We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cape Panwa Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
US$ 149
US$ 126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amatara Wellness Resort(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
US$ 198
US$ 173
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 855
US$ 382
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kantary Bay, Phuket(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
US$ 67
US$ 53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panwa Boutique Beach Resort(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
US$ 62
US$ 55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
US$ 103
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mangrove Panwa Phuket Resort(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
US$ 50
US$ 49
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
By The Sea(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
US$ 48
US$ 47
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bandara Villas Phuket(Cape Panwa)(Great Value!)
US$ 276
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,839)
Filter reviews
2,839 results
Traveller rating
1,730
730
250
86
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,730
730
250
86
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachjacuzzi on the balconyreef restaurantcoral islandshuttle busbamboo barsuperior roomlighthouse barsister hotelphuket towncafe andamanlight househouse restaurantsteak nightsteep hillcable carpalm trees
Filter
Updating list...
1,662 - 1,667 of 2,839 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2012

WE stayed here in Sept 2011, we booked the private villas and they were lovely! Was really great to have our own pool. The ladies who cleaned our room were just gorgeous and made our rooms beautifully everyday. WE stayed at Kata(Kata beach resort) for 10 days after which was lovely but nothing compared to the personal service from Cape Panwa :). Breakfast was fabulous, much better than back in Kata. There isn't much to do in Cape Panwa but a great place to start your holiday for relaxation. The day we were leaving our laundry had been stuck in traffic and didn't arrive in time , so they organised it to be sent to Kata for our arrival, would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LTKTCTCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We have just returned from our first visit @Cape Panwa Hotel, which had lots of advantages such as private beach.

The customer service was great at the hotel- they were genuinely nice and friendly people. Pevinee at the front desk always greeted us with the biggest smile and made us feel welcome.

On arrival @9am we were shown to our rooms in the brand new Junior Suite (T&U buildings). The room and the view over the village and the Andaman sea were amazing despite few transmitter posts, And it offered the most amazing sunset view. Unfortunately there were building works nearby (nothing to do with the hotel) and the noise was somewhat disturbing. As soon as we mentioned it to the front desk staff they showed us to the different room, which was as noisy and when we didn't accept they upgraded us to the Cape Suite in J building, with view to the garden and glimpse of the sea.

The Cape Suite seemed a bit older decor than the Junior Suite but it was large, clean and spacious with a jacuzzi on the balcony. Bathrooms were big with wetroom and bath and his&hers basins. On the balcony railings you would see some corrosion from the damp and sea air but it is kind of expected in tropical climates.

Because it is quite humid- you would occasionally come across some extremely tiny ants in few corners of the bathroom. None which bite and mainly run away from us anyway-speaking to other guests they had the same and we weren't bothered. You would get that anywhere in Phuket due to climate.

The only minor negative about the room was- the average housekeeping! Some days we didn't receive hand towels and had to ring up for them. And the minibar wasn't refilled daily- so we had to chase up to make sure we weren't charged twice for the same items. But they kept it very clean.

The hotel has 2 pools, incl infinity pool on the beach- both very well kept but they are about to refurb the main pool and the Cafe Andaman. Neither which looked shabby or in need of it but the hotel thrives towards the highest standards than it already is.

The beach is a real winner- they worked hard to keep it clean from the rubbish that the tides brought in. It has white sand and beautiful views to the sea.You will see quite a few ships going by but that's kind of expected!

You could easily walk down to the beach or take a train if walking the hill was more challenging. We never had a problem finding a free lounger at any time of the day. The most important thing- it was safe. We constantly left our kindles and iphones by the loungers as we wondered around or went for a swim. The only thing- it has its own coral reef just off the beach- please be careful when going in in lower tides as there are quite a few sea urchins wondering about. The best thing would be always wear the shoes when going in! Apparently every week someone threads on one of those monsters.
I got stung by jellyfish one day but they had nurse on call just next to the front desk and she dealt with it quickly and I was fine by next day.

The Bamboo bar served ok food to all tastes and served great shakes and cocktails! besides there was no need to worry about the ice- it was made from bottled water. I didn't have any tummy upsets while I was there.

The Panwa House is slightly more expensive than food in the village but still cheap compared to UK. Meals with drinks & starters for 2 people cost from 700-1000 baht. And the food was amazing- their curries were best we had in Thailand and they were quite spicy (hence authentic) and their fishcakes were out of this world :) Make sure you have the moskito repellent on you when you go there and choose to sit outside!

Cafe Andaman breakfasts were very good and catered to every taste.

Hotel offers a taxi service and we befriended a guy called Maroon who took us everywhere and often waited when I was visiting Wat Chalong Temple or my other half joined in for a Thai boxing training session in the nearby gym run by one of the porters at the hotel.

The hotel offers lots of tours, which are worth booking despite you would see a cheaper price down the village in the tour shops. The difference is in the quality- what you pay is what you get. If you fancy being on a speedboat with 65 people - you pay 1200 baht. if you want to share same space with 25 people and have your own guide- you pay 3300.

I booked a cooking course via hotel to Phuket Thai Cooking School in Patong- cost 2900 baht but we cooked our own meals from scratch there and ate them (5 meals!). It was such good fun and hands on- with recipe cards etc.

The hotel offers a shuttle bus over the hill to the village- it is convenient way to get up and down but it is only 10 min walk if you fancy some exercise. On the way down there are lots of massage shops- we visited Baan Thai were the service was excellent and we always got more treatment time than we paid for.

All in all- it was the best holiday ever and we will definitely look forward to returning to Cape Panwa Hotel.

Room Tip: Brand new Junior Suites are the furthest from the beach but offer the best view of the sunset - they are spacious with stunning bathroom. Cape Suites are even bigger and closer to the reception area and the beach- but unless you are on the top floor you don't get undisturbed sea view but the tropical garden view with glimpse of sea is still a beautiful one
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kadi425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We were first shown to our Junior Suite which was a fair walk from reception in the wing furthest from the main part of the hotel. Our view was of a disused cafe and a radio mast. We objected to the room and were given an alternative which was fabulous with dual aspect windows and great views of the ocean. The lady who organised this was very gracious and helpful. After this not so great start, everything else went very well. We stayed for 4 days but would not wish to stay longer. The hotel is very quiet, which was what we wanted at the end of our holiday, but it may be too quiet for some. There is a shuttle that runs into the village every few minutes which was great. There is also a regular shuttle to other parts of the island, including Patong (not for the feint hearted but great fun). The food at the beach bar was good but the staff sometimes a bit surly. On the whole it was a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Don't get fobbed off with a room that you don't like.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Google earth pictures do not do justice to this beautiful place. From the moment we walked into the the stunning open entry with the beautiful timberwork all around we new we were going to have the first real holiday of our lives. The Thai staff are the most beautiful people - friendly, courteous and helpful, and we found this to be the case with all of the Thai people we encountered on our visit. Even the girls in the numerous massage places up the hill responded to our rejection of their offers of a massage with a polite "thankyou". Our room was fabulous - big, spacious and with marvelous views out over the harbour. Every meal we enjoyed in the selection of restaurants was an adventure - the service was impeccable. The very fine French restaurant manager Jean Marie Vallee was so attentive to the wants and needs of his customers that we almost thought he had three twin brothers. Wherever we went it seemed Jean Marie would appear within minutes to enquire as to how our meals were or whether there was anything else he could assist with. It was almost like having a private personal assistant. The pool and private beach were something to behold. Many hours were spent indulging cocktails by the water. Now I am 2 kilos heavier after our week of indulgence on fabulous food, wine and cocktails. We cannot recommend this place highly enough, though in tempting to do so we might find that in future we may be unable to find a spare room when we come back. Cliff and Susan Ferguson Western Australia.

Room Tip: We selected a suite and had our travel agent enquire about a view over water.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cliff023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Nice place and friendly service also very helpful. Will go again.

Room Tip: I like the south side rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fintim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews