We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (859)
Filter reviews
859 results
Traveller rating
353
317
118
47
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
317
118
47
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool access roomgrand pool villapool barice bucketdeluxe roomjohn's gardenair conthai architecturelocal restaurantsan updatelate checkoutour honeymoonstayed here for nightsegg stationfire showmain poolplenty of sun loungers
Filter
Updating list...
400 - 405 of 859 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2011

i stayed here in nov 2010 with my girlfriend we had a trip from Hong kong , Thailand and amsterdam for 3 weeks. out of all the hotels we done in that time 4/5 star this up at the top.

Location - 10/15 mins
Service - could not fault it , very helpful with tours and local knowledge
Hotel - you really feel your in thailand when you enter it is amazing , get a day in the spa well worth the money and it is cheap and will make you feel great. The pool is really nice overlooking the other island Koh Phangan , there is a pool bar which do nice cocktails. the food is very good and service not like home.
area - is safe , do all the tours ask the hotel they will help
Rooms - really really nice , they are big and we had a pool which we shared with other rooms but it seemed like we where the only ones in this area for the days so we had to our selfs. after meeting people from our own country we got talking and they paid for a villa which we saw and they where very nice but there pool was not good so be careful certain villas

overall - amazing hotel go for it

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Beautifully appointed, stunning location. I would definitely return to this resort. The room was huge and the facilities are well-maintained and clean. The pool/bar area is great, with fantastic views across to Koh Phangan and a clean, peacuful beach (though don't come here looking for surf). It is a bit out of the way, but a taxi to nearby places like Bo Phut or even Chaweng is relatively cheap if you want a bit more excitement.
The staff are unfailingly gracious, helpful and polite - even the gardners will greet you as you walk past. We bought a package that included a cooking class and massage, which were really good, but not very cheap if you were going to pay for them seperately - there are cheaper massages just along the beach though if you want one.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, as far as I can tell.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jazman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We returned from 10 days at this resort on 19 Sept. We were in one of the villas in the grounds with a personal plunge pool. The standard of the villa was excellent, although we rarely used the plunge pool. Staff are really good at Mercure,. A number of them spoke poor English, but from memory my Thai wasn't to hot either!! They were really helpful at every step, and the language barriers were actually a bit of light hearted fun. Great beach and decent retaurants in the area as well. Bophut is within easy travelling distance. 50 baht per head in a Tul Tuk. Chawaeng between 300-400 Baht by taxi, although Tuks Tuks also go to Chaweng.
Downside for me was the quiet retaurant and bar later in the evening. Beyond 7.30pm actually. It is a shame that area by the beach is so quiet generally at night, as it is a lovely setting to watch and listen to the waves. It did mean the little beach bar that is open until 11 pm, about 100 yds along the beach got some late business.
I would definitely go back to Mercure Buri in Maenam.

Room Tip: To get the best positions in the Nercure upgrade to a villa, the locations in the grounds are excellent.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyK1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We have just returned from 8 days at this hotel and had a thoroughly enjoyable time.
The location is a bit remote, but it is right on the beautiful beach which was lovely and generally very quiet.
We had a pool access room, which was very big, with a nice comfy bed. The downpoints were poor quality bath towels, and toileteries, and no ceiling fans.
A good bathroom and the access to the pool area was lovely to sit in the shade of a morning or evening.Could have done with a fan though.
The grounds are beautiful and well tended, there were friendly workers there sweeping up most of the time.
There is a beautiful infinity pool, with a swim up bar and fantastic views of the sea.Plenty of sunneds for all on the beach and at the pool.
We had breakfast included which had plenty of choice, the omlettes were very good.
We did have a couple of snacks/room service/ but for the price and quality, I would not bother with the food at the hotel, there is a great beach bar called, COCORIBA, just turn right at the back of the hotel on the beach and walk for about 50 yeards, much better value and quality, also for massages, which my hubby had one.
Nice lobby area, free internet access in the lobby, also a bar for watching the rugby.
The rooms also have a mini bar, which is not too badly priced. Also you get 4 complimentary bottles of water each day, whcih was a godsend.
All in all, pleased with the hotel, loved Koh Samui, would recommend.
Finally the service generally was very good, nothing was too much trouble and all the staff were very friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Pool access rooms are well worth the upgrade.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank NONE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Koh Samui is the second largest island of Thailand (after Pukhet), but without many relevant places to visit. The largest town is Chaweng, but this is basically a long road full with restaurants, resorts and all sort of shops one can imagine. So, if you like noise, people, lights and confusion, this is the palce to be or to visit.
Otherwise, if, like us, you prefer a quiet place to rest and to stay on the beach, than choose Mae Nam beach, where Mercure Samui Buri is located.
This resort is on the beach and during the period we stayed there more tham 40 people on the beach was considerd "a crowd"! We opted for a villa with a private swimming pool, which was spacious and well appointed, although without any kind of luxuries.
The staff was always great and made us feel at home all the time, with the typical Thai kindness and attentiveness.
The rsort is formed by a part of regular hotel rooms, other by groups of rooms sharing a narrow but long swimming pool and a part formed by several villas, these close to the beach and surrounded by a beautiful gardens.
The resort has a infinity pool over the beach, which a very nice and aggreable touch.
The restaurant is porbably the weakest part of this resort, not because of the food (although not more than reasonable), but because of the prices, which kept customers away and giving the restaurant always an empty ambiance. But, you don't have to walk a long distance to find good local restaurants with very acceptable prices.
Nevertheless, this was a very good choice for the kind of holiday we wanted and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and choose a villa with a private swimming pool
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAVPina61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews