We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a relaxing beach holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Panwa Boutique Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Cape Panwa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We have just came from a very relaxing 7 night stay at this lovely hotel. Initially I was apprehensive about this hotel as some of the reviews on trip advisor were very poor. The first night we got there the hotel had overbooked us and offered to put us up in their sister hotel the Bel Air down the road for one night until a room was available. This was clearly a 3 star hotel with mould in the shower and dirty bed sheets. We did not have a good start to our holiday, but things improved once we got back to Panwa beach resort. We were upgraded to a beach front room, with free wifi in the room, free thai massages and a free dinner. The hotel is beautifully set overlooking a bay with private beach. Everything was spotlessly clean, and the room was very comfortable with a good shower and bath,air conditioning and was only minutes away from the beach. The staff were very friendly and courteous. We enjoyed our thai massages, and the excellent cocktails at happy hour. The beach was very nice but there were alot of rocks and coral so swim with care. The only thing I feel lets this hotel down a little is the food. We had breakfast included in our room rate and I felt the choices were limited especially fruit, cereal and pastries. We ate the seafood buffet for dinner one evening and again felt that the options were limited and food not of particularly high quality. However we did have a nice lunch as part of a thai cookery demonstration by the hotel chef. Most evenings we ate at the two beach front restaurants next to the hotel, where the food was better and much cheaper. I would highly recommend the seafood curry at "On the Beach".
If you are looking for a very peaceful beach holiday away from the crowds I would highly recommend this hotel, but it is definitely out of the way if you are looking to go to Patong and some of the busier spots.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are very close to the beach and don't involve climbing any stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SDE_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanwaBeachResort_11, General Manager at Panwa Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the resort with other travelers.
I am sincerely sorry that we had to send you to another resort for the first night. It was not intentional and our sincere thanks for your kind understanding.

Thank you for your comments on the food and this will help us to improve our quality and standards. If you ever come back (and we hope so), I am sure you will see the improvement.

With kind regards,

Claude Sauter
General Manager
Panwa Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 221 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

This is a fantastic hotel, beautiful quite beach overlooking Friendship bay, just a few feet from a lovely little bar to sit a enjoy some lovely food and drink and watch the sun set, we found the last bar is the best! The rooms are not what sell this hotel however they are nice and clean and large so lots of room. This really is a wonderful place if you like peace and quite.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerrylynn186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanwaBeachResort_11, General Manager at Panwa Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to your "Little Oasis"
With warm regards,

Claude Sauter
General Manager
Panwa Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic 25 night stay at this beautiful boutique hotel whose staff went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect for us. Thank you all.

This hotel is suitable for people who want an escape from the hustle, bustle, noise and pressure of everyday life in a perfect setting with kind, friendly and attentive management and staff. Most of the staff speak numerous languages and have been educated and trained to a high standard. It annoys us to see some guests looking and talking down to the staff, it is these people who get less back from them.

The hotel is not suitable for anyone looking for night clubs, noisy bars, and trashy shops. They should look to the brash Western side of the island but should be aware that the sea is not as safe with dangerous undertows.
The hotel would also not be suitable for anyone in a wheel chair although this could change when the upgrading has taken place.

The hotel is located on northern end of a beautiful bay looking south towards the southern tip of Phuket and a number of small islands. This means that each night the sunset tries to outshine the previous nights show. The sea must be one of the safest and warmest anywhere.

The hotel is currently being upgraded and rebranded to Marco Polo Standards.
The results of this started to became evident during the 25 days we were there and can only improve an already super hotel

The wide range of rooms available means you should be able to find one to suit your pocket and taste. We had a lovely room that gave us direct access to the golden beach across a shady lawn in about 20 steps.
These would be good for anyone with walking problems who liked to spend most of the time on the beach. If however they would prefer to be by the swimming pool the rooms above would be better. The main hotel block would not be good as I do not believe there is a lift.

Able bodied people may prefer the higher floors as the views would be spectacular although we would always choose beach access.

Meals are of a very high standard with charming and helpful staff. It is nice to know that the staff get a chance to try the same food guests get so can comment helpfully if asked to recommend.

We could not speak to highly of the friendly greetings, help and advice from all the staff and management. If you take the trouble to talk to and be nice to them it is repaid a 100 fold.




The hotel is used by a very large range of people from all over the world. We have learnt a lot from talking to so many people including a Engineer from the Canadian oil fields. A Chinese importer and exporter of fish who had travelled extensively, a Russian couple who hope to be working in the forthcoming Olympics in London. And numerous other people including French, Russian, Danish, Dutch and of course British. Greetings to anyone we met who may read this.

As I said before the hotel is being upgraded and rebranded and as a stop gap a number of Chinese tourists on coach trips have been accommodated on 1 night basis to fill rooms. This may explain some of the more negative reviews submitted previously. This appears to be coming to an end as more and more people discover this lovely hotel.

3 nights a week the hotel puts on a theme night with a buffet and entertainment. We where lucky to be there for the Chinese New Year with a gala buffet dinner, lion dancers etc. Meals are to a high standard with a wide choice but we also visted the 2 local beach restaurants who offer good food at very low prices served at tables located directly on the sand. The second one even has a range of reasonable wines by the bottle at fair prices. The first only does it by the glass. Take a torch, wear flat shoes and make sure you use insect repellent.

The breakfast buffet is good for the size of hotel. The boiled eggs on display are hard boiled, if you want a normal egg ask for medium and they will cook it for you.
You can also choose fried, scrambled, poached or an omelette, all done while you wait.

It annoyed us to see a small minority of people at breakfast stealing food from the buffet and stuffing into their handbags; one even made up cheese and ham sandwiches to take out but luckily where spotted by one the staff, I hope they felt suitable ashamed.
They let themselves and their Country down and should realize that even if the staff do not see them other guests will.

The beach is glorious with soft golden sand. In common with a lot of tropical beaches the sea retreats at low tide exposing rocks and coral. The swimming pool is large and attractive and maintained to a very high standard. You can extend the swimming period if you take beach shoes. The shade is provided by mature trees and no umbrellas are needed.

From our experience the rooms are equipped, furnished and cleaned to a very high standard but we understand this is being raised to an even higher level as part of the rebranding process. We had to stop the lovely maids changing our huge duvet, sheets and towels every day which we considered unnecessary.

Having stayed on Phuket many times before we have seen most of the landmarks but still took a taxi for a morning to tour around a bit and to visit a large Tesco to stock up with Wine, Beer, Crisps etc.


We did visit the new Siam Niramit show north of Phuket town. This was superb and we would strongly recommend that to everyone. The optional buffet was very good value and offered a huge range of foods from around the world. The gift shop was well stocked and we found the prices competitive. The “Thai Village” was more of a rural open air museum with houses and agricultural implements and equipment brought from all over Thailand and put in appropriate settings such as paddy fields etc. We wished we had allowed more time to walk round before the buffet and show.
We booked through the hotel and at no extra cost.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank tonykf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanwaBeachResort_11, General Manager at Panwa Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Tony,

This must be the nicest Tripadvisor review I have ever read :-) Thank you so very much for giving so details information about the resort but also about activities outside the hotel.
I am sure this is going to help other travelers to make their choice.
We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards,
Claude Sauter
General Manager
Panwa Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

during my recent stay at novotel phuket, i was amazed to see the hospitality and careness of each and every staff member, they pamper you like and king, otherwise also amazing propertty with an amazing location, i would just say wveryone should stay in novotel when visiting phuket

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shobhitbansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanwaBeachResort_11, General Manager at Panwa Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for posting a review on Tripadvisor.
We are looking forward to welcome you back to your Heaven on earth.

With kind regards,
Claude Sauter
General Manager
Panwa Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My grown-up daughter and I just returned from the hotel on January 28th. Now we are dreaming of going back to the same place next July! From the fourth floor one can see the magnificent view of the Chalong bay, including the statue of Big Buddha in the distance. The sunset looks different every day. The rooms are clean, the bed sheets and the towels are changed every day. The breakfast is good - you can ask the cooks in the second dining hall (which also has fans unlike the first one) to cook eggs for you - sunny side up, omelette, scrambled eggs or boiled eggs. The restaurant is absolutely clean, not a single stain or insect anywhere - and for me as a doctor this was especially pleasant. The dishes and the furniture are beautiful (so are waitresses :)) ) You can have lunch here (try the delicious Thai curries) or go to another hotel restaurant Cloud 19 (when you get to the beach turn left and walk until you see the sign, apprx after half a kilometer - beautiful sea view, large portions and good cocktails). On the way you will also see two extremely popular beach cafes that serve cheap food and beer. We were never brave enough to venture there because they look pretty run-down and not particularly sanitary (everyone else seemed to dine there every day without problems and the guides say that the best Thai food is found in such places, but we are fanatics of cleanliness and were very happy with the food at the two "touristy" restaurants mentioned above).
For my birthday, the staff brought a delicious fruit platter to our room, which was very pleasant! Also, because when we arrived our room was not yet made up, we were offered a complimentary lunch at the restaurant.
The staff is extremely helpful and polite, and the managers are always around and available.
Speaking of entertainment, three nights of the week are thematic - there is a Thai, a BBQ and a seafood night, during which you can enjoy a special buffet (plus, during a Thai night, there is a show with music and Thai dancing). We were also lucky to be in the hotel during the celebration of the Chinese New year that featured a Chinese buffet and a show, plus a cocktail with delicious snacks and drinks. The manager even cared to approach every visitor and ask how things were.
A tip for the travelers: google "phuket tide timetable" before going, because when the water recedes for several hours each day (at a different time) it is impossible to swim. There is a little timetable hanging next to the pool, but it is better to have your own beforehand and plan accordingly. During the highest tides, the water reaches the beach beds, during the low tides it recedes and you can see the rocks for many meters ahead. It is an interesting sight, by the way. You can walk along the beach at this time or relax in the hotel pool or jakuzzi (a little hut next to the pool). Check out the list of transfer opportunities at the taxi/minibus stand next to the entrance. It is strange to read the reviews that call the taxi service "expensive" - the price is the same as everywhere else on Phuket. Plus you are going to one of the best islands in South-East Asia, what exactly are you expecting? I can also see that tourists coming from the most well-off countries with high prices (such as Australia or the US) are the first to complain about "expensive taxi service". Funny!
There is no free wifi in the room, but you can go down to the main lobby, the restaurant or bar and browse the net there. I only did that once during the whole vacation - who needs Internet in paradise anyway? This hotel is a perfect location for treatment of Internet addiction.
What would need some improvement: the quality of tea and coffee during the breakfast (it would be good if the tea the way it is served now would be replaced with distribution of a variety of tea bags). The beds could be a bit softer, and it would be nice if instead of two large pillows there were a large and a small one, or a bolster. The tide timetable should be for a month (maybe in the hotel lobby?), not just for one day (I know some people unfamiliar with the phenomenon of tides get scared and write reviews such as "this hotel is impossible to live in because that beach is not fit for swimming"). We would also appreciate it if there were a later minibus return time from Phuket town and Central Festival - e.g. at 7 pm or 9 pm. (the current time is 5 pm - not so comfie). Add some more beach beds during the high season, too :)
If you are looking for partying, red light districts, night life etc, stay away from this hotel. This one is meant for escaping from the hustle and bustle of the city - and for us who come from Saint-Petersburg, a 6-million people city, this was perfect.
All in all, as I have said, we are looking forward to returning to this little paradize.

Room Tip: If you do not want to go up the stairs, pick the Beach view rooms (standing right there near the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MariaP13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanwaBeachResort_11, General Manager at Panwa Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Dear Maria,

Greetings from Phuket! and we hope the weather is not too cold in St-Petesburg (beautiful city), otherwise just take the first flight available to Phuket, we send you the limo :-)
Thank you so much for sharing with the rest of the world your wonderful experience at the resort, and here are the good news for you. We are currently upgrading the quality of tea served for breakfast. Starting March, we will put the tide timetable in every guest room. By May 2012, we are starting renovating the rooms by upgrading the bathroom, install flat screen TV, improve the lighting in the bedroom and bathroom and we are changing all the mattresses.
So now give me a reason not to come back :-)
We hope to see you in July and please do contact us for some special offer.
Again, thank you for sharing and stay warm! :-)
Kind regards,
Claude Sauter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Panwa hotels
2.2 km away
The Mangrove Panwa Phuket Resort
2.1 km away
Pullman Phuket Panwa Beach Resort
0.1 km away
By The Sea
By The Sea
#9 of 13 in Cape Panwa
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Phuket Panwa Beach
3.2 km away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
2.8 km away
Cape Panwa Hotel
Cape Panwa Hotel
#4 of 13 in Cape Panwa
2,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panwa Boutique Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panwa Boutique Beach Resort

Address: 5/3 Moo 8, Ao-Yon Bay, Khao Khad Road | Wichit, Mueang, Cape Panwa, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Cape Panwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Cape Panwa
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Panwa
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cape Panwa
Price Range: ₹ 3,728 - ₹ 12,101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Panwa Boutique Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tranquil Panwa Boutique Beach Resort is a hidden gem situated along the natural beaches of Panwa in Phuket. This hideaway resort has a laid back tropical ambiance and exclusive seafront setting far from the well trodden west coast beaches, a sanctuary where guests can relax and rejuvenate amidst unspoilt natural beaches. Concept of boutique traveller in mind with a focus on service, guest get free WiFi, and free mini bar once a day and replenished on a daily basis. The sheltered beachfront overlooking the distant bobbing boats of Chalong Bay has pristine sands and gentle waves all-year-round making it a secure haven for romantic couples and families. The contemporary guestrooms have Thai décor highlights creating a warm and inviting space to unwind in style, just a few steps from the glistening resort pool and white sands. Offering numerous venues for dining and drinking, Panwa Boutique Beach Resort will tempt your taste buds with fresh seafood, authentic Thai cuisine and international delights. Be pampered from head to toe at our spa, explore the shopping malls and boutique stores in town just minutes away and embark on an unforgettable boat trip to many spectacular islands and beaches offshore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Ctrip TA so you can book your Panwa Boutique Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Beach Resort Panwa Phuket Hotel Cape Panwa
Novotel Cape Panwa
Accor Cape Panwa
Novotel Phuket
Phuket Novotel
Panwa Boutique Beach Resort Phuket/Cape Panwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing