We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cape Panwa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Panwa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

stayed at this hotel for two weeks november 2011 well run by mainly french management who were always very kind and attentive other staff were all lovely and could not do enough for you hotel was pretty remote from other parts of phuket,you can share facilities with their sister hotel the kantary bay which is a 5 minute bus ride by the hotel courtesy bus up and over a very steep hill. food and drink in the restaurants was very good and reasonably priced.nice beach when the tide was in.there are a few restaurants and bars in the local village.if you just want to relax by the pool or beach and are not bothered by the bright lights of the bigger resorts this is a lovely hotel and the ideal place for some peace and quiet. ps we got upgraded to a cape suite room which was exellent and a nice gesture by the hotel, thank you all for a nice holiday.

Room Tip: see if you can get upgraded to a cape suite they are first class and huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank touristtony2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,500
    644
    227
    79
    40
See reviews for
499
1,455
49
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

So many people cringe when you mention holidaying in 'Phuket', not realising that the island is much bigger and better than simply the tourist centre of Patong. Cape Panwa Hotel is just such an instance of a magical location, peace and quiet, and wonderful service.

We booked through a group buy special voucher deal, but (very wisely) arranged to pay the extra to upgrade to a Cape Signature Suite. In a word: OMG!

The views were to die for. The suite was huge and comfortable. Although we never used it, there was a spa bath on the large verandah, as well as a day bed. There was a huge TV and DVD player, which swivelled for viewing in either the lounge or bedroom area, and a 2nd toilet leading from the living room. Also a nice kitchen with sink and large fridge. The bathroom itself had both a huge walk-in shower area (which for once didn't flood the bathroom floor!), as well as a massive 2-person bathtub.

Service was impeccable and the breakfast buffet was one of the most comprehensive and high-quality that we've experienced in decades of hotel stays. Ample fresh tropical fruit, Asian options, cook-on-demand eggs and pancakes.

The hotel has a number of restaurants, all of which are great quality, so if you chose to stay put, there would be no need really to leave the hotel's grounds. They also have a voucher deal, where you can pre-purchase a set number of dinner vouchers from the cashier at a ridiculously low price (with one free with the purchase of 5, 3 free with the purchase of 10). You can redeem these for the ever-changing set dinners in any of the hotel's restaurants. If unsure what you'd like on any given day, there are folders with each restaurant's daily menus at reception, so you could plan your week that way!

Our faves were the French restaurant and the iconic Panwa House Thai, right on the beach. There really cannot be a more romantic, peaceful place to eat than on the verandah of Panwa House, overlooking the Andaman Sea, listing to the waves and enjoying the wonderful Thai food they supply. A hint: When there, make sure you pop up the staircase to the little museum-like display of the house's inhabitants in bygone years.

Unfortunately, 'happy hour' for cocktails is only available in limited locations, but if you time it right, you can have a cocktail and then move on to dinner.

One small quibble: the main pool is right outside the deck on which buffet meals are served to smokers. This is also the public area which features free wi-fi, so the area is packed for much of the day and evening, every day. This means (a) occasional wafting smoke and (b) the fact that you are kind of 'on display' to the punters when in or beside the pool. And the pool water is quite warm, but that's not unique to Phuket pools. It was, however, extremely clean.

The staff were great with communication, both in person and via email while we were booking. Kudos for the excellent English language skills of just about everyone from front desk to cashier, in the various restaurants, and even the housekeeping staff!

We will not hesitate to stay here again, when next in Phuket, and cannot recommend the Signature Suites more highly.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to the Cape Signature Suites, if you can afford it - views to die for, beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maruschka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Our family stayed at the Cape Panwa Hotel in January 2012 for 8 nights. We were very fortunate as we stayed in the Pool Villa and with 2 small children this was ideal for us. The hotel has 2 pools and a beautiful private beach. One main restaurant and a beach cafe serviced our eating requirements well. Everything was spotless and we had a thoroughly relaxing time. Being peak season the beach was very busy as many people from the sister property down the road are permitted access. This was a bit annoying as it was hard to find a sun lounge at times but it was not a problem as the kids were always running around or swimming and you have to expect this in peak season. The hotel is 4 stars but we thought it was marvelous. If you are after several restaurants, kids clubs, then this is not the place for you and the larger chains of hotels are a better choice. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have booked again for January school holidays.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ninermack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Being concerned about sharing a bus to the hotel we ordered the Mercedes, on our return home we used the mini bus which is modern, extremely comfortable, well equipped and more than adequate.

We had an idyllic 2 weeks stay and ate out only once. The superb quality and varied types of food at the different restaurants would be difficult to improve on and set menus change daily. Food presentation in "The Top of the Reef" is superb as is the friendliness and service it reflects a 5* privately owned restaurant rather than a hotel restaurant. Food is of consistently wonderful quality and beautifully presented, there is a set menu and a la Carte.

For carnivores and sea food lovers, don't miss the weekly buffet barbeques at Cafe Andaman; there are alternative dishes available on these evenings. The excellent buffet breakfast is also served at Cafe Andaman and offers Western & Asian dishes like all meals there.

The hotel operates, if chosen, a pre purchased meal ticket system offering up to a 30% discount on buying10 set meals. these can also be utilised against a la carte selections. Effectively a set meal was reduced in price to just over $10, unbeatable value for the choice and quality.

Every member of staff is extremely helpful and obliging without exception. The attention to detail and quality is reflected throughout, especially by Jean-Marie Vallee, the food & beverage manager who was in every restaurant at every meal during our stay. Tim, the front of house manager/concierge has a wealth of knowledge and puts himself out to help and advise. Our maid, May?, must be singled out for keeping our room so spotless.

We took a long tail boat trip to Coral Island and thoroughly enjoyed the scuba diving and fish feeding so much we went again with the hotel the following day. This was a far better organised and a less expensive trip although for fewer hours which in fact gave us more than sufficient time there.

The sea at the beach suffers on occasions with incoming debris on the tide. The hotel makes every effort and succeeds in keeping the beach clean & tidy. The beach Bamboo Bar serves decent snacks and drinks, is typically relaxed with such friendly service. The number of beach beds was more than adequate and the beach pool well sheltered out of the sun in the afternoons. The main pool is excellent and very clean.

The Light House is a relaxed bar with the excellent band who play at the Andaman Restaurant earlier in the evening making a good buzz. The happy hour drinks can be called for one by one if asked for and purchased in happy hour time.

We upgraded to a suite overlooking the ocean. The linen is excellent quality and the bed supremely comfortable. The room we were originally allocated was also excellent, the bed and linen of similar quality.

What more to say? This is a quiet hotel away from noise and bright light night life, if this is what you seek just go and have a fabulous time, you won't be disappointed

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent but being nearer the beach made the short walk there easier. We staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank noosajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Munmorah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

WE stayed here in Sept 2011, we booked the private villas and they were lovely! Was really great to have our own pool. The ladies who cleaned our room were just gorgeous and made our rooms beautifully everyday. WE stayed at Kata(Kata beach resort) for 10 days after which was lovely but nothing compared to the personal service from Cape Panwa :). Breakfast was fabulous, much better than back in Kata. There isn't much to do in Cape Panwa but a great place to start your holiday for relaxation. The day we were leaving our laundry had been stuck in traffic and didn't arrive in time , so they organised it to be sent to Kata for our arrival, would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LTKTCTCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
0.2 km away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
0.3 km away
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Kantary Bay, Phuket
#1 of 13 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
0.8 km away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
40.7 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Panwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Panwa Hotel

Property: Cape Panwa Hotel
Address: 27, 27/7 Moo 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,678 - ₹ 43,598
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Panwa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Panwa Hotel embodies tropical luxury in one of the world's most desirable destinations. Tucked away in a quiet corner of southeast Phuket, the villa is renowned for its excellent service, stylish rooms and exclusive swimming pool. Blending superbly with the natural beauty of the area, the hotel is comprised of a selection tastefully decorated suites and pool villas. Thailand's premier luxury chain of Villa and Serviced Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Cape Panwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Panwa Phuket
Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing