We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Third time lucky in terms of moving bedrooms !!!!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Panwa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cape Panwa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Third time lucky in terms of moving bedrooms !!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Thailand is a very beautiful country and the people are delightful....that is the positives now to the hotel experience. When we arrived at this hotel to say that we were dissapointed with our first room would be putting it mildly....looking out over a car park is not what i travel 13 hrs to look at.... I have better views staying at home. Although i admit that i expect high standards, because we were with friends who had brought us to Thailand for the first time, decided that i wouldn't 'fly' straight to reception and complain, until i had ascertain their opinions. Their view, believe it or not was worse than ours....they had people looking directly in from a bar!!!!!

Following me challenging the reception staff about our rooms, being told by him that they don't have sea view rooms i insisted on speaking with Duty Manager ... who promptly moved us the next morning to guess what rooms with a sea view!!!!

Our friends have highlighted general issues regarding cleanliness...so i won't go there as no beneifit in repeating the same comments.

Our third moved resulted in us having a leak in the 'built in' wardrobe and having to then get the assistance of General Manager, Mark. He appeared to be able to understand our frustrations, my husband at this stage was ready to get on the next flight home....he didnt feel like it was a relaxing holiday with all the messing about and had really had enough of this hotel to say the least. Mark, after showing him evidence of poor standards moved us to a private bungalow with its own pool...this was lovely and finally we relaxed for the last 5 days of holiday.

I spoke at lenghts to Mark about standards and i hope he has taken some of them on board if he wish to present this hotel as being 5 star....eating breakfast and not being offered tea or coffee is clearly not exceptable in my books. I would not return to this hotel and not recommend it if you want to be sure of 5 * service.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kimberly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,384
    599
    207
    75
    37
See reviews for
463
1,330
45
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Me and my partner stayed at the Cape Panwa in March, we were there for 13 nights, we had read some of the reoprts on here and decided to give this hotel the benefit of doubt, I think that we must of been lucky beacuse we had no problems with our room, we stayed in the Cape Signature Suite with the jacuzzi, the veiw was beautiful, didnt see much of the sea because of the palm trees, but it was lovely to sit in the jacuzzi and listen to the birds glass of wine in hand! we mainly ate out of the hotel at live India, and Sea breeze the food was very good value and very good quality.We ate twice at the Sri Panwa the veiw is amazing and if you book the restaurant they come and pick you up at no extra cost, it is bit pricey about the same that you would pay here but its worth it! the tailor next door is really good Barry London i had a suit made and a dress, and my partner had some shirts made, the quality was great! the massages out side of the hotel were fantastic for a few quid you can get an all over body massage! the hill is a bit steep, we walked up it a few times but in the heat and humidity its probally best to take the bus, or hire motorbikes as they were great fun! we booked out trips from Green Travel in Phuket near Macdonalds, we went elephant trekking, canoeing and we went to see the thai boxing, i would reccomend booking your trips from there, we were really looked after and we were the only tourists on the trip to kao sok we got premium service they couldnt do enough for us.We went to Patong a few times and that was great fun, you wouldnt want to stay there as its too busy but its great for a night out, and theres a great mexican restaurant there, Coyote! we loved Thailand and definatley stay at this hotel.The breakfast is fine theres a great choice, ok its not an english fry up but you are not going to get that, the omlettes were great! we had no problem with the hotel, i guess its the luck of the draw as with everything in life, but all i can say is that Thailand is a beautiful place a tropical paradise!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We have just come back from staying seven nights at this beatiful resort, it was the highlight of our holiday, we had a cape suit with a sea view it was just amazing and we cant wait to go back next year.Maybe towels were getting a bit shabby but so what, everything else was so beautiful the buffet breakfast was great the beach was lovelly, staff were very frendley, very limited english though which sometimes made it difficult .We then moved into Patong where the only thing which really annoyed us to tears was the Time Share people every where we counted over twenty of them in less than an hour would stop you and ask "where are you from or are you Australian?" we were rude to them in the end as we had had enough of them bothering us .

Room Tip: higher floors are always better .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pthomson6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We were very disappointed with this hotel. We agree with some others this is definately not a 5 star hotel. The pool area is very shabby and could do with a good cleanup and new sun loungers/umbrellas. The majority of the towels are disgusting, but the gardens we will admit are beautiful and well looked after, but the pool on the beach is disgusting we wondered why no-one was sat around there on first day but after looking around we could tell why, it is really is disgusting we don't know how anyone would want to get in there. After moving from the junior suites in the spa section due to it being dirty with dead flies and balls of human hair everywhere inthe stairways and overlooking a bar that looks directly into our room and we are talking maybe 20ft away from our balcony we complained to reception immediately but they would not move us until the next day, which they did and we had a room overlooking the gardens S122 which was much better, but sadly the balcony was still not clean, but the rooms were not too bad.
Also, we were under the impression there was a rooftop pool, but when we went to find it it was like a building site.

We booked this holiday with our friends as it was her birthday,and they had never been to Thailand before what a disaster their room had a air-con leak and the dressingroom area was flooded so they had to move again but our friend insisted if they were moving again it would only be to a bungalow with a pool, Mark the General Manager agreed to this.

The service in the breakfast area in the mornings was poor, and we had booked 2 separate meals one in the Italian what a disaster that was, we waited over an hour to be seated at a table and were told it was our fault for not asking for a menu!!!!! Then we made a reservation with Tim for the Reef and was not booked in. Total disaster, but we will say the food and staff in there was beautiful and we ate in there a few times. Panwa House was OK.

So we are sorry to say not a good hotel. Mark the Manager was very good though in sorting out our problems but unfortunately, it was too late for us to have good vibes about the hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueben_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Cape Panwa Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for your taking time to post review on TripAdvisor.com

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at cape Panwa and please accept our apologies for the inconvenience that was caused to you with regards to the air-con leak and unclean balcony, the latter occurs sometimes due to untoward weather conditions even though we clean the balconies daily, like the strong winds and evening thunder during your stay. We hope the immediate compensation of an upgrade to a Pool Villa for the air-con incident was satisfactory. Regarding the towels – we assure you they are laundered after each use. Your other complaints regarding the condition of the beachfront pool and staff service is currently being looked into and appropriate action will be taken where necessary. Again thank you for providing us with your feedback!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We have been coming here since 2008 and this trip is our 3rd time at the Cape Panwa.We love The Cape's staffs Khun Far,Khun Tim .....I have to go back a bit...it was nice since the day we skype to make our reservation Khun Ratree and Khun Joy,were very helpful to me as I was in Japan and the signal of my Skype was in and out, however,the confirmation came back in the email inbox without mistake.... Good sign
Our room for 4 is huge!!! I have to repeat HUGE with the tub on the lanai so we all can enjoy any view anywhere we would like to.
The Cape Panwa's beach is very peaceful, I find that whoever that checks in to this hotel do respect the place and other guests so you or anyone will never hear any guest scream on the beach or or talk loud around the pool area.
We have always enjoy our food in the hotel you can never go wrong here,We are going to take you back to the beach a bit... The stafffs there they are super nice. We had the best Thai massage by Miss Sae but she is going to retire in few weeks after serving the world famous guests, royal families or regular people like us.We are going to miss here on our next trip.I do have more review this is only between the trip but I have to write to share the appreciation. Time for breakfast everyone.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thaisumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Panwa
0.2 km away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 12 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.4 km away
Kantary Bay, Phuket
Kantary Bay, Phuket
#1 of 12 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.4 km away
Sri Panwa Phuket
Sri Panwa Phuket
#2 of 12 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
2.9 km away
Phuket Panwa Beachfront Resort
40.7 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Panwa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Panwa Hotel

Property: Cape Panwa Hotel
Address: 27, 27/7 Moo 8, Sakdidej Road, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cape Panwa
#3 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Business Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,071 - ₹ 89,529
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Panwa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Panwa Hotel embodies tropical luxury in one of the world's most desirable destinations. Tucked away in a quiet corner of southeast Phuket, the villa is renowned for its excellent service, stylish rooms and exclusive swimming pool. Blending superbly with the natural beauty of the area, the hotel is comprised of a selection tastefully decorated suites and pool villas. Thailand's premier luxury chain of Villa and Serviced Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Cape Panwa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Panwa Phuket
Cape Panwa Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing