We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arun@Samui

Arun@Samui
Ranked #39 of 96 Restaurants in Mae Nam
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
budapest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Excellent restaurant. We had 4 dinners at arun over the stay - always top quality and perfect taste. We also attend the cooking class and it was a great experience. We tried some recipies back home and it worked out perfectly - Thank you Sue ! we'll definitely go again if we retun to ko samui.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bertadele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    21
    7
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An experience not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We went here after reading other reviews and was so impressed we immediately signed up for the cooking class. Wonderful food and atmosphere, Sue is very encouraging and really makes it memorable. Also better priced than other classes we looked at and got you more involved with the preparation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MrMidwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Authentic and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Arun@Samui offers delicious, good quality Thai food at very reasonable prices. Service is nice with Sue, a friendly, sometimes vocal lady running around.

The food itself was high quality. For example, the fish fillets were wonderful cooked, soft and still juicy without having any fishy taste. The pad see ew, chicken satay and banana blossom amongst others were also delicious.

As for drinks, I had a banana shake which didn't have any added sugar syrup for a change. It was much milder but a bit of a welcoming change at the same time.

If you're looking for high quality Thai food in a clean and friendly environment then Arun@Samui is a great choice. Make sure you wear some insect repellent as there were quite a few mosquitoes buzzing around.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hplam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Top notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

One of the greatest Thai restaurant we've ever gone to. Authentic - nothing to do with the myriad of tourist restaurants that plague Ko Samui. Sue is fantastic and make you feel at home. A must go!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank IndianOceanFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey C.I, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We are currently staying in Maenam and thanks to trip advisor we found this amazing place (luckily right at the start of our holiday!!) :-)

In Maenam it's located on the left hand side just before the only traffic lights with a big sign stating "no msg" very easy to find!!

We spent our first night at the fishermans village as it was their Friday night walking street (definitely worth going) but found Arun's on our second night thank goodness, as have eaten there every night since then!

It's run by an amazing, really friendly lady called Sue and she is a fab character and chef!!

It's a real small place so you have to share tables but everyone we have had the pleasure of sitting next to have made the experience even better! It seems like everyone who eats there returns & we will definitely do the same when we return to Samui!

Food is fab, not one bad meal at all!! It's actually that good that I have found myself ordering things that I would never normally go for, just because everything tastes so so good!

Slow cooked beef masaman is possibly the best I've ever tried!! The bamboo in the red curry amazing! If you like fish then try the green mango salad with crispy fish (my husband loved it), chicken in banana leaves was so tender, I could go on but it was all amazing and such good value!!! Two starters, two mains and beers for about 550 baht you can't fault that, espec when our hotel is charging that for one starter!!!

If you dont go you're seriously missing out!! Extremely good food! :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank JerseyGirl-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arun@Samui also viewed

 

Been to Arun@Samui? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing