We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic! perfect place to relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mae Nam Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mae Nam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mae Nam Resort
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic! perfect place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Hi, we just spent 11 days here, in fact we came here 2.5 years ago and loved it so much we came back with our 15 month old son, i cannot fault it again and will definitly be back again. Yes, it may be slightly dated but that is what gives it the brilliant charm, it is not over the top luxury but it shares the same beach as one of Samuis best hotels (Santaburi, next door). the rooms are spotless, clean they have air conditioning, small fridge and loads of storage space. we had a huge bed and space for our sons cot, which they provided, and still had lots of space. the balcony is enormous and has a lovely table and chairs to relax at.

The food is brilliant and the menu is very extensive, there is a good mix of local and western dishes, they will accomodate anything you wish. The staff do not speak much English but if you want to communicate then learn their language, after all you are in their country! There were a few guests staying there who were getting frustrated by the lack of english spoken and the difficulty in communicating, i would say that if you want to communicate easily then stay at home, the staff are charming and very attentive.

The beach is lovely, wide, and if you want it shady, the water is great and shallow enough for our sum to play. the resort is very safe and extremely child friendly.

If you want abeach front room then you will need to book early as they get booked out a year ahead by people who, like us, keep returning. the best rooms are the front row A5-A7 and A8-A12 although we had a B row room in the second row (B12) and it was great, our son loved playing in the garden and jungle like paths.

We will be back, than you Maenam Beach Resort Staff!

Room Tip: A rooms are the front row and i would say that A8, 9,10 and 11 are the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank oliver b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    52
    4
    8
    5
See reviews for
32
43
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Hello,

We just spent 9 days at this hotel. We enjoyed our stay especially the location right on the beach. Friendly staff but can improve their English a bit. The bungalow had a charming old style look but do not go there if ur looking for flat screen tv, design furniture inside. Look on their website and it's exactly what it looks like. Great place to relax and still easy connection to other locations on the island. For sure we will come back. Best papaya salad on the beach:)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchydressing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erlangen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

We wanted to stay for 10 days at MeaNam resort but we only could stand it for 6 days. At arrival, we were a bit disappointed about the quality of the (beachview) bungalows, which are run down and without comfort, such as a TV, hammock etc. The beach was great though, very nice part of one of the nicest beaches on Koh Samui with lots of coconut trees. The water was dirty because of several rivers streaming into the sea nearby and the current brings the dirt back to the beach. I believe there is no water purification on Koh Samui, which makes this fact a little bit ... disgusting at best.

But what was absolutely inacceptable was the rat we had in our bed one night. It was licking on my ellbow and when I switched on the light, I could see it at the back of my wife. We went to the reception and the only reaction was to give us some sticky dish with bread on as a trap to catch the rat. Their reaction showed that they weren't particularly surprised about this. I insisted on another bungalow and we got that the next day. They put another couple that just arrived into our previous bungalow! Instead of taking care of this health threatening issue (rats can bite you while you are asleep and infect you with serious deseases), they just rented the bungalow to someone else.

At the second night in the other bungalow, another rat appeared (we heard the noises from the garbage bin). We turned on the light and moved the furniture a bit as my wife saw a rat running under our bed. That was it, we left the resort at the next day and all we got told by the owner was that we didn't properly close the door. We closed the door at all time since you get eaten by moskitos at night if you don't. All windows and doors have moskito nets, so the rat must have intruded somewhere else - but that is definitely not my problem to figure that out and solve it once and for all.

For the price of a nice hotel in Europe I absolutely expect a clean place, which this isn't. Together with the mediocre food, unfriendly staff and the way this issue was handled by the owner I can clearly not recommend this place.

By the way, we stayed at another resort on Koh Samui for the rest of our journey for about the same price with no rats and much better and cleaner bungalows. So there definitely is better value for the money than MaeNam resort.

Room Tip: Take one that has no rats with guarantee by the owner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

This place was great to good.
Each room is a private bungalow. It is clean, and basic - but you are in Thailand, right.
If you do not want to break the bank in Samui - and do not want to be a part of the back packer scene - do not stay in Lamai or in Chewang.
Mae Nam beach is gorgeous - absolutely amazing. There is a $600 a night resort right next door to this one, and it is the same beach and same view. There are also a couple more dodgy places farther down the beach, but you can only see them if you go for a hike.
Get a numglow that has a view of the gulf - and has private steps to the beach - and you will not, NOT - be dissappointed.

The major problem we / my gf especially had with this place is the food. it is made in the kitchen by the mom who runs the place - but basically everything is deep fried - and just budget quality. There are not a lot of other restauraunts close to the hotel, and there are no cooking facilities - so you are basically stuck.

We wanted to stay here for 5 or 6 days, but ended up leaving after 3.

The price here is right tho - and we met tons of people who came back year after year. I can see why - but we couldn't get over the food not being great.

Room Tip: Beachfront bungalow for sure for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

The location is a good one and the beach is quiet enough to feel relaxed with a good view of Koh Phagnan just across the water. The rooms however are very run down, nails sticking out of garden chairs, light bulbs which must be about 1 watt, noisy aircon, black insulating tape around electric wires by the bed, a wardrobe with only one working door, a cockroach in the bathroom, you get the idea. I think for the above average price (about £40 a night for us) the place should be better equipped and less reliant on location. Most places at that price have a safe, a TV, decent lighting etc etc….

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank williamkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mae Nam hotels
1.9 km away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
2.4 km away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#13 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
2.6 km away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#8 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Samui Buri Beach Resort
Samui Buri Beach Resort
#14 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
0.2 km away
Santiburi Beach Resort & Spa
1.6 km away
Pinnacle Resort Samui
Pinnacle Resort Samui
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mae Nam Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mae Nam Resort

Property: Mae Nam Resort
Address: 1/3 Moo 4 | Meanam Beach, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330 , Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,890 - ₹ 5,103
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Mae Nam Hotel Mae Nam
Mae Nam Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing