We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Cape Panwa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Panwa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Our family stayed at the Cape Panwa Hotel in January 2012 for 8 nights. We were very fortunate as we stayed in the Pool Villa and with 2 small children this was ideal for us. The hotel has 2 pools and a beautiful private beach. One main restaurant and a beach cafe serviced our eating requirements well. Everything was spotless and we had a thoroughly relaxing time. Being peak season the beach was very busy as many people from the sister property down the road are permitted access. This was a bit annoying as it was hard to find a sun lounge at times but it was not a problem as the kids were always running around or swimming and you have to expect this in peak season. The hotel is 4 stars but we thought it was marvelous. If you are after several restaurants, kids clubs, then this is not the place for you and the larger chains of hotels are a better choice. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have booked again for January school holidays.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ninermack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,535 - 1,539 of 2,657 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

Being concerned about sharing a bus to the hotel we ordered the Mercedes, on our return home we used the mini bus which is modern, extremely comfortable, well equipped and more than adequate.

We had an idyllic 2 weeks stay and ate out only once. The superb quality and varied types of food at the different restaurants would be difficult to improve on and set menus change daily. Food presentation in "The Top of the Reef" is superb as is the friendliness and service it reflects a 5* privately owned restaurant rather than a hotel restaurant. Food is of consistently wonderful quality and beautifully presented, there is a set menu and a la Carte.

For carnivores and sea food lovers, don't miss the weekly buffet barbeques at Cafe Andaman; there are alternative dishes available on these evenings. The excellent buffet breakfast is also served at Cafe Andaman and offers Western & Asian dishes like all meals there.

The hotel operates, if chosen, a pre purchased meal ticket system offering up to a 30% discount on buying10 set meals. these can also be utilised against a la carte selections. Effectively a set meal was reduced in price to just over $10, unbeatable value for the choice and quality.

Every member of staff is extremely helpful and obliging without exception. The attention to detail and quality is reflected throughout, especially by Jean-Marie Vallee, the food & beverage manager who was in every restaurant at every meal during our stay. Tim, the front of house manager/concierge has a wealth of knowledge and puts himself out to help and advise. Our maid, May?, must be singled out for keeping our room so spotless.

We took a long tail boat trip to Coral Island and thoroughly enjoyed the scuba diving and fish feeding so much we went again with the hotel the following day. This was a far better organised and a less expensive trip although for fewer hours which in fact gave us more than sufficient time there.

The sea at the beach suffers on occasions with incoming debris on the tide. The hotel makes every effort and succeeds in keeping the beach clean & tidy. The beach Bamboo Bar serves decent snacks and drinks, is typically relaxed with such friendly service. The number of beach beds was more than adequate and the beach pool well sheltered out of the sun in the afternoons. The main pool is excellent and very clean.

The Light House is a relaxed bar with the excellent band who play at the Andaman Restaurant earlier in the evening making a good buzz. The happy hour drinks can be called for one by one if asked for and purchased in happy hour time.

We upgraded to a suite overlooking the ocean. The linen is excellent quality and the bed supremely comfortable. The room we were originally allocated was also excellent, the bed and linen of similar quality.

What more to say? This is a quiet hotel away from noise and bright light night life, if this is what you seek just go and have a fabulous time, you won't be disappointed

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent but being nearer the beach made the short walk there easier. We staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank noosajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

WE stayed here in Sept 2011, we booked the private villas and they were lovely! Was really great to have our own pool. The ladies who cleaned our room were just gorgeous and made our rooms beautifully everyday. WE stayed at Kata(Kata beach resort) for 10 days after which was lovely but nothing compared to the personal service from Cape Panwa :). Breakfast was fabulous, much better than back in Kata. There isn't much to do in Cape Panwa but a great place to start your holiday for relaxation. The day we were leaving our laundry had been stuck in traffic and didn't arrive in time , so they organised it to be sent to Kata for our arrival, would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LTKTCTCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We have just returned from our first visit @Cape Panwa Hotel, which had lots of advantages such as private beach.

The customer service was great at the hotel- they were genuinely nice and friendly people. Pevinee at the front desk always greeted us with the biggest smile and made us feel welcome.

On arrival @9am we were shown to our rooms in the brand new Junior Suite (T&U buildings). The room and the view over the village and the Andaman sea were amazing despite few transmitter posts, And it offered the most amazing sunset view. Unfortunately there were building works nearby (nothing to do with the hotel) and the noise was somewhat disturbing. As soon as we mentioned it to the front desk staff they showed us to the different room, which was as noisy and when we didn't accept they upgraded us to the Cape Suite in J building, with view to the garden and glimpse of the sea.

The Cape Suite seemed a bit older decor than the Junior Suite but it was large, clean and spacious with a jacuzzi on the balcony. Bathrooms were big with wetroom and bath and his&hers basins. On the balcony railings you would see some corrosion from the damp and sea air but it is kind of expected in tropical climates.

Because it is quite humid- you would occasionally come across some extremely tiny ants in few corners of the bathroom. None which bite and mainly run away from us anyway-speaking to other guests they had the same and we weren't bothered. You would get that anywhere in Phuket due to climate.

The only minor negative about the room was- the average housekeeping! Some days we didn't receive hand towels and had to ring up for them. And the minibar wasn't refilled daily- so we had to chase up to make sure we weren't charged twice for the same items. But they kept it very clean.

The hotel has 2 pools, incl infinity pool on the beach- both very well kept but they are about to refurb the main pool and the Cafe Andaman. Neither which looked shabby or in need of it but the hotel thrives towards the highest standards than it already is.

The beach is a real winner- they worked hard to keep it clean from the rubbish that the tides brought in. It has white sand and beautiful views to the sea.You will see quite a few ships going by but that's kind of expected!

You could easily walk down to the beach or take a train if walking the hill was more challenging. We never had a problem finding a free lounger at any time of the day. The most important thing- it was safe. We constantly left our kindles and iphones by the loungers as we wondered around or went for a swim. The only thing- it has its own coral reef just off the beach- please be careful when going in in lower tides as there are quite a few sea urchins wondering about. The best thing would be always wear the shoes when going in! Apparently every week someone threads on one of those monsters.
I got stung by jellyfish one day but they had nurse on call just next to the front desk and she dealt with it quickly and I was fine by next day.

The Bamboo bar served ok food to all tastes and served great shakes and cocktails! besides there was no need to worry about the ice- it was made from bottled water. I didn't have any tummy upsets while I was there.

The Panwa House is slightly more expensive than food in the village but still cheap compared to UK. Meals with drinks & starters for 2 people cost from 700-1000 baht. And the food was amazing- their curries were best we had in Thailand and they were quite spicy (hence authentic) and their fishcakes were out of this world :) Make sure you have the moskito repellent on you when you go there and choose to sit outside!

Cafe Andaman breakfasts were very good and catered to every taste.

Hotel offers a taxi service and we befriended a guy called Maroon who took us everywhere and often waited when I was visiting Wat Chalong Temple or my other half joined in for a Thai boxing training session in the nearby gym run by one of the porters at the hotel.

The hotel offers lots of tours, which are worth booking despite you would see a cheaper price down the village in the tour shops. The difference is in the quality- what you pay is what you get. If you fancy being on a speedboat with 65 people - you pay 1200 baht. if you want to share same space with 25 people and have your own guide- you pay 3300.

I booked a cooking course via hotel to Phuket Thai Cooking School in Patong- cost 2900 baht but we cooked our own meals from scratch there and ate them (5 meals!). It was such good fun and hands on- with recipe cards etc.

The hotel offers a shuttle bus over the hill to the village- it is convenient way to get up and down but it is only 10 min walk if you fancy some exercise. On the way down there are lots of massage shops- we visited Baan Thai were the service was excellent and we always got more treatment time than we paid for.

All in all- it was the best holiday ever and we will definitely look forward to returning to Cape Panwa Hotel.

Room Tip: Brand new Junior Suites are the furthest from the beach but offer the best view of the sunset - they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kadi425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We were first shown to our Junior Suite which was a fair walk from reception in the wing furthest from the main part of the hotel. Our view was of a disused cafe and a radio mast. We objected to the room and were given an alternative which was fabulous with dual aspect windows and great views of the ocean. The lady who organised this was very gracious and helpful. After this not so great start, everything else went very well. We stayed for 4 days but would not wish to stay longer. The hotel is very quiet, which was what we wanted at the end of our holiday, but it may be too quiet for some. There is a shuttle that runs into the village every few minutes which was great. There is also a regular shuttle to other parts of the island, including Patong (not for the feint hearted but great fun). The food at the beach bar was good but the staff sometimes a bit surly. On the whole it was a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Don't get fobbed off with a room that you don't like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
0.5 km away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
0.8 km away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
0.2 km away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Kantary Bay, Phuket
#1 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,296 reviews
40.7 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
8.7 km away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Panwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Panwa Hotel

Address: 27, 27/7 Moo 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range: ₹ 10,161 - ₹ 1,06,038 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Panwa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Panwa Hotel embodies tropical luxury in one of the world's most desirable destinations. Tucked away in a quiet corner of southeast Phuket, the villa is renowned for its excellent service, stylish rooms and exclusive swimming pool. Blending superbly with the natural beauty of the area, the hotel is comprised of a selection tastefully decorated suites and pool villas. Thailand's premier luxury chain of Villa and Serviced Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your Cape Panwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Panwa Phuket
Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing