We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mature resort for mature people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Samui Buri Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Reviewed 2 November 2012

This is a lovely place, very well maintained. It is in a very quiet part of the island, and would not be for everyone, but we liked it a lot. We would have the following comments;
- the pool villas are probably not worth the price, you could just as well have an apartment in the main building for much less and still use all the facilities, go for the top floor
- there is a fair bit of refuse washed up each day, they do clean the beach but its not great when you are swimming in it
- the restaurant is good for breakfast but limited and over-priced for dinner, go to one of the restaurants just a two minute walk from the hotel
- the air conditioning in our villa was very noisy, you would not hear another person speaking to you in the main room!
- the staff are very friendly, but the grounds people have a habit of appearing from the undergrowth when you least expect them, be aware that you are never really alone!!
- it will cost you 500' bhat to get a taxi to the nearest shops/bars in Chaweng, so you won't do that very often
- the spa is really nice and reasonably priced, we used it several times
- there is a small room with exercise machines if you are into that
- there is a nice beach to walk on
- its very near to the ferry for the full moon party island, but you have to get on it at 8am if you want to spend the day there.
- its very clean everywhere

We would recommend this hotel if you want a very quiet, relaxing holiday in exotic surroundings,it really is very nice.

Don't bring the kids!!

Room Tip: Go for a room in the main building on the higher floors, the pool villas are lovely but not really w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2happycampers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Dear 2happycampers2,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay experience at Samui Buri Beach Resort.

At Samui Buri Beach Resort, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us on implementing hotel service standard, staff and menu prices. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Warmest Regards,

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 320 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

I stayed here for 1 night, overall are ok but I have some comments..
- WIFI internet should be complimentary.
- I asked for bucket of ice but was told 100 Thb unless will provide upon turn down service. The simple like this should be provide without charge.
- Kid club looked like storage. Not interesting
- Beach very nice , calm and peaceful.
- staffs are friendly and attentive.
-At breakfast, I asked if I can take just a dish of food to my villa for my wife who had to look after my son who still sleeping. But I was refused. This point should be flexible.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colonze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Dear Colonze,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay experience at Samui Buri Beach Resort.

At Samui Buri Beach Resort, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us on implementing hotel service standard and we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concern, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed at the Samui Buri for 2 weeks in September/October for the main part of our honeymoon. We had an absolutely wonderful stay and got on extremely well with all members of staff from Management to the Cleaning Staff. They were all so friendly and accommodating, and would even go so far as saying that they went above and beyond the call of duty to make us welcome :)
The location of the hotel was perfect for us too. After the wedding, the long flight and spending 2 nights in crazy Bangkok, we were so pleased for the peace and quiet and relaxed atmosphere. The hotel sits right on the beach, which is gorgeous, and the infinity pool was a big highlight - you really did feel like you were in paradise.
The hotel ran a shuttle bus twice a day, at 10am and 4pm, which takes you to the village of Bophut (where the Fisherman's Village is - well worth a visit on a Friday evening for the street market, 50 baht cocktails and listening to The Reggae Monkeys) or Chaweng (the more touristy, lively resort where we partied to 4am on numerous occasions).
We really enjoyed the breakfast that was included, where you could enjoy anything from bacon and eggs, cereal, fruit or pastries and cake (some days we had a dip into everything). We had lunch and dinner in the hotel on a few occasions, and although the food was lovely we chose to eat in the local restaurants as wanted to benefit from the cheaper meals. There was even a takeaway and although the lady didn't speak that much English, it was enough to order what we wanted and even requested something off the menu on the side. The food was exceptional and for 250baht for 3 main dishes, you certainly could not complain at all.
We did split our time at the hotel between staying in the deluxe room and then treating ourselves to stay in one of the pool villas. Both rooms were really lovely and if you are on a budget the deluxe rooms are more than comfortable.
We look forward to returning to the Samui Buri and saying a big hello to all our favourite staff :) You know who you are.
Much love.
Sarah & James
aka Room 109 - hee hee xxx

Room Tip: If you wanted a pool villa but couldn't quite afford it, the superior room with pool access woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsKnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Dear Sarah & James,

Thank you for the great comments! I trust you have settled back into reality! We’re happy that you enjoyed your stay at Samui Buri! The team misses you dearly (including the Housekeeping staff)! Your comments will be shared with the entire team; I know it will provide them with a much needed morel boost!

We hope to prepare Villa 109 for your return in the near future!

Until we meet again,

Jesse Gagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed at the Samui Buri in September. The hotel is beautiful, we took two rooms in the main building and they were beautiful. There was a slight smell in the bathroom, but I understand that this is a problem in many places in Samui.
The staff in the reception were very nice, but the staff at the pool and the dining room were lacking in service. The thing that annoyed me the most is that we needed to pay for Wifi. In most hotels we stayed in Thailand, which were less costly, the Wifi was free, and we were surprised that a hotel like this still charges for it in this day and age.
They advertise children's activities, but perhaps because we were in the low season, there were no such activities, only a playroom with some old toys.
Food is costly in the dining room, we had two wonderful dinners at a restaurant immediately to the left of the hotel after you exit.
Overall we enjoyed our stay very much, and would recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuperSig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear SuperSig,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Samui Buri Beach Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and some comment to improve.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve and maintain the quality of our services standard, room and food. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Warmest Regards,
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

The Samui Buri was recommended to us by Samui Beach Weddings when looking at potential hotels some 18 months ago for our destination wedding in Koh Samui. And it was WONDERFUL!

The hotel is in a small village 10 minutes from Fisherman's Market (A must-visit on a Friday Night) and a little further to Chaweng. It's a perfect position to chill out and relax, but head into town when you want.

Our wedding day was on October 3rd, and and we stayed at the hotel for 3 weeks alongside nearly 70 guests who traveled from South Africa, England, Australia & New Zealand. Everyone loved it, and many are already planning return trips in the next 1-2 years.

The Hotel staff was amazing. Everyone from the General Manager, Jesse, PR Manager, Nisa, to Restaurant Manager Dan & my favourite waitress Ann made our stay wonderful. Over the past 3 weeks they've all become like family.

We stayed in a Pool Vila, not far from the beach. Having our own private pool was great. Our pool was behind our villa and entirely private but not all are.

Many of our guests stayed in a Pool Access room, and these too were brillant. These rooms were light & spacious and I'd say on par with some of the villas. When we return, we'll likely choose this room. Other guests stayed in Pool View Rooms. These room give you a view over the tops of the Thai Style villas. With a balcony, they are really good value if on a budget!

The Hotel Pool & Beach front was great. Despite the hotel being quite busy, we could always get a sun lounge by the pool or on the sand without an issue. The Pool Swim Up bar was also great, and we spent many afternoon here drinking my favourite hotel cocktail, Samui Island!

The Hotel Restaurant provides a great breakfast, and prices are reasonable for lunch & dinner if you don't want to venture outside. If you can, venture out side a few times. Outside the hotel is Harry's which is worth a visit. Further down the road is John's Garden, Khun Anna's & My Place which all have great food.

As for the actual wedding day day, this was amazing! While organised by Samui Beach Weddings, Nisa & Jesse helped with all the finishing touches alongside all the other staff made our day AMAZING! So if you are thinking of getting married on Koh Samui, Samui Buri is the PERFECT choice.

Some Tips:

- We hired a scooter for our final week from a Naplarn Villa. We wish we did this earlier! 150 BHAT a day, with no issues on return like you hear.

- On the beach, you'll also be able to hire a jet ski. While not through the hotel, the staff at the Hotel helped us organise rent this on the first occasion without any issue an we continue to almost daily without any issue.

- The Hotel Spa is AMAZING, and good value however you can also get a massage in the village or on the Beach. For the village, Par Thai Massage is just past Khun Anna's and great value at 179 Bhat. On the beach, turn right and walk up 100 m (250 Bhat). All Great!

Room Tip: Pool Access are great rooms, and not to expensive! This would be my recommendation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnaVanGemert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Hi Anna,

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review. I know I speak for the entire Samui Buri team when I say that we were most honored to be part of your special day. From your arrival at the airport, straight through to the almost tearful farewell, both you and Derek were truly a pleasant bride and groom.

For me, the highlight was when I saw your father walking you to the beach to the altar – it was such a beautiful moment. The smile and sense of pride in the faces of both your parents was truly touching.

We hope to see you again in 2 years.

Warmest regards from a very sunny day on Koh Samui!

Ps- I hope you remembered some of your Thai cooking skills you learned during the cooking class – it will come in handy when reminiscing about your time at Samui Buri!

Jesse Gagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mae Nam hotels
2.8 km away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#7 of 30 in Mae Nam
775 reviews
0.5 km away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#14 of 30 in Mae Nam
484 reviews
2 km away
Khwan Beach Resort
Khwan Beach Resort
#5 of 30 in Mae Nam
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Fair House Villas & Spa
Fair House Villas & Spa
#9 of 30 in Mae Nam
660 reviews
2.7 km away
SENSIMAR Koh Samui Resort and Spa
1.2 km away
Santiburi Koh Samui
Santiburi Koh Samui
#3 of 30 in Mae Nam
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Buri Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Buri Beach Resort

Address: 26 / 24 Moo 4, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand (Formerly Mercure Samui Buri Resort)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#9 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#12 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range: ₹ 4,642 - ₹ 15,861 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Samui Buri Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samui Buri Beach Resort is a very charming, boutique Thai experience offering huge & unique rooms & villas, lush gardens, impressive sports & leisure facilities and a stunning scenic beach perfect to relax and unwind. The impressive infinity pool, fitness centre, kids club and Seetawaree restaurant are all located directly at the beach all with postcard views. The hotel is ideal to get away from it all yet also conveniently located for golf, excursions and to indulge the best of Southern Thailand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Samui Buri Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Buri Beach Hotel Mae Nam
Mercure Koh Samui
Mercure Samui Buri Hotel
Samui Buri Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing