swimming and you have to expect this in peak season. The hotel is 4 stars but we thought it was marvelous. If you are after several restaurants, kids clubs, then this is not the place for you and the larger chains of hotels are a better choice. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have booked again for January school holidays.

    • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Ninermack
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 April 2012

    Being concerned about sharing a bus to the hotel we ordered the Mercedes, on our return home we used the mini bus which is modern, extremely comfortable, well equipped and more than adequate.

    We had an idyllic 2 weeks stay and ate out only once. The superb quality and varied types of food at the different restaurants would be difficult to improve on and set menus change daily. Food presentation in "The Top of the Reef" is superb as is the friendliness and service it reflects a 5* privately owned restaurant rather than a hotel restaurant. Food is of consistently wonderful quality and beautifully presented, there is a set menu and a la Carte.

    For carnivores and sea food lovers, don't miss the weekly buffet barbeques at Cafe Andaman; there are alternative dishes available on these evenings. The excellent buffet breakfast is also served at Cafe Andaman and offers Western & Asian dishes like all meals there.

    The hotel operates, if chosen, a pre purchased meal ticket system offering up to a 30% discount on buying10 set meals. these can also be utilised against a la carte selections. Effectively a set meal was reduced in price to just over $10, unbeatable value for the choice and quality.

    Every member of staff is extremely helpful and obliging without exception. The attention to detail and quality is reflected throughout, especially by Jean-Marie Vallee, the food & beverage manager who was in every restaurant at every meal during our stay. Tim, the front of house manager/concierge has a wealth of knowledge and puts himself out to help and advise. Our maid, May?, must be singled out for keeping our room so spotless.

    We took a long tail boat trip to Coral Island and thoroughly enjoyed the scuba diving and fish feeding so much we went again with the hotel the following day. This was a far better organised and a less expensive trip although for fewer hours which in fact gave us more than sufficient time there.

    The sea at the beach suffers on occasions with incoming debris on the tide. The hotel makes every effort and succeeds in keeping the beach clean & tidy. The beach Bamboo Bar serves decent snacks and drinks, is typically relaxed with such friendly service. The number of beach beds was more than adequate and the beach pool well sheltered out of the sun in the afternoons. The main pool is excellent and very clean.

    The Light House is a relaxed bar with the excellent band who play at the Andaman Restaurant earlier in the evening making a good buzz. The happy hour drinks can be called for one by one if asked for and purchased in happy hour time.

    We upgraded to a suite overlooking the ocean. The linen is excellent quality and the bed supremely comfortable. The room we were originally allocated was also excellent, the bed and linen of similar quality.

    What more to say? This is a quiet hotel away from noise and bright light night life, if this is what you seek just go and have a fabulous time, you won't be disappointed

    Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent but being nearer the beach made the short walk there easier. We stayed in C 4011, well recommended. No night time noise
    • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank noosajo
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 April 2012

    WE stayed here in Sept 2011, we booked the private villas and they were lovely! Was really great to have our own pool. The ladies who cleaned our room were just gorgeous and made our rooms beautifully everyday. WE stayed at Kata(Kata beach resort) for 10 days after which was lovely but nothing compared to the personal service from Cape Panwa :). Breakfast was fabulous, much better than back in Kata. There isn't much to do in Cape Panwa but a great place to start your holiday for relaxation. The day we were leaving our laundry had been stuck in traffic and didn't arrive in time , so they organised it to be sent to Kata for our arrival, would definately recommend this hotel.

    • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank LTKTCTCT
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 April 2012

    We have just returned from our first visit @Cape Panwa Hotel, which had lots of advantages such as private beach.

    The customer service was great at the hotel- they were genuinely nice and friendly people. Pevinee at the front desk always greeted us with the biggest smile and made us feel welcome.

    On arrival @9am we were shown to our rooms in the brand new Junior Suite (T&U buildings). The room and the view over the village and the Andaman sea were amazing despite few transmitter posts, And it offered the most amazing sunset view. Unfortunately there were building works nearby (nothing to do with the hotel) and the noise was somewhat disturbing. As soon as we mentioned it to the front desk staff they showed us to the different room, which was as noisy and when we didn't accept they upgraded us to the Cape Suite in J building, with view to the garden and glimpse of the sea.

    The Cape Suite seemed a bit older decor than the Junior Suite but it was large, clean and spacious with a jacuzzi on the balcony. Bathrooms were big with wetroom and bath and his&hers basins. On the balcony railings you would see some corrosion from the damp and sea air but it is kind of expected in tropical climates.

    Because it is quite humid- you would occasionally come across some extremely tiny ants in few corners of the bathroom. None which bite and mainly run away from us anyway-speaking to other guests they had the same and we weren't bothered. You would get that anywhere in Phuket due to climate.

    The only minor negative about the room was- the average housekeeping! Some days we didn't receive hand towels and had to ring up for them. And the minibar wasn't refilled daily- so we had to chase up to make sure we weren't charged twice for the same items. But they kept it very clean.

    The hotel has 2 pools, incl infinity pool on the beach- both very well kept but they are about to refurb the main pool and the Cafe Andaman. Neither which looked shabby or in need of it but the hotel thrives towards the highest standards than it already is.

    The beach is a real winner- they worked hard to keep it clean from the rubbish that the tides brought in. It has white sand and beautiful views to the sea.You will see quite a few ships going by but that's kind of expected!

    You could easily walk down to the beach or take a train if walking the hill was more challenging. We never had a problem finding a free lounger at any time of the day. The most important thing- it was safe. We constantly left our kindles and iphones by the loungers as we wondered around or went for a swim. The only thing- it has its own coral reef just off the beach- please be careful when going in in lower tides as there are quite a few sea urchins wondering about. The best thing would be always wear the shoes when going in! Apparently every week someone threads on one of those monsters.
    I got stung by jellyfish one day but they had nurse on call just next to the front desk and she dealt with it quickly and I was fine by next day.

    The Bamboo bar served ok food to all tastes and served great shakes and cocktails! besides there was no need to worry about the ice- it was made from bottled water. I didn't have any tummy upsets while I was there.

    The Panwa House is slightly more expensive than food in the village but still cheap compared to UK. Meals with drinks & starters for 2 people cost from 700-1000 baht. And the food was amazing- their curries were best we had in Thailand and they were quite spicy (hence authentic) and their fishcakes were out of this world :) Make sure you have the moskito repellent on you when you go there and choose to sit outside!

    Cafe Andaman breakfasts were very good and catered to every taste.

    Hotel offers a taxi service and we befriended a guy called Maroon who took us everywhere and often waited when I was visiting Wat Chalong Temple or my other half joined in for a Thai boxing training session in the nearby gym run by one of the porters at the hotel.

    The hotel offers lots of tours, which are worth booking despite you would see a cheaper price down the village in the tour shops. The difference is in the quality- what you pay is what you get. If you fancy being on a speedboat with 65 people - you pay 1200 baht. if you want to share same space with 25 people and have your own guide- you pay 3300.

    I booked a cooking course via hotel to Phuket Thai Cooking School in Patong- cost 2900 baht but we cooked our own meals from scratch there and ate them (5 meals!). It was such good fun and hands on- with recipe cards etc.

    The hotel offers a shuttle bus over the hill to the village- it is convenient way to get up and down but it is only 10 min walk if you fancy some exercise. On the way down there are lots of massage shops- we visited Baan Thai were the service was excellent and we always got more treatment time than we paid for.

    All in all- it was the best holiday ever and we will definitely look forward to returning to Cape Panwa Hotel.

    Room Tip: Brand new Junior Suites are the furthest from the beach but offer the best view of the sunset - they are spacious with stunning bathroom. Cape Suites are even bigger and closer to the reception area and the beach- but unless you are on the top floor you don't get undisturbed sea view but the tropical garden view with glimpse of sea is still a beautiful one
    • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Kadi425
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews