We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely peaceful place”
Review of Cape Panwa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Panwa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Munmorah
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful place”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

WE stayed here in Sept 2011, we booked the private villas and they were lovely! Was really great to have our own pool. The ladies who cleaned our room were just gorgeous and made our rooms beautifully everyday. WE stayed at Kata(Kata beach resort) for 10 days after which was lovely but nothing compared to the personal service from Cape Panwa :). Breakfast was fabulous, much better than back in Kata. There isn't much to do in Cape Panwa but a great place to start your holiday for relaxation. The day we were leaving our laundry had been stuck in traffic and didn't arrive in time , so they organised it to be sent to Kata for our arrival, would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LTKTCTCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,566
    667
    231
    80
    41
See reviews for
530
1,504
52
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We have just returned from our first visit @Cape Panwa Hotel, which had lots of advantages such as private beach.

The customer service was great at the hotel- they were genuinely nice and friendly people. Pevinee at the front desk always greeted us with the biggest smile and made us feel welcome.

On arrival @9am we were shown to our rooms in the brand new Junior Suite (T&U buildings). The room and the view over the village and the Andaman sea were amazing despite few transmitter posts, And it offered the most amazing sunset view. Unfortunately there were building works nearby (nothing to do with the hotel) and the noise was somewhat disturbing. As soon as we mentioned it to the front desk staff they showed us to the different room, which was as noisy and when we didn't accept they upgraded us to the Cape Suite in J building, with view to the garden and glimpse of the sea.

The Cape Suite seemed a bit older decor than the Junior Suite but it was large, clean and spacious with a jacuzzi on the balcony. Bathrooms were big with wetroom and bath and his&hers basins. On the balcony railings you would see some corrosion from the damp and sea air but it is kind of expected in tropical climates.

Because it is quite humid- you would occasionally come across some extremely tiny ants in few corners of the bathroom. None which bite and mainly run away from us anyway-speaking to other guests they had the same and we weren't bothered. You would get that anywhere in Phuket due to climate.

The only minor negative about the room was- the average housekeeping! Some days we didn't receive hand towels and had to ring up for them. And the minibar wasn't refilled daily- so we had to chase up to make sure we weren't charged twice for the same items. But they kept it very clean.

The hotel has 2 pools, incl infinity pool on the beach- both very well kept but they are about to refurb the main pool and the Cafe Andaman. Neither which looked shabby or in need of it but the hotel thrives towards the highest standards than it already is.

The beach is a real winner- they worked hard to keep it clean from the rubbish that the tides brought in. It has white sand and beautiful views to the sea.You will see quite a few ships going by but that's kind of expected!

You could easily walk down to the beach or take a train if walking the hill was more challenging. We never had a problem finding a free lounger at any time of the day. The most important thing- it was safe. We constantly left our kindles and iphones by the loungers as we wondered around or went for a swim. The only thing- it has its own coral reef just off the beach- please be careful when going in in lower tides as there are quite a few sea urchins wondering about. The best thing would be always wear the shoes when going in! Apparently every week someone threads on one of those monsters.
I got stung by jellyfish one day but they had nurse on call just next to the front desk and she dealt with it quickly and I was fine by next day.

The Bamboo bar served ok food to all tastes and served great shakes and cocktails! besides there was no need to worry about the ice- it was made from bottled water. I didn't have any tummy upsets while I was there.

The Panwa House is slightly more expensive than food in the village but still cheap compared to UK. Meals with drinks & starters for 2 people cost from 700-1000 baht. And the food was amazing- their curries were best we had in Thailand and they were quite spicy (hence authentic) and their fishcakes were out of this world :) Make sure you have the moskito repellent on you when you go there and choose to sit outside!

Cafe Andaman breakfasts were very good and catered to every taste.

Hotel offers a taxi service and we befriended a guy called Maroon who took us everywhere and often waited when I was visiting Wat Chalong Temple or my other half joined in for a Thai boxing training session in the nearby gym run by one of the porters at the hotel.

The hotel offers lots of tours, which are worth booking despite you would see a cheaper price down the village in the tour shops. The difference is in the quality- what you pay is what you get. If you fancy being on a speedboat with 65 people - you pay 1200 baht. if you want to share same space with 25 people and have your own guide- you pay 3300.

I booked a cooking course via hotel to Phuket Thai Cooking School in Patong- cost 2900 baht but we cooked our own meals from scratch there and ate them (5 meals!). It was such good fun and hands on- with recipe cards etc.

The hotel offers a shuttle bus over the hill to the village- it is convenient way to get up and down but it is only 10 min walk if you fancy some exercise. On the way down there are lots of massage shops- we visited Baan Thai were the service was excellent and we always got more treatment time than we paid for.

All in all- it was the best holiday ever and we will definitely look forward to returning to Cape Panwa Hotel.

Room Tip: Brand new Junior Suites are the furthest from the beach but offer the best view of the sunset - they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kadi425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorn
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We were first shown to our Junior Suite which was a fair walk from reception in the wing furthest from the main part of the hotel. Our view was of a disused cafe and a radio mast. We objected to the room and were given an alternative which was fabulous with dual aspect windows and great views of the ocean. The lady who organised this was very gracious and helpful. After this not so great start, everything else went very well. We stayed for 4 days but would not wish to stay longer. The hotel is very quiet, which was what we wanted at the end of our holiday, but it may be too quiet for some. There is a shuttle that runs into the village every few minutes which was great. There is also a regular shuttle to other parts of the island, including Patong (not for the feint hearted but great fun). The food at the beach bar was good but the staff sometimes a bit surly. On the whole it was a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Don't get fobbed off with a room that you don't like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Google earth pictures do not do justice to this beautiful place. From the moment we walked into the the stunning open entry with the beautiful timberwork all around we new we were going to have the first real holiday of our lives. The Thai staff are the most beautiful people - friendly, courteous and helpful, and we found this to be the case with all of the Thai people we encountered on our visit. Even the girls in the numerous massage places up the hill responded to our rejection of their offers of a massage with a polite "thankyou". Our room was fabulous - big, spacious and with marvelous views out over the harbour. Every meal we enjoyed in the selection of restaurants was an adventure - the service was impeccable. The very fine French restaurant manager Jean Marie Vallee was so attentive to the wants and needs of his customers that we almost thought he had three twin brothers. Wherever we went it seemed Jean Marie would appear within minutes to enquire as to how our meals were or whether there was anything else he could assist with. It was almost like having a private personal assistant. The pool and private beach were something to behold. Many hours were spent indulging cocktails by the water. Now I am 2 kilos heavier after our week of indulgence on fabulous food, wine and cocktails. We cannot recommend this place highly enough, though in tempting to do so we might find that in future we may be unable to find a spare room when we come back. Cliff and Susan Ferguson Western Australia.

Room Tip: We selected a suite and had our travel agent enquire about a view over water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fi
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Nice place and friendly service also very helpful. Will go again.

Room Tip: I like the south side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fintim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
0.5 km away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
0.8 km away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
40.7 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Kantary Bay, Phuket
#1 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,265 reviews
0.2 km away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
1,008 reviews
32.0 km away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Panwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Panwa Hotel

Property: Cape Panwa Hotel
Address: 27, 27/7 Moo 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,353 - ₹ 31,126
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Panwa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Panwa Hotel embodies tropical luxury in one of the world's most desirable destinations. Tucked away in a quiet corner of southeast Phuket, the villa is renowned for its excellent service, stylish rooms and exclusive swimming pool. Blending superbly with the natural beauty of the area, the hotel is comprised of a selection tastefully decorated suites and pool villas. Thailand's premier luxury chain of Villa and Serviced Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Cape Panwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Panwa Phuket
Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing