We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (860)
Filter reviews
860 results
Traveller rating
354
317
118
47
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
354
317
118
47
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool access roomgrand pool villapool barice bucketdeluxe roomjohn's gardenair conthai architecturelocal restaurantsan updatelate checkoutour honeymoonstayed here for nightsegg stationfire showmain poolplenty of sun loungers
Filter
Updating list...
335 - 340 of 860 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I stayed here for 1 night, overall are ok but I have some comments..
- WIFI internet should be complimentary.
- I asked for bucket of ice but was told 100 Thb unless will provide upon turn down service. The simple like this should be provide without charge.
- Kid club looked like storage. Not interesting
- Beach very nice , calm and peaceful.
- staffs are friendly and attentive.
-At breakfast, I asked if I can take just a dish of food to my villa for my wife who had to look after my son who still sleeping. But I was refused. This point should be flexible.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colonze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Dear Colonze,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay experience at Samui Buri Beach Resort.

At Samui Buri Beach Resort, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us on implementing hotel service standard and we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concern, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed at the Samui Buri for 2 weeks in September/October for the main part of our honeymoon. We had an absolutely wonderful stay and got on extremely well with all members of staff from Management to the Cleaning Staff. They were all so friendly and accommodating, and would even go so far as saying that they went above and beyond the call of duty to make us welcome :)
The location of the hotel was perfect for us too. After the wedding, the long flight and spending 2 nights in crazy Bangkok, we were so pleased for the peace and quiet and relaxed atmosphere. The hotel sits right on the beach, which is gorgeous, and the infinity pool was a big highlight - you really did feel like you were in paradise.
The hotel ran a shuttle bus twice a day, at 10am and 4pm, which takes you to the village of Bophut (where the Fisherman's Village is - well worth a visit on a Friday evening for the street market, 50 baht cocktails and listening to The Reggae Monkeys) or Chaweng (the more touristy, lively resort where we partied to 4am on numerous occasions).
We really enjoyed the breakfast that was included, where you could enjoy anything from bacon and eggs, cereal, fruit or pastries and cake (some days we had a dip into everything). We had lunch and dinner in the hotel on a few occasions, and although the food was lovely we chose to eat in the local restaurants as wanted to benefit from the cheaper meals. There was even a takeaway and although the lady didn't speak that much English, it was enough to order what we wanted and even requested something off the menu on the side. The food was exceptional and for 250baht for 3 main dishes, you certainly could not complain at all.
We did split our time at the hotel between staying in the deluxe room and then treating ourselves to stay in one of the pool villas. Both rooms were really lovely and if you are on a budget the deluxe rooms are more than comfortable.
We look forward to returning to the Samui Buri and saying a big hello to all our favourite staff :) You know who you are.
Much love.
Sarah & James
aka Room 109 - hee hee xxx

Room Tip: If you wanted a pool villa but couldn't quite afford it, the superior room with pool access would be equally as nice, just not as private.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsKnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Dear Sarah & James,

Thank you for the great comments! I trust you have settled back into reality! We’re happy that you enjoyed your stay at Samui Buri! The team misses you dearly (including the Housekeeping staff)! Your comments will be shared with the entire team; I know it will provide them with a much needed morel boost!

We hope to prepare Villa 109 for your return in the near future!

Until we meet again,

Jesse Gagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed at the Samui Buri in September. The hotel is beautiful, we took two rooms in the main building and they were beautiful. There was a slight smell in the bathroom, but I understand that this is a problem in many places in Samui.
The staff in the reception were very nice, but the staff at the pool and the dining room were lacking in service. The thing that annoyed me the most is that we needed to pay for Wifi. In most hotels we stayed in Thailand, which were less costly, the Wifi was free, and we were surprised that a hotel like this still charges for it in this day and age.
They advertise children's activities, but perhaps because we were in the low season, there were no such activities, only a playroom with some old toys.
Food is costly in the dining room, we had two wonderful dinners at a restaurant immediately to the left of the hotel after you exit.
Overall we enjoyed our stay very much, and would recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SuperSig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear SuperSig,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Samui Buri Beach Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and some comment to improve.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve and maintain the quality of our services standard, room and food. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Warmest Regards,
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

The Samui Buri was recommended to us by Samui Beach Weddings when looking at potential hotels some 18 months ago for our destination wedding in Koh Samui. And it was WONDERFUL!

The hotel is in a small village 10 minutes from Fisherman's Market (A must-visit on a Friday Night) and a little further to Chaweng. It's a perfect position to chill out and relax, but head into town when you want.

Our wedding day was on October 3rd, and and we stayed at the hotel for 3 weeks alongside nearly 70 guests who traveled from South Africa, England, Australia & New Zealand. Everyone loved it, and many are already planning return trips in the next 1-2 years.

The Hotel staff was amazing. Everyone from the General Manager, Jesse, PR Manager, Nisa, to Restaurant Manager Dan & my favourite waitress Ann made our stay wonderful. Over the past 3 weeks they've all become like family.

We stayed in a Pool Vila, not far from the beach. Having our own private pool was great. Our pool was behind our villa and entirely private but not all are.

Many of our guests stayed in a Pool Access room, and these too were brillant. These rooms were light & spacious and I'd say on par with some of the villas. When we return, we'll likely choose this room. Other guests stayed in Pool View Rooms. These room give you a view over the tops of the Thai Style villas. With a balcony, they are really good value if on a budget!

The Hotel Pool & Beach front was great. Despite the hotel being quite busy, we could always get a sun lounge by the pool or on the sand without an issue. The Pool Swim Up bar was also great, and we spent many afternoon here drinking my favourite hotel cocktail, Samui Island!

The Hotel Restaurant provides a great breakfast, and prices are reasonable for lunch & dinner if you don't want to venture outside. If you can, venture out side a few times. Outside the hotel is Harry's which is worth a visit. Further down the road is John's Garden, Khun Anna's & My Place which all have great food.

As for the actual wedding day day, this was amazing! While organised by Samui Beach Weddings, Nisa & Jesse helped with all the finishing touches alongside all the other staff made our day AMAZING! So if you are thinking of getting married on Koh Samui, Samui Buri is the PERFECT choice.

Some Tips:

- We hired a scooter for our final week from a Naplarn Villa. We wish we did this earlier! 150 BHAT a day, with no issues on return like you hear.

- On the beach, you'll also be able to hire a jet ski. While not through the hotel, the staff at the Hotel helped us organise rent this on the first occasion without any issue an we continue to almost daily without any issue.

- The Hotel Spa is AMAZING, and good value however you can also get a massage in the village or on the Beach. For the village, Par Thai Massage is just past Khun Anna's and great value at 179 Bhat. On the beach, turn right and walk up 100 m (250 Bhat). All Great!

Room Tip: Pool Access are great rooms, and not to expensive! This would be my recommendation!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnaVanGemert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, General Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Hi Anna,

Thank you for taking the time to post a great review. I know I speak for the entire Samui Buri team when I say that we were most honored to be part of your special day. From your arrival at the airport, straight through to the almost tearful farewell, both you and Derek were truly a pleasant bride and groom.

For me, the highlight was when I saw your father walking you to the beach to the altar – it was such a beautiful moment. The smile and sense of pride in the faces of both your parents was truly touching.

We hope to see you again in 2 years.

Warmest regards from a very sunny day on Koh Samui!

Ps- I hope you remembered some of your Thai cooking skills you learned during the cooking class – it will come in handy when reminiscing about your time at Samui Buri!

Jesse Gagner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I chose the Samui Buri as a rest break on the way home from a long trip in the USA and Europe that was largely business. I chose a Pool Villa on the basis of photos on the web site and a logo saying Recommended by Trip Advisor 2012. Both are very misleading. Firstly the photo shows a large pool when in fact you get a tiny bird bath that is not much bigger than your average back yard spa pool. I understand this photo is in fact the Royal Villa, of which there is one. Secondly the Trip Advisor logo applies to a sister hotel, NOT the Samui Buri.

As I was there for a rest, I requested a villa that was both private and quiet. I was given a villa furtherest from the beach right up against reception. This means I could hear conversations that went on in the common areas of the hotel and had less than zero privacy. There was not one place in that villa where I could disrobe without the curtains being closed. It was totally overlooked by the multi storey room wing and other villas. Even in the bathroom, I had to close the door or I could have been seen by people in the villa opposite.

The villa was comprsied of two rooms, which had very large glass windows.. There was not window in the place that opened. Large expanses of glass just meant heat, and zero privacy. No fresh air. The first room - the living area - was very odd. Just three very formal chairs and a small coffee table. No comfortable couch. Nowhere to relax . Not airconditioned. The bedroom area had a tv and a small desk. However, there was nowhere to sit so if you wanted to watch tv, you had to sit/lie on the bed..(which was rock hard). This was not a good idea as you were downwind of the monstrous airconditioning. It was SO noisy, it was impossible to sleep and despite being set on 24 deg C, blasted freezing cold air directly over the bed. On average, you got about 2 hours sleep at a time as you turn the aircon off in order to sleep and then wake hot and asphyxiating as there was no way of getting fresh air into the room. Unusual for Thailand, there was no ceiling fans so the air quickly became fetid. I did not come to Thailand to live in a sealed box which is all these pool villas are!

Service...horrible. Reception - with the exception of the person who checked me in, these people were rude and unhelpful. There is just no service quality in this plce at all. I dont blame the staff - managment is at fault. One evening, I had fallen asleep in the early evening (from exhaustion from lack of sleep other nights) and awoke very hungry around 10.30 pm having missed dinner. The compendium said 24 hour room service so I called to place an order. The room service menu I might add was very limited I called the room service # three times with no answer, so I called the hotel operator. He could barely speak English. This is a scary thought. Imagine an emergency situation and you dont have a multi-lingual operator. You dont want to think about it. I asked if there was Room Service. He said "yes" but everything I asked for brought a "No have" response. After going through a number of menu items, he just kept saying "Chilli con Carne" over and over. I loathe that and gave up - went to bed starving. So room service is 24 hour Chilli con Carne. Lovely - not! I paid for a taxi trip to the airport to pick up an Avis car and there was another couple in the bus going to Departures. Despite the fact it was raining, I was also dropped there and told to walk - it was about 300 metres and I was soaked by the time I got to Avis. Again, no care. The final insult came when I checked out very early this morning. I phoned and asked for help with my bags as despite being close to reception, you could not walk directly there and it was a long walk up and down stairs or along a long driveway. I put one bag and my handbag out on my verandah and went back inside to get the second bag, came out and everything had gone! It had been collected but again no care to see if there was any more bags or if I may need a buggy ride to reception. As it was I had to manhandle a heavy bag up and down darks stair cases and all the way to reception!

Food quality is generally pretty average. Crinkle cut frozen chips - what self respecting chef uses them? Not much choice on the menu and very unimaginative. The redeeming features at breakfast was the egg station and the Thai coconut milk pancakes. Other than that, breakfast was below par. As other reviewers have noted, Harry's Bar which is just beyond the gates of the hotel is a good choice for dinner. At Harry's, staff are lovely, sweet and kind which is a long way ahead of the disengaged and disinterested servers at Samui Buri. Food is very good and half the price of the resort. Their pineapple fritters with icecream were brilliant!

The large pool is nice but the swim up bar is very poorly kept. The beach area is awful. Sun lounge matresses have deteriorated to the point where they are ripped and mouldy. There are 9 lounges only with umbrellas for the whole resort! The beach is pretty ordinary - steep and gets deep quickly with murky water. Even though there are few waves or currents, it's not a beach for small children or non swimmers.

The buck stops with management. This could be a very nice place - the grounds are beautiful -- but is let down by poor service, food and generally poor standards. You nly have to look at the reviews on Trip Advisor to see where the problem starts. The same old canned response form the manager, almost verbatim every time. Platitudes. Lack of care and commitment - everything that is evident in the staff. If people take the time to write a review, (good or bad) then a personalised reponse is warranted.

Room Tip: Do not bother with the Pool Villas. If you want water outside your room, go for the Pool access room. Better still, try another hotel
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SmartTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

Dear Smart Traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay experience at Samui Buri Beach Resort.

I am sorry to find that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Samui Buri Beach Resort, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us on implementing hotel service standard, staff and food. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concern, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews