We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No more than a 3* hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Samui Buri Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We stayed in the Samui Buri resort for the last 6 days of our holiday and we were really disappointed. The breakfast was very basic, what you would expect in a basic hotel and our meal in the restaurant on our first night was cold and nothing compared to the food you can get elsewhere on the island.

We upgraded our room to a villa with a private pool but the pool was never cleaned and always had lots of leaves in it. The room wasn't cleaned to a high standard, at best the bed was made and the towels were changed.

The hotel will also charge you a supplement to use their taxi service to anywhere- about 100baht more than the local taxi services.

On the positive side the infinity pool was great and you have amazing views over the ocean.
The hotel has so much potential but it is is letting itself down in so many areas, the rooms and restaurant in particular.

If I return to Koh Samui I definitely won't be choosing the Samui Buri Resort.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Dear Anna,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay experience at Samui Buri Beach Resort. I am sorry to find that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Samui Buri Beach Resort, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us on implementing hotel service standard. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concern, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Patrick Boonyen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (800)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 330 of 800 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

Not only is the location exactly what we were looking for (out of the way of party goers, but near enough that we can go shopping), but the place itself is stunning and fantastically well kept.
The staff are super friendly, going out of their way to help you always.
We stayed 10 nights towards the end of september so the weather was cloudy a lot of the time, but we enjoyed all of it.
Thanks to everyone there who made our stay as enjoyable as possible, if we went back to Koh Samui, we'd book here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KareyS_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Dear KareyS_88,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Samui Buri Beach Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve and maintain the quality of our services. We will never stop improving our hotel for your comfort.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Warmest Regards,
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed here for six nights in September, as part of a group of six. I thought that the grounds were fabulous and the pool area was lovely too, particularly the infinity pool. One source of disappointment for both our group and other holiday makers that we spoke to was how early the bar closed, an incredibly early 8pm!! With sunset at approximately 6.30pm if you did not linger to enjoy the sunset and then were both quick and lucky enough to shower, dress and apply deet within a short period you might just manage to get to the bar before it closed for a pre dinner drink!! I can not understand why the bar closed so early and it seemed pretty stupid of it to do so. Breakfast was good but not spectacular. The restaurant catered more to western tastes thus their Thai food was somewhat blander than that available in the local restaurants. We stayed in a pool villa - the private pool is quite small and most of the villas with plunge pools do not have an area around them where you may sunbathe, which makes them a little pointless. The AC units are quite noisy. The rooms themselves are lovely with plenty of space for both clothes and luggage. The staff are very helpful indeed and will drop you to the various local bars and restaurants on a golf cart if you wish to avoid the walk.

Room Tip: Rather than going to the hotel's restaurant I suggest that you go instead to Harry's which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nolnoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Samui Buri Beach Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and comment on open hour.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve and maintain the quality of our services. We do apologize for the inconvenience that trouble you on bar open hour, Sun Kiss Bar closing at 20.00 hrs. but Seetawaree Restaurant Bar is open until 23.00 hrs. Next coming high season Lobby Lounge Bar will also open from 16.00 - 21.00 hrs. with live grate Trio Band.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Warmest Regards,
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This resort is everything it looks in the pictures - beautiful rooms, pool, beach and stunning views. We stayed in a private pool villa which was amazing. Staff came every evening to turn down your bed, leave a flower, ice and scented candle. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It is in a quiet area which is exactly what we wanted for our honeymoon. The restaurant served a great breakfast with something to suit everyone's taste. The pool bar served tasty cocktails and the bar staff were great fun but unfortunately it closed at 8pm. The restaurant bar only opened till 1030pm so unfortunately the lack of night life let the place down. We ate outside the resort most nights as we found the restaurant overpriced. We did go to the Thai buffet night and watched the Thai dancers which was great but the buffet food was average and cold as it was left sitting outside.There are plenty of lovely places to eat just minutes walk away which are much better value. There was no free Wifi at the resort which I would expect as the rooms are not cheap. We broke a glass in the room on the first night which they tried to charge us for (100 THB) when we checked out. I queried this as I didn't think this appropriate after the cost of the holiday to us and have never been charged for a broken glass by a hotel before. It wasn't a lot of money but more the principle. The hotel did take the charge off our bill in the end.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2012

Dear Catherine,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Samui Buri Beach Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and some comment on restaurant.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve and maintain the quality of our services that include quality of food as well.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Warmest Regards,
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Stayed in September 2012. The hotel itself and the room and restaurant were high standard. We stayed 2 nights and then moved to another hotel very closeby because it was half the price. I would recommend staying at the Samui buri as found it a pleasant stay thoughpersonally won't be going again because of the cost. Drinks were expensive at the pool. The evening meals were very nice but I personally don't like being fussed over such as waiters pulling out my chair for me and putting the napkin on my lap! also the 'turn down' service in the evenings where someone comes to your room to sort out the bed and minibar i think?! Never had this before and prefered not to be disturbed. I know this is a personal preference though. Maybe on check it could be asked whether people want this? Overallstaff were friendly enough but where we are now staying for half the price there is a much friendlier vibe and relaxed feel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex8771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Dear Alex8771,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Samui Buri Beach Resort. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and some comment on rate & price.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We apologize for the inconvenience that might trouble you on restaurant service standard and room turn down service that we provide to all guests. Our aim is to service the guest to their highest satisfaction and maintain high level of customer service standard.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Warmest Regards,
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mae Nam hotels
2.8 km away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#7 of 30 in Mae Nam
775 reviews
0.5 km away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#14 of 30 in Mae Nam
484 reviews
2 km away
Khwan Beach Resort
Khwan Beach Resort
#5 of 30 in Mae Nam
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Fair House Villas & Spa
Fair House Villas & Spa
#9 of 30 in Mae Nam
660 reviews
2.7 km away
SENSIMAR Koh Samui Resort and Spa
1.2 km away
Santiburi Koh Samui
Santiburi Koh Samui
#3 of 30 in Mae Nam
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Buri Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Buri Beach Resort

Address: 26 / 24 Moo 4, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand (Formerly Mercure Samui Buri Resort)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#9 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#12 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
Price Range: ₹ 4,663 - ₹ 15,868 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Samui Buri Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samui Buri Beach Resort is a very charming, boutique Thai experience offering huge & unique rooms & villas, lush gardens, impressive sports & leisure facilities and a stunning scenic beach perfect to relax and unwind. The impressive infinity pool, fitness centre, kids club and Seetawaree restaurant are all located directly at the beach all with postcard views. The hotel is ideal to get away from it all yet also conveniently located for golf, excursions and to indulge the best of Southern Thailand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Samui Buri Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Buri Beach Hotel Mae Nam
Mercure Koh Samui
Mercure Samui Buri Hotel
Samui Buri Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing