We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Getting tired but still a lovely hotel. - Pool Villa” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samui Buri Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Samui Buri Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Getting tired but still a lovely hotel. - Pool Villa”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I stayed at Samui Buri Beach Resort on December 27th 2011 - December 30th 2011.

I had stayed at the hotel previously exactly a year before when it was run by Accor Mercure. I have to say the hotel is becoming a little tired and worn down.

The thing i loved about the hotel was the atmosphere and how relaxing it feels staying here and the lovely infinity pool.

I stayed in a pool villa again and found that the room is becoming run down. towels were grey, floors are really scratched & worn, bathroom wood was mouldy & spliting as well as the blinds. Sun chairs on the beach & by the pool were splitting & fading. Grounds don't look as maintained.

The pool villa we were given the year before was a lot nicer also. It had a better lay out and wasn't located next to an alley way/walk way and deserted hotel.

I also found the bathroom to be a pain as we constantly had to shut the wooden blinds as the windows looked out straight onto the main walk way people had to take from the main reception to the pool villas / pool.

And we had a steep lot of wooden steps to walk up into our room.

The staff are very lovely and helpful. On a couple of times they took us on the golf buggy to 7/11 for bits and pieces. And front desk were always willing to help us with any information we needed. We had a problem with our booking through asia web direct where our booking was 3 people and stated this but the room description said the room could only have 2 people.

They initially wanted to charge us for the extra person but after i showed them these documents there was no charge.

The hotel is really relaxing. And the beach restaurant has some great deals for dinner & happy hour. They also have great deals for massages on the beach.

The beach it self does not have much going on some little bars, but the hotel feels very seclusive on this beach as there doesn't seem to be any other hotels close bar.

There is also a Pier that has Lomprayah Charters going to Koh Phangan we booked our transfers through the hotel and went from this Pier to Koh Phangan. The hotel also took us to the pier free of charge (We did tip).

When i return this year I'm going to give W retreat a try which is also located in Mae-Nam beach.

Thank Samui Buri Staff especially front desk for looking after us.

Room Tip: If getting a pool villa ask for one located closest to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank venessasee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    277
    103
    38
    17
See reviews for
177
397
26
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I stayed here for ten days in January and had an incredibly relaxing time. The staff within the pool bar and restaurant were brilliant. They were very attentive and friendly. The staff at reception were not as chatty but still helpful. The only issue with them was when we asked where the table tennis was which was listed in the room guide and they thought I was mad and said they didn't have one !

There is a happy hour every evening at 5pm at the pool which was under used by other guests much to our advantage.

The spa was very quiet possibly due to the massages available on the beach being a bit cheaper. I had one massage there and it was very good quality. The beach massage was also very good though.

The food at the restaurant is probably overpriced as you just need to walk 5 minutes down the road to get amazing food. I would recommend the Peace Kitchen and Sunshine Gourmet. Both are a short walk along the road walking away from the hotel keeping Harry's on your right.

The room was very comfortable and very large. The bathroom was nice with a very powerful large shower.

I really cannot think of anything negative to say about this hotel at all other than the lack of places to sit at night time and enjoy a drink. The bar at reception never looked open so you would have to go into restaurant for a drink. That said because there are lovely places to eat close by it wasn't an issue.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenghis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Samui Buri Beach Resort, Koh Samui. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our customer.

I will share your comments with Samui Buri team and I am sure that your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your value experience and we hope your next visit will be as memorable and pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Patrick Boonyen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

The Resort, facilities and rooms are good, however the towels are in need of replacement (gray colour).

The service! Extremely poor. Expect to wait 20-25 minutes or longer after placing a drink order. And even then you have to ask if it is on the way. Who wants to wait that long for a drink in that climate. This happened even if there were only 2 other people in the restaurant. Meal orders take even longer and the bill is often wrong.

One of the guests in our party had a knock on the door of her room at 10.00pm, demanding that she sign for the meal that she had in the restaurant 3hours previously. She tried to explain that she had paid cash for the meal but the staff member had limited english. she signed just to get rid of her. Upon checking out, she had discovered that this meal had been been charged to her room, and after endless discussion ( 1.5 hours),this was fixed. However management need to learn that the consumer who is paying good money to stay at the Resort should not be made to feel as if they are lying. It should automatically have been deducted from the account. We spent 5 days here ( a party of around 25 people) had meals and drinks and spent quite a lot of money. As for the managements comment when one of our party mentioned the limited english of the girl who went to the door wanting a signature, "well you are in Thailand", sorry, but the majority of your clients are Westeners and it should be mandatory that at least a small grasp of the english language be able to be spoken.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick B, Manager at Samui Buri Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Samui Buri Beach Resort. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Samui Buri Beach Resort, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We will implement our staff performance immediately. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems you have raised and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing comments, and do hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Patrick Boonyen
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights on our honeymoon and have to say we really enjoyed ourselves. Hotel was very nice, rooms where very clean large and well serviced, bar was very quite the whole time we where there however the staff where extreamly generous and could not do enough for us. The beech is fablous and I could not reccommend the corn and fruit from the local seller. If you have kids I would not reccommend this hotel but overal for us it was fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Icarus_74186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights on our Honeymoon. Its an ok place. Room are nice, we stayed in a deluxe room with a dipping pool. Main pool is ok. Bar service is poor. Staff seem to be wandering around. Food is only average. 4 nights was too much. Its a fine hotel, but it doesn't have anything special about it. A night or two is enough.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roneill82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
2.8 km away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
2.4 km away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#13 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
2.4 km away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Khwan Beach Resort
Khwan Beach Resort
#5 of 30 in Mae Nam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
3.4 km away
Fair House Villas & Spa
Fair House Villas & Spa
#10 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
4.7 km away
Code
Code
#1 of 30 in Mae Nam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Buri Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Buri Beach Resort

Property: Samui Buri Beach Resort
Address: 26 / 24 Moo 4, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand (Formerly Mercure Samui Buri Resort)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#9 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#11 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,967 - ₹ 12,680
Hotel Class:4 star — Samui Buri Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samui Buri Beach Resort is a very charming, boutique Thai experience offering huge & unique rooms & villas, lush gardens, impressive sports & leisure facilities and a stunning scenic beach perfect to relax and unwind. The impressive infinity pool, fitness centre, kids club and Seetawaree restaurant are all located directly at the beach all with postcard views. The hotel is ideal to get away from it all yet also conveniently located for golf, excursions and to indulge the best of Southern Thailand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ostrovok so you can book your Samui Buri Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Buri Beach Hotel Mae Nam
Mercure Koh Samui
Mercure Samui Buri Hotel
Samui Buri Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing