We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the most stunning hotel we have ever been”
Review of Belmond Napasai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond Napasai
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Mae Nam
Certificate of Excellence
Poissy
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the most stunning hotel we have ever been”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

An amazing place, quiet, relaxing and tremendously beautiful. Everything is perfect!
Food from all 3 restaurants is pure delight and we especially liked the evening set up on the beach with candles and sax player....The breakfast buffet is varied and excellent.
We had a wonderful ocean view from our room (sun set are just crazy....). We stayed one week in an amazing villa very nicely made, with private pool and beach.... something close to our idea of paradise!
Service is also excellent: cheerful and pleasant and efficient.
location is great for your are in quiet place but if you want a to go for a drink or diner outside is very close too.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guenalg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    151
    37
    15
    9
See reviews for
204
499
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed 3 nights and were upgraded to a beach front villa. We were also granted an early check in (9 am) which we much appreciated. Amazing place, very quiet, excellent service. 2 hours thai royal treatment at the Spa was superb. The private beach is good for swimming (rocks and dead corals were removed some time back) and the long pool fits both for leisure as well as laps. We were admiring the stunning sunsets sitting on the beach and sipping cocktails...

It could have been perfect but it wasn't...food needs serious improvement. Thai restaurant serves food which is not tasty at all! Duck salad lack any charachter and beef salad returned as it was very salty (with bits of teeth breaking uncooked barley). Instead of serving authentic thai food they give it a creative spin which destroys it. Thai buffet dinner not inspiring but desserts were nice. Club sadwich at at the beach bar was dry and the side salad tired. The French restaurant again too creative instead of sticking to basics... Lumb not cooked medium as requested and covered with choking pistachiu powder and shrimps were drowned in mango jello. They did prepare a lovely mango chocolate cake free of charge as it was a birthday dinner... As the closest restaurant is 15 mins by taxi and the whole idea is not to leave the resort quality of the food matters a lot.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theperfectspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Nothing to do. The food is awful. Getting anywhere off the resort is a nightmare. The service is ok at best. Can't even get to the beach from our beachfront villa?? Figure that out. The fishing excursion that we went on was terrible.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jolyn694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NBenischke, Manager at Belmond Napasai, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Dear Jolyn694,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Napasai. We are very sorry to hear that your experience was not at the level of your expectations and we have taken action to improve the relevant points.

Regarding your comments for the lack of activity, we receive constant compliments regarding the tranquility and bliss that guests experience at Napasai . Nevertheless, whenever guests wish to go out of our relaxing resort, the nearby Fisherman village is only a 10 minutes drive from the hotel and the busy Chaweng beach is only 20 minutes by car.


In terms of activities, we have 2-3 daily sports and/or children activities that are stated on our turndown letter everynight: guided garden tours, water sports ( kayak, Sailing, Windsurf), Yoga, complimentary bicycles and tennis lessons upon request among other activities. However, we are certainly not an active club resort.


Finally, we are truly sorry that your excursion was not an enjoyable moment. However, the booking of the fishing trip was made via your travel agency and not via our concierge desk. Thus, we cannot assist or do any improvements except retaining this information for future guests.


Again, many thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,


Iolanda Martinez
Resort Manager
Napasai Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gosier
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We booked a 2 bedroom suite with private pool facing the sea . Quite expensive but worth it. We were upgraded to a 3 bedroom suite. The only problem is the villa is located along the hill and there are at least 10 meters height between pool level and the villa gate. The master bedroom is located high and the other room is close to the pool side. 3rd bedroom is at the entrance villa gate.
Location at Mae nam beach is a 20 minutes drive to Chaweng beach. Breakfast is good .
Towels at pool side and beach should be renewed as they look quite old !

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amexGosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I was here at Christmas and loved this hotel so much I am returning to write a review. If you seek hotels with luxury, incorporate local architecture and flavor, good service that is unobtrusive and ever available, and can't decide between a beach or the pool, this place will meet all of your expectations and more. I stayed at the Ritz in Bali many years ago, and never thought I'd find a comparable experience until now. This is a much smaller hotel, but no less romantic, the grounds and property are impeccable, the level of comfort is sublime and the staff is extremely attentive. The breakfasts and poolside lunches (& cocktails - try a 'tender love') are great - our only complaint to management was that dinner service (and we tried all three restaurants) was very unreliable. That said, I wouldn't let this issue deter my choice to return here for one minute. We went to some good local beach restaurants that they recommended and this was preferable.
There really isn't that much to see or do on the island , so if you're the type who doesn't like to spend time relaxing by the pool or beach, this isn't really the place for you. We didn't have a car and called for taxis or a driver when we wanted to leave the property (almost once a day) and this was fairly easy.
I find myself looking for similar hotels all over the world and if Thailand wasn't so far away I'd stop looking and just return to here. Absolute paradise.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank znm200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae Nam
6.2 km away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
5.7 km away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
6.0 km away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 km away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,370 reviews
10.5 km away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#17 of 186 in Bophut
915 reviews
11.9 km away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Napasai? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Napasai

Property: Belmond Napasai
Address: 65 / 10 Baan Tai, Mae Nam, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Mae Nam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mae Nam
#3 Spa Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Family Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Mae Nam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mae Nam
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,904 - ₹ 57,419
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Napasai 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond Napasai exudes an irresistible, traditional Thai charm. Stand-alone villas sit within 17 acres of tropical gardens, rich with cashew and coconut trees, hibiscus and bougainvillea. Tempting aromas of fresh local cuisine drift through the air, and staff greet every request with a warm smile. Life is as quiet or as lively as you desire. Spend all day beside the infinity pool or in the relaxing Napasai Spa. Alternatively plunge into the vibrant island scene with our wide range of action-packed resort activities. The resort is a haven for sports, sea and action lovers. Enjoy a number of on-site facilities, from table tennis and badminton to windsurfing and Hobie Cat. Swimming pool nestled in our tropical garden, the infinity-edge freshwater pool. Family friendly features Whether spending quality time together or letting little ones run wild with supervised activities, Belmond Napasai is an ideal choice for a Thailand family holiday. Children can meet our resident animals while touring the secret countryside. They can get involved with different sports and excursions or go for a splash in the dedicated children's pool. They will also receive special menus in our restaurants. Babysitting services can be arranged on request so parents can unwind and savour the romance of the resort. Savour the delights of Thai cuisine at our Lai Thai Restaurant. Our executive chef offers a delicious array of local specialities alongside refined Mediterranean and oriental dishes. Take a seat indoors and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, or eat al fresco on our outdoor balconies. Stunning views across the resort accompany breakfast, lunch and dinner. Dining in Belmond Napasai Beach Dining: Take a seat at our beachside restaurant which offers a mouth-watering variety of barbecued and grilled dishes. Savour the delights of Thai cuisine at our Lai Thai Restaurant. Our executive chef offers a delicious array of local specialities. Take a seat indoors and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, or eat al fresco on our outdoor balconies. Stunning views across the resort accompany breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel offers a variety of villas from Sea view hill to sea view and beach front, One bedroom Villa Suites (beach front or in the Gardens) and Private Pool Residences from 2 to 4 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Belmond, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Belmond Napasai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napasai By Orient-Express Hotel Mae Nam
Napasai Koh Samui
Napasai Hotel Koh Samui
Belmond Napasai Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing